We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Classic architecture, modern feel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Omni King Edward Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Ranked #9 of 131 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Classic architecture, modern feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I loved this hotel and will definitely return. Friendly staff and i loved the eleventh floor breakfast lounge/club. I was close to everything downtown too, so this is a great location for a leisure trip to TO.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris007007ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear chris007007ab,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experiences here at The King Edward Hotel. I am pleased to learn that you experienced excellent service and friendly staff. It is great to know that you found the hotel to be a convenient location to the major attractions in the city.
We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,802
    712
    235
    112
    41
See reviews for
460
1,118
164
776
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
toronto, ON
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

First off, I got an excellent deal through booking.com ($139/night) and for that price I was extremely satisfied with the room I eventually got. The front desk people were very helpful and did not mind that I did not like the first room they gave me- it had crazy striped wallpaper that made me dizzy and was very dated- weird 80s/90s thing happening. It also had a very dark bathroom and not a very nice view, so I asked to move and they offered me an upgrade.

The second room was great- it was a corner room that was very spacious and had 4 large windows with a pretty view of the Toronto skyline. The room was fairly simply decorated with a basic monochromatic beige scheme. There was even a sitting area with a couch and 2 chairs- the upholstery seemed quite old though! Everything seemed clean though. The room was still in need of an upgrade, but definitely worth the price I paid. I would have been disappointed if I paid more though....

The customer service was the best and I'm sure when the renovations are complete, the hotel rooms will be beautiful again- but I bet you won't be able to get such a good deal!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globalbouncer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear globalbouncer,
We value your comments and thank you for sharing details about your stay. I am delighted that you were happy about the room upgrade. Thank you for recognizing our employees who continue to go the extra mile for our guests.
We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NB, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Every single staff member at this hotel was courteous and helpful from check-in to check-out. They seem to be imbued with pride at working in such a beautiful hotel. The lobby is breathtaking, even with the renovations currently happening, and my guest rooms was comfortable and elegantly furnished, The bathroom appeared to be spotless and had excellent amenities (though the sink was cracked).

The Consort Bar is furnished like an old library and serves a great gin and tonic! Breakfast was good.The guest rooms do not have coffee making facilities; however, there is complimentary coffee in the lobby until 11 am--unfortunately, this is not well advertised, and I discovered it to my chagrin only after I'd bought [bad] coffee from the Tim's across the road.

I did have persistent problems with the lock on my guest room door. Although the front desk issued new key cards to me several times, I had to seek help from the concierge on three occasions. This is a beautiful old hotel, but--as you would expect from a building this age--the walls are thin.

Room Tip: Don't forget the free coffee in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Dalry,
Thank you for taking the time to post comments regarding your experiences here at The King Edward Hotel. Although I was pleased to read that your stay was satisfactory, I am sorry that there was a problem with your room keys. Please know that we are continually working to improve hotel services and to provide our customers with a problem free stay.
Thank you for staying at The King Edward Hotel.
Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This beautiful hotel in the heart of the city allows you to access Toronto's elegant past with modern amenities. The service was outstanding performed by real people, not customer service automatons. The room was comfortable and the restaurant provided some of the best breakfast I've had this side of France! Don't miss out on the king Eddie.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Eric I,
Thank you for posting such wonderful comments and sharing how you enjoyed your time at the King Edward Hotel. I am particularly pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hotel’s great service performed by real people.
We look forward to welcoming you back!
Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
223 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Came here to experience the chocolate festival in Toronto; a portion of the $ is donated to cancer research!

Great ambience- afternoon tea is served with the view of the main lobby area, tables are right outside the restaurant.

Tea- I tried one of the chocolate teas but I was not a fan of it, however my friend tried the king Eddie tea and she loved it! They provided honey and milk/cream if needed and refilled the pots when required.

Food-chocolate pairing in the sandwiches were excellent! Scones were cold and would have been nice warmed and the chocolate spread provided was hard to put on scones so I used the jam instead. The chocolate desserts were to die for! Not one I did not enjoy.

Service-great, once we were given the menus and were ready to order our teas, we were presented with a tea box with the loose leaf teas to smell. When we requested for the honey, milk, more hot water and plain water they were all promptly fulfilled. Upon presentation of our food, our server took the time to explain each item but I think I was too "googly-eyed" about all the chocolate that I forgot half of the descriptions!

I would like to return here again to try their regular afternoon tea, however, I hope they can warm up the scones first.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank crazy_cat_sab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear crazy_cat_sab,
Thank you for posting your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed the King Edward’s famous Afternoon Tea. We hope that you return to visit us again soon.
Sincerely,

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

What a magical old hotel beautiful lobby and ceilings and the rooms were in keeping with this style. I had a lovely view from the 16th floor toward the port and a church. My room was so quiet I slept in! The conference I was attending at the hotel provided breakfast lunch and dinner for over 300 people - best conference food I have ever had. Well done King Edward will reccomend you and if Im in Toronto again would definitely stay! The location is good about 10 minutes to Eaton Centre, afew minutes to great restaurants if you choose to eat outside of the hotel and we had great facials a minute a way. Only crticism is the stepp wine prices in the bar and the surley barman the only rude staff member we came across. As a result we never went back to the bar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lionelmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear lionelmax,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and sharing your experience with us. I offer my sincerest apologies for the disappointing level of service that you received from a member of our team. Please be assured that we have followed up appropriately. I was thrilled to read your “best food” comment and I am happy that you were satisfied with your stay.

Sincerely,

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

This big old hotel has a great atmosphere. I stayed here for a conference event. Large room on the 15th floor. Clean, spacious and yet cosy and homely. The food was great...most of the time. Staff friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candyapplegreen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#18 of 131 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
#10 of 131 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#21 of 131 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Property: The Omni King Edward Hotel
Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#7 Family Hotel in Toronto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
#8 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian Hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing