We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, clean rooms at a hotel with lots of dignity - but the phone beside the toilet has to GO!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Ranked #8 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I worked at the Gooderham Flat Iron building for many years and used to go to the King Edward to buy flowers for my office as there was an exotic floral shop located within the hotel years ago... I would have tea in the tea room and watch the comings and goings of the bustling guests and would dream of being one of them..... dream because at the time I could not afford the expensive rooms!..... Well, I finally got my op and it was really a pleasant experience!~ The service was very good with friendly hotel reception staff, helpful busboys and knowledgeable valets. My partner and I enjoyed our four day stay during the Caribbean festival (Caribana) in Toronto. Though the reception was not very knowledgeable about the area (we were looking for a convenience store which turned out to be not 100 yards away from hotel but receptionist had to ask the manager - who sent us to a 24 hour establishment within a block but he also did not advise us of this convenience store). The food was VERY GOOD and room service items are fresh, hot and served with style! Our room was very clean and had no odors whatsoever - (something I am always picky about)....The decor was French Colonial and very relaxing. the continental breakfast I ordered through room service was expensive ($40) but the service and presentation were superb!...Only the service in the main lobby bar when we went for late nite drinks was less than impressive. I ordered brandy - I was not asked what type of brandy and when I got the wrong one I could not find a waitress so I had to take my drink to the bar to exchange and still the bartender did not heat it nor did he ask if I wanted it heated....these little touches are what make the difference of where I choose to drink my brandy since a $12 glass of brandy and a $52 dollar glass of the SAME brandy is only differentiated by these touches - if these touches are not present in the $52 dollar establishment then that establishment loses points (and tips) with me !!! Since this hotel includes all gratuities and delivery fees with everything it can be somewhat pricey to eat room service when there are so many great restaurants within minutes walking distance. I love the area the hotel is located and now that they have live in suites for sale.....hhhhhmmmmmmm....too bad I am not considering moving to Toronto anytime soon! And - oh yeah - I just disconnected the phone next to the toilet because I kept hitting my elbow on the receiver which would drop to the floor - I kept the phone in the washroom anyway because you just never know!!!!

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet but we were not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank browngirl0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,868 - 2,874 of 3,652 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

Excellent deluxe contential breakfast and nightly drinks and h'orderves. Friendly staff. Clean and spacious rooms . A lovely location. Staff was friendly and courteous. We love the age of the building. a sign of days gone by . Elegance and Grandeur.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moi04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Moi04,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. It gives us great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

Jeff Waters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Booked a week at the King Edward earlier this year and ended up leaving after 2 nights.

When I arrived, power had been shut down on multiple floors due to renovations - this was bizzare but not a huge issue; I was given an executive suite on a floor with no power for the night.

Anyhow, the room itself was large, but old - the bed was low quality, lots of empty space, an empty kitchen bar, etc. Seemed like a large, high-rise version of a Holiday Inn almost. Things, overall, are very old and dilapidated.

When I checked in though, I had a club level included rate - was not given any info, vouchers, or guidance on this. Was too tired to deal with it when I got to my room...and it was dark.

The second day, they attempted to rectify that, but it wasn't very useful as I had missed the time for all their meal offerings/ access and didn't know about breakfast in the morning. Not to mention, they never explained anything about where things are in the hotel (e.g., the gym). Also had to fight to get free internet despite being SPG platinum.

Anyways, the kicker was when I ordered room service - I had a ceaser salad, and specifically requested no anchovies or anything else, such as bacon, be on it. Half way into my salad, I realized there were bacon bits everywhere. As someone who doesn't eat pork, this was appalling. I called back down and was offered a replacement salad? That's it. No concession, no apology, etc.

I checked out the next morning, disgusted. Ended writing a complaint and got a good deal worth of SPG points, but would never stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Over 100 years old, first "upscale" hotel in the city. Nice rooms, good view. Center of business district, close to many restaurants and the metro. Concierge was extremely helpful and booked activities for us, made good suggestions, etc.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank elle076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Elle079,

Thank you for posting your comments. I am glad that you chose to stay with us and pleased that you were completely satisfied with your experience. We hope you come back to visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Jeff Waters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel needs a huge facelift. I stayed here recently was very upset with my room. The bathroom was from the 70's actually with a 70's phone beside the toilet. The view was a brick wall, which I understand happens, however, the windows were so dusty and dirty you could hardly see out. They were very nice and changed rooms for us. Needs a facelift, not worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spagirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear Spagirl42,

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay at The King Edward Hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I am sorry to learn that your experience was not the best. Please know that restoration and enhancement projects are underway which will address the issues you mentioned. In the meantime, we hope for another opportunity to be of service to you and look forward to your future visit.

Sincerely,

Jeff Waters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

THIS PLACE IS UNDER MAJOR CONSTRUCTION! If you want to stay in an eye sore with loud noises at all times of day then by all means stay here. To make matters worse, the alarm system was being tested so we had twice the amount of noise our first day. I understand when a hotel has to do renovations and fire drills but let guests know that the renovations are through out the whole buiding.

The "upgraded" room was a little room with a window facing an alley. No view, old cheap pieces of furniture and the room had a wierd smell to it. I am shocked that this Le Meridien was not even compareable to the one in San Francisco that we loved!! Big disapointment, but hopefully the when they are finished remodeling it will be more like a Le Meridien.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear Angela C,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience about your stay and I regret that we have disappointed you in a number of areas. The hotel is undergoing some enhancement, hence some construction work that is limited only to certain hours during the day. I apologize for any inconvenience this project may have caused. Rest assured that when restoration is completed, the guest rooms will feature a host of modern furnishings and amenities to make your stay more comfortable.

We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back and ensure that your next stay with us is of utmost comfort.

Sincerely,

Jeff Waters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Impossible to sleep cause of train noise feels like you are sleeoing in the middle of the metro station, the building move... Shame cause uts a very nice hotel the room is very nice, unfortunately you need to get out of it early cause of the noise

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank juan Jose K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear Juan Jose K,

Thank you for posting your review and I deeply apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. As the comfort of our guests is our highest priority, we would have gladly helped you move to another room away from possible noise sources. Thank you for choosing The King Edward Hotel. Your patronage is appreciated.

Sincerely,

Jeff Waters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 137 in Toronto
3,657 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Grand Hotel & Suites
Grand Hotel & Suites
#26 of 137 in Toronto
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#7 Family Hotel in Toronto
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
#8 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $186 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing