We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Ranked #8 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We visited Toronto at the end of September and stayed at the King Edward. We were expecting a really traditional room and read some of the reviews of how "old" the decor was. Upon check-in, we were upgraded to an absolutely beautiful modern suite and had exceptional service to boot. We could not have asked for a better stay!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artandvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Dear valued guest:

Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay and that we exceeded your expectations. We hope to welcome you back in the near future so that you may experience yet another warm hospitality from our staff at Le Meridien King Edward.

Sincerely,

Tim Reardon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,038 - 3,044 of 3,692 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed recently as a result of placing the highest bid in a silent auction. Our room was large enough, clean, but the furnishings are very worn, wallpaper is a bit shabby, not nearly as impressive as the lobby and grand ballrooms. The bed was very comfortable, great pillows. Hotel staff were gracious and welcoming, not snobby at all. You have to call for ice and there are no coffee making facilities. We travelled by public transit so that we wouldn't have to pay $40+ for parking. You can walk to everything and the Yonge subway is a 2 min walk, as is the St. Lawrence Market, and there's lots to do in the area. We felt safe walking from a restaurant nearby at almost midnight. I would stay here again, but probably only if I got a great deal, I wouldn't pay $225 (the rate including tax if we had paid full price).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandD142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Dear valued guest:

Thank you for posting a review about your stay and highlighting the details that made your experience pleasant and convenient. Your comments about the physical features of the guest room interiors have been duly noted and it may be helpful to know that the hotel will undergo restoration of the guest rooms to bring a fresh and an updated interior look. I appreciate the acknowledgement that our staff served you well and I am glad to know that you welcome the opportunity to come back.

We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Tim Reardon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We travelled by train to Union Station for a night in the city and chose this hotel for it's proximity to the train station, the Air Canada center and other venues. Our night was fantastic, starting with a short 15 minute walk from the station to the hotel. The hotel is an old beauty, much like the Royal York, quite grand in it's day. The check-in was a breeze, staff were very friendly. Our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. We did notice some wear in the carpets, especially in the hallways, but overall quite nice for an older hotel. We had tickets to Cirque de Soleil at the Air Canada Centre which was very easy to walk. Once we were back in the hotel we stopped for glass of wine in the lobby bar which was nice end to our evening. We did not eat there so cannot comment on the food. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1000IslandsAdmiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I recently stayed in Le Meridien in Toronto and the hotel is very well located very close to the shoping areas and quite a few of the attractions in the city. The hotel is well serviced by friendly and well informed porter's that dole out all types of friendly advice, directions, bars that show premier league matches. The hotel is plush and the staff friendly.

The rooms were a bit small for the price and the amenities are not 5*, there is no pool, and the gym/leisure area is a not quite up to 5* service, no sauna, steamroom, jauzzi for guests. Yes there is a spa and you can avail of some excellent services.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank behanjjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The service at the hotel was first rate. The check-process was smooth and the front desk clerk made sure that he found the best room for us. Our room was very large and spacious. The linens were first rate and the pillows were perfect. I thought the room itself could use a little updating. The carpet was threadbare and the furniture was nicked in places. The bathroom was very large and well appointed. We called the front desk to ask for several items and all were delivered with due speed and good humor. I think the hotel would benefit by the addition of an actual restaurant. Breakfast was served in a part of the lobby and dinners in the bar.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BWHITE6132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

From the time we pulled up in our vehicle we were treated with great service. Our bags were handled with care and our vehicle was parked in a secured area. The front desk staff were wonderful and filled every request that we had. We stayed for 3 nights, we were given a lovely tour of the hotel by Mark, the front desk director of service and he followed up to make sure we were enjoying our stay. We had a beautiful executive suite with a lovely view of down town. We ate a few meals at the hotel and went to the bar for drinks with friends and were pleased with everything. We were in town for an event and attended a gala at the hotel and the meal was lovely. I would recommend the King Edward and will be staying there again next year! Thank you Mark and staff for everything! Kelly & Ken in Ottawa, ON

..



.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 94KellyGirl96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Absolutely beautiful hotel! The staff were so friendly and attentive. The hotel itself was amazing and the room we stayed in was fantastic. This hotel was in a great location and it was easy to explore Toronto from here. The crowning moment was arriving back in our room to find that they had left a complimentary bottle of champagne on account of it being our honeymoon, a really nice touch. Prices were reasonable for such an upmarket hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah5b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2011

Dear valued guest:

Thank you for such a wonderful review. It is great to learn that you chose our property for your honeymoon. I am glad that our associates were able to deliver their exceptional guest service and that you have found this to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay!

Sincerely,

Tim Reardon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#22 of 138 in Toronto
3,775 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown
Grand Hotel & Suites
Grand Hotel & Suites
#27 of 138 in Toronto
2,056 reviews
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
#10 of 138 in Toronto
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#6 Family Hotel in Toronto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#8 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $173 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing