We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars because of the Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Ranked #78 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Amazing location, I was so happy that this hotel is just walking distance from the Bloor Yonge subway, spas, fast food chain, asian restaurants, starbucks, shoppers, dollarama store, condos, AND AND AND Bloor street west which has the best clothing stores in one street, I recommend talking to Jerry from the front desk , he is very competent, he addressed my concerns immediately, and to the manager and other front desk staff, you need to loosen up and smile. Please inform your guests ahead of time in case of other inconveniences like water shutdown. The hotel heating system needs a lot and I mean a lotta work, bathrooms need to be a bit bigger, :\, but as the previous female reviewer said, "This hotel is for the budget conscious" . I'd come back again to stay here, though. Oh, and to the COMFOrt HOTEL staff, stop recommending MASA rstauRant right beside your hotel because the chubby waitress and the waiter named JASON were incompetent and so rude once they know that you're just there for the ALL YOU CAN EAT menu. Terrible experience. Just so you know.

Room Tip: The Higher the floor the better.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jm r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDT, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on the TripAdvisor following your stay at Comfort Hotel Downtown Toronto. We are happy to know that you were satisfied with the location and we have noted your suggestions about the heating system in the building. Our maintenance team is taking care of all the issues as and when they arise.We had recently commissioned a new heating system and are in the process of fine tuning .
We apologize for your negative experience in the Masa Restaurant and we have discussed your experience with the owner of Masa Restaurant to prevent negative experiences by the hotel guests. Once again, we thank you for sharing your experience with us and giving us a chance to improve our services.
We hope you will continue to visit Comfort Hotel Downtown Toronto for your future accommodation needs.
Sincerely
Satish Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Hotel Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 483 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very well located. The hotel is located in typically one of the nicest areas of Toronto. The area is classified as the shopping district of Toronto and the hotel is in very close walking distance to great restaurants, bars and the metro (subway).

The rooms of this hotel are extremely large and very well maintained. I was actually shocked upon arrival of how big the rooms actually were. For the price we paid ($270 CAD inclusive of tax) for four nights, in this location I believe was extremely reasonable.

I had a small incident where I actually left my phone at the hotel after leaving for the United States. The hotel, knowing of this where extremely helpful and volunteered to ship the phone off to me at no extra cost.

I am extremely grateful of their extra efforts.

I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely return.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lucachizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDT, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear LucaChizz,

Thank you for sharing your comments on the TripAdvisor following your recent stay at our Hotel.We are glad to know that you were happy and satisfied with the services and the accommodations during your visit to Toronto.
Thank you, once again for recommending Comfort Hotel Downtown Toronto to the travelling public.

Sincerely
Satish Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I liked this hotel a lot. It's a quick walk from the Bloor-Yonge train station and right across the street from a Starbucks. The WIFI is free and fairly reliable. There's a restaurant on the ground floor, although I didn't eat there.

Room Tip: The upper floors are pretty quiet. My room faced Yonge Street (811) and there was very little noise.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank professordoctormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDT, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Professordoctormom,

Thank you for sharing your comments on the TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Comfort Hotel Downtown Toronto.
We are glad that you were very satisfied and happy about the convenient location of the hotel and peaceful comfortable accommodation.
We will love to welcome you again on your next visit to Toronto.
Sincerely

Satish Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The most important item of note about this hotel: It is currently being renovated. Most of what I saw under construction was in the lobby, and it wasn't much, but it's obvious the rooms are in need of a refresh as well. The wallpaper was peeling a bit, and the layout of the room was awkward- like it had been collected together over a number of years and just left. Weird. Also, the bathroom, though it was functional, was really tiny.

Even aside from the renos, if you're the type of person that can't stand noise, this is not the hotel for you. I could hear pretty much everything that was going on in the rooms around me. Mostly, it was a group prepping for a big business presentation (they weren't even loud- and that's how clearly I could hear them). I don't even think earplugs would have helped, if you're a light sleeper or even just want quiet during the day.

Also of note: the hotel has none of the fitness/fun amenities in-house like a gym/pool/sauna and I don't know if room service is an option. The hotel staff were OK, but I saw very little of them, and checking in/out was a bit more of a hassle than it should have been. But, again, if you're not looking for extras or a really good rate for a great location, then it's all good.

And the location was what I needed and it is truly great- adjacent to public transit and the uptown PATH. There's a restaurant in the hotel that offers three meals a day, plus coffee shops, a movie theatre, a drug store and more restaurants and shops only minutes away.

The convenience far outweighed the issues for me, but there's definitely lots to consider here, even if you're looking for a basic hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DetailsDetails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDT, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting and sharing your comments on TripAdvisor following your stay at Comfort Hotel Downtown Toronto. Being a downtown location, sometimes it is possible we have younger guests who are usually louder than the senior folks at the hotel. We do apologize for the inconvenience you may have endured due to the noise. In the future, should you face such a situation, simply call the Front desk and we will relocate you to a quieter floor, thus allowing you to enjoy a good night's sleep.
We hope this lone incident should not stop you from using our services again. We will be very happy to host your stay again.
Sincerely
Satish Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My partner and I just spent 4 nights in Toronto at the Comfort hotel. We got a great deal online for the standard of hotel and location. We were in a twin room with 2 double beds (by choice following a bad extra small bed in the days prior at a different hotel!) in a massive room. The bathroom is small and basic, the furniture a little dated but overall a very comfortable stay. After coming from Europe where the rooms were tiny, this was a nice change! The breakfast is basic, with just bread and croissants with juice/coffee. If you are staying more than a couple of days you might want to upgrade one time like we did for the American breakfast. I think it was around $5.65 + tax each. You still have access to all the toast/croissants you want. Again, like other reviewers say, the soundproofing is pretty poor and Saturday night we had some loud people in hall, but it was fine the other nights (Wed-Fri). Overall a comfortable stay, great location and friendly staff. Recommend if you can get a good deal! We paid about $75/$80 including tax and breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefabsabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDT, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear The Fabsabs,

Thank you for reviewing and posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Comfort Hotel Downtown.We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay and also liked the generous size of our rooms.
Comfort Hotel does not serve complimentary breakfast ,however, breakfast service is available at the onsite restaurant which is owned and operated by a third party.Your travel agent has sold you a room and breakfast package that offered basic continental breakfast.Our friendly front desk staff recommends to upgrade the breakfast to full American breakfast at a nominal cost.We are glad you enjoyed the upgraded breakfast.
Thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcome you.
Sincerely
Satish Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I've spent 2 nights at the hotel during Thanksgiving holidays. The hotel is located in a good position within Toronto. The price we got was really good respect to other competitors around, and we booked 2 days before our check in. The hotel has a private parking for 21$+taxes per day. The rooms are nice and really clean - bathroom is a little small but ok. The hotel has a central heating, you can just open/close the windows or turn on/off a small electrical climate unit that wasn't working properly in my room (I was cold and turning the heating on was working only for the first 2 minutes). The first night there were people shouting outside our door and making jokes to each other starting 2.00 AM in the morning; probably some stupid guest 'enjoying' their week end in Toronto. I called the reception twice in order to make them stop, but the noise/talk/knocking didn't end until 5.00 AM. They checked out the next day and the night went good. There was no refrigerator in my room.

Room Tip: The room with double queen beds are really good.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommaso D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDT, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Tommaso D,
Thank you for sharing your comments on the Trip Advisor following your recent stay at our hotel.We are happy to know that you were satisfied with the price point and the cleanliness of your accommodation. However , we are sorry to hear that you had some loud and incosiderate guests on your floor who took longer than normal time to settle down .Please accept our apology for the inconvenience.
We hope you will continue to use our hotel in your future visits.
Sincerely
Satish Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Spent a Saturday night here as we went to a concert at Massey Hall. Got a really good deal for a city center hotel. I was worried that a $82 a night room downtown would not be very good but I was wrong. This is a perfectly fine hotel. Our room on the 7th floor was clean and tidy - maybe just slightly dated, but nothing at all to spoil our stay. The staff were polite and helpful. We had breakfast included in our rate - it was just a toast, bagels, croissants buffet served in the restaurant attached to the hotel, but for the price it served our needs. The location of this hotel is perfect for exploring Toronto and I would certainly recommend it if you're looking for somewhere at the cheaper end of the scale.
A word of advice. If you need to park near the hotel consider your options - We parked from approx 2.30pm until 10am the following day and we were told it would be cheaper to park in the multi-level parking lot across the street rather than park at the hotel, when in actual fact it would have been cheaper for us to park at the hotel's underground lot ($21 v $30).

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank maccafru2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDT, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Maccafru2003,
Thank you for writing your comments on TripAdvisor.We are happy to know that you were satisfied and happy with the Price point ,location,your accommodation and the services provided by Comfort Hotel Downtown Toronto.
We look forward to welcoming you again next time around when you are visiting Toronto.
Sincerely

Satish Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#64 of 137 in Toronto
751 reviews
Downtown
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#81 of 137 in Toronto
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#56 of 137 in Toronto
2,702 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Downtown

Address: 15 Charles St E, Toronto, Ontario M4Y 1S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $159 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Hotel Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located near the Trendy Yorkville shopping, just steps away from Toronto's best shopping facilities, Restaurants and theatres. With easy access to the Yonge & Bloor Subway System, Our guests are only minutes away from all that Toronto has to offer. Wheteher you in Toronto for business or taking in a sporting event, a theatrical performance the Comfort Hotel Downtown is a perfect selection for your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Toronto
Comfort Inn Downtown Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing