We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Guaranteed room wasn't available”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Toronto Yorkdale
Ranked #27 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Guaranteed room wasn't available”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

It is a Holiday Inn, so I didn't expect that much. I did however expect that the Guaranteed room reservation would be honoured, but sadly, it was not. No real reason from front desk except, "I'm sorry sir, we just don't have any more available". Dispute having reservation confirmation and "Room is guaranteed for late arrival". Will certainly avoid this place on my frequent travels to the Toronto area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank buildguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnYorkdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Yorkdale, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, I am sorry your stay with us did not have a happy ending . We try our hardest to satisfy all of our guest's requests and room type preferences, however on high occupancy days, such as your check in date was, we sometimes cannot comply with all of our guests' wishes, we do apologize and would like the opportunity to discuss this with you, please contact Crystal Lambert, our Reservations Coordinator at reservations@hiyorkdale.com


Armand Abitbol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    251
    130
    26
    24
See reviews for
168
70
41
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Adequate, refreshed lobby, hallways and our room. Only gripe is that the TV was a old 28 in crt...come on Holiday INN, that is really bush league in this day and age of flat screens.

Other than that it was good /adequate for one night in Toronto for our needs.

Room Tip: |Room 831 east tower...hope they change the TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caanda45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnYorkdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Yorkdale, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we are happy to inform you that we are currently in the process of upgrading our TV’s. We hope you give us the chance to welcome you back on your next travels.


Armand Abitbol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

stayed 2 nights no complaints about the hotel, got free upgrade, the room was very clean and the service was good. - this hotel has a good location if you want to go downtown, the subway is just across the road at Yorkdale Shopping Mall, we never used the car all weekend, which is a blessing when trying to drive around Toronto - this hotel is a lot less expensive than a downtown hotel and is easy to get to - been twice and would go again

Room Tip: ask for the executve floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolm m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnYorkdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Yorkdale, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and for the wonderful compliments regarding our service and our great location. Thank you for staying with us and we would be delighted to welcome you back again in the near future.


Armand Abitbol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I was upgraded to the executive floor which was just renovated. New paint on an old room, new tv which for two nights in a row the volume kept going up on its own. I asked for it to be fixed and they were too replace it. Which they never did. The gym has only three treadmills which only one works. The resturant has some of the worst service in the GTA. The gate to leave the parking lot never works. The list can go on and on. Who am I kidding the resturant has the worst service in the GTA.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slacke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnYorkdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Yorkdale, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review us. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you, please contact Crystal Lambert our Reservations Coordinator at reservations@hiyorkdale.com


Armand Abitbol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Good location within walking distance of Bay Crest Hospital. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Bed and pillows comfy. However...Elevator did not stop on on our floor so had to carry suitcases up and down stairs. Bathroom in dire need of renovation - neither taps or toilet worked properly. Satellite TV available in bar but not in our room because our TV was so OLD ( and power button on remote did not work). Left over peanut on the floor when we got there, still there after two days, finally gone on the third day.Lots of dust above lamps and headboard. Pop machine $3.00 (compared to $2.25 at the airport). Also, breakfast bar was supposed to be open at 6:30 a.m. according to the written information but the person setting up the bar insisted it was not open until 7:00 and did not offer to accommodate me when I arrived at 6:50 hoping for some yogurt and fruit. Next time I will stay downtown and take the subway up!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnYorkdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Yorkdale, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review us. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you, please contact Crystal Lambert our Reservations Coordinator at reservations@hiyorkdale.com


Armand Abitbol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very pricey hotel.. we paid $179.00 for one night.. mid-week. Very nice lobby area, that's about it. The rooms are very mediocre. I've stayed in much nicer Holiday Inns for a lot less. The hotel can only be accessed by driving through a Honda dealership parking lot?? It was frustrating trying to find out how to get there. After several attempts of driving north and south of the 401 on Dufferin Street and a phone call later, we were told the entrance to the hotel was the Honda dealership. Go figure! We had to pay for parking, which was another unpleasant surprise. The elevators don't work very well.. or at least they didn't on our stay. I've never waited so long for an elevator anywhere....10 minutes at one time.. We took the stairs a few times. I do have to say that the front desk staff was very friendly. All in all, I would not stay here again.. the rooms do not justify the price. My most pleasant experience of this hotel was our limo/taxicab driver, Amarjit, who drove us downtown for a great price. Great guy! But Holiday Inn, for this location... you're busted!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TorontoBeachBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnYorkdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Yorkdale, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment, I was disappointed to hear about the experience you had with our parking lot and elevators, I have sent your concerns to our Engineering Department to follow up, I’m glad to hear that the front desk was helpful and friendly. We do hope that you will give us a chance to welcome you back and restore your faith in us.


Armand Abitbol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Lovely, cheerful & helpful lady checked me in. My room was on the back of the hotel and very quiet. It was also spotlessly clean. I was very pleased with my stay and would definitely return there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnYorkdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Yorkdale, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such lovely and positive comments. It’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels, whether it’s business or leisure. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Armand Abitbol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
North York
BEST WESTERN PLUS Toronto North York Hotel & Suites
North York
Holiday Inn Express Toronto - North York
North York
The Westin Prince Toronto
The Westin Prince Toronto
#46 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Toronto Yorkdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Toronto Yorkdale

Property: Holiday Inn Toronto Yorkdale
Address: 3450 Dufferin Street, Toronto, Ontario M6A 2V1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > North York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Toronto
#15 Spa Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Toronto Yorkdale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this newly renovated Toronto hotel ranked amongst the TOP 10 Holiday Inn Hotels in North America. The Holiday Inn Toronto Yorkdale is centrally located across from Yorkdale shopping centre (Toronto's best mall) at Dufferin St. and Hwy 401. With over 250 stores, restaurants and services including subway access and GO BUS shuttle to the airport, we are the ideal location for your trip to Toronto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Toronto Yorkdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Yorkdale Hotel Toronto
Yorkdale Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn North York
North York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing