We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Ranked #8 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
South Florida, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nearly Perfect”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I were in T.O for a combination of business & pleasure. For our business purposes we needed a hotel downtown & ended up at the King Eddy. Service was excellent, the hotel was nice and quiet and we had a room on a high floor with an excellent view. The only reason I can't rate our stay as excellent is that the heat in our room was inconsistent and we were not cold but chilly pretty much the whole time. The hotel sent someone twice when we mentioned it but it kept happening.

The area around the hotel is great: fine restaurants, pubs, bars and shopping. A subway station at the end of the street if you need/want to go further.

Room Tip: A high floor, and one facing east is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter42France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear globetrotter42France,

Thank you for taking the time to post comments regarding your experiences here at The King Edward Hotel. Although I was pleased to read that your stay was nearly perfect, I’m sorry that there was a problem with the heater. Please know that we are continually working to improve hotel services and to provide our customers with a problem free stay.
Thank you for staying at The King Edward Hotel.
Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,176
    790
    253
    113
    42
See reviews for
541
1,291
186
919
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights, one of which was our Xmas party event. This hotel was rated as 4-star but we were extremely disappointed. The lobby was fabulous, but the room and bathroom were small and shabby (room 817). The bed way too soft, water damage and peeling wallpaper in the bathroom, sheer drapes that were literally in shreds, wood furniture was old and gouged, upholstered furniture was stained and dirty. Room in general was not clean. There wasn't any lighting good enough for reading. $40/night for valet parking - ouch. Food in the bar was excellent but pricey - $24 for a tuna salad? Having said that, the staff was great. Friendly, efficient service. No coffee machine in room but when I mention this at front desk they immediately offered to bring up a machine. 4-star - why doesn't every room have one??? I was here for an event so paid a group rate - thankfully. Found out when we got home that they had other rooms that had been renovated. If you go, make sure you get one of those newly renovated rooms!

Room Tip: Ask for room above the 11th floor and make sure it's one of the newly renovated rooms! Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelpuss55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Travelpuss55,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience. Although we appreciate the excellent rating you gave us for our friendly staff and efficient service, as well as the Hotel’s location, we regret that you were dissatisfied with the room that you were assigned. We are excited that renovations will be complete for many rooms in early 2013.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back.
Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel in a great location. Staff are very helpful. The room service was superb! Bed was extremely comfortable and the room was very clean. Check in was easy and simple

Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CullenOCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear CullenOCD,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am delighted to learn that we were able to provide a restful stay for you on your recent visit and that you enjoyed the convenience and amenities our hotel has to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The room was large, spotlessly clean, and comfortable. The bed was wonderfully comfortable! We also found it very quiet with little hotel or city noise spilling in. The staff are friendly and incredibly helpful. The location can't be beat. One very minor suggestion is that the lamps in the room were so dim it was hard to read the newspaper once it got dark outside. I am all for conservation and use power saving lights at home but this was extreme and was true of all of the lamps in the room. I gave up on the paper and used my e-reader because it is back lit.

Room Tip: Ask to be at the end of a hallway as it is worth the walk from the lift because of the quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krisket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear krisket,
Thank you for posting your comments and sharing your experience with us. I am glad that your overall stay was good and I apologize for the minor inconveniences that you experienced. We appreciate your feedback about the lamps. Please know that we are upgrading the guest rooms for a much improved service and better experience for our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This rich in history and charm hotel with expansive front lobby, sweeping staircase, and impeccably clean has been a favourite of mine over the years. This is my 3rd visit, and the location just off Yonge Street on King makes it ideal for walking to metro subway 2 minute walk, the main train station, the Hockey Hall of Fame, Rogers Center, Air Canada Center, numerous restaurants and sights, the Eaton Center for shopping.
The hotel was just bought out by Skyline, so hopefully they maintain tradition and complete renovations to the rooms.
What people might not realize is this hotel hosted the Beatles back in 1964 and 1965 on their first trip to North America and only performances in Toronto. Also later it hosted John Lennon and Yoko Ono for a week, before their famous sleepin in Montreal where he wrote Give Peace a Chance. I believe the suite has a plaque on the outside of the door.
The hotel has very friendly helpful staff, provides free newspaper and freshly brewed coffee in the lobby. The parking is expensive as is Internet and local calls all pet peeves of mine. Fitness room, but no pool.
I would highly recommend this majestic hotel.

Room Tip: Wifi available in the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear legend53,

We appreciate your loyalty and thank you for posting such wonderful comments and sharing how you enjoyed your time with us during your stay. It is great to know that you found the hotel to be a convenient location to the major attractions in the city. I am happy to learn that you were fully satisfied with your accommodation and overall your experience.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for business and could not be more complimentary. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the location was perfect for access to the hospitals and city centre. The rooms were spacious and the bed very comfortable. i cannot recommend this hotel more highly.

Room Tip: Club rooms good additional value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Marie C,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is great to know that you found the hotel to be a convenient location to the major attractions in the city. I am happy to learn that you were fully satisfied with your accommodation and overall your experience.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2012

i can highly recommend this friendly beutiful hotel
having arrived in toronto for a business meeting i was booked into another hotel which was said to be one of the best in Toronto but was underwelmed
We checked out and moved to the King Edward hotel and received a warm welcome and were looked after by exceptional staff
The hotel is extremly clean and well apointed and my room was spacious and beutifully decorated
The highlight though are the staff who were so helpfull and friendly nothing was too much trouble
i will be back on business and will only stay here

Room Tip: club rooms great value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear steve k,
Thank you for taking the time to post comments regarding your experience at The King Edward Hotel. It is always refreshing to read reviews like yours. Thank you for your candid and honest opinion about our hotel and especially about our employees. I was happy to learn that your stay was excellent and that our employees were helpful and friendly.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Thank you for choosing The King Edward Hotel
Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 136 in Toronto
3,130 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Property: The Omni King Edward Hotel
Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#7 Family Hotel in Toronto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#7 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian Hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing