We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Hotel Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Ranked #76 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Florianopolis
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Nice service at check in and out, clean room, and of a good size. Avoid the 10th floor if you can, the elevator is a bit noisy - but not enough to stop us sleeping in the very comfy beds. We didn't try the hotel's breakfast, because right in the corner there's a Starbucks, a Second Cup and a MacDonalds. There's onsite parking, which may work cheaper than the public parking right in front of the hotel, if you are planning to be in and out several times a day. If you just leave the car all day long, I believe public parking is cheaper. All in all, a convenient hotel in a good location. Have stayed there twice, will be going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adil_Vaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    184
    145
    42
    34
See reviews for
106
129
56
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowmanville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here on family trip to Toronto. We found the staff very nice and the rooms very clean and spacious. The price and location were excellent for us with an easy walk to the ROM or an east walk downtown to the Eaton Centre. The on site parking was convenient and with the steep ramp and snow made for a fun filled exit. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times in recent years when I needed a room on short notice. I have found that front staff is always helpful and friendly and will always try to accomodate me as best they can. The room has always been quiet and comfortable with good size and I have no complaints. As others have pointed out it IS NOT a luxury hotel and has fewer bells and whistles however it also is much cheaper. Location is fantastic with abundant services closeby including a 24 pharmacy, restaurants and is within walking distance to the subway(metro)

I would not hesitate to stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Odessafile75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Danmark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Was nice to stay there, but seems a bit worn and dark. Could use some renovation.
May have been an officebuilding.
But my room was clean and the maid kept it nice and clean.

Brekfast is served(7am-10am) in the sushi-resturant next door. The hotelguests has their own entrance, next to the elevator, and the sushi resturant is of cause not open for normal business at this time.
There's toast and crossants, butter, marmalade, tea, coffee, orange juice and water.

The staff was serviceminded and helpfull.
Loved the quick tjeck in and free WI-FI.
The room could really use a tiny frigde and a hotel safe box.
There's a coffeemachine and coffee/teabags in the room.
There is a computer and printer avalible in the lobby free of charge.

Aircondition is effective but a bit noisy. Windows can not be opend due to safety. But possible to slide screen in window open.

The hotel is close to the subway, and about 30 min walk to Queen street and Dundas square (via Yonge st).
45 min walk to the harbourfront at Lake Ontario.
Lot's of resturants in the neighborhood.

A nice and affordable place to stay if you wish to stay in downtown Toronto but don't want to pay an even higher price for the hotels further downtown.

Was mostly nice and quiet, except for a bachelorette party one night.
Will stay there again maby.

Room Tip: If you want a view, don't stay on the lower floors. The view to the north side is a even tall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDT, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your comments on the Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Comfort Hotel Donwtown Toronto.We are happy to know that your stay was comfortable and you were satisfied with the services.
We take all guest comments seriously and initiate appropriate action to improve our services and the property.We are starting our renovations of our bath rooms ,the floors and meeting rooms during winter months.We continuosly keep upgrading our property to offer value to our customers and continuously improve the guest experience.
Once again we thank you for your comments and we hope you will continue to choose Comfort Hotel Downtown Toronto for your future accommodation needs.
Sincerely
Satish Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Friendly check-in, large room, reasonably clean, comfortable bed, working free wi-fi, obviously older property, narrow grotty-feeling corridors.

Annoyances:
There were two heating and/or air conditioning appliances sticking through the external wall. Since it was below freezing outside, heat is what I wanted. One unit had a pair of knobs that indicated heating and cooling, fan speed, etc. but did nothing. The other one had a single unmarked knob and apparently did nothing either. But later heat started coming from this unit, which I was not able to moderate or stop once the room got too hot. I assume all these knobs were pretend and someone else was deciding what heat I needed.

I'm glad I carry a pocket knife, else I wouldn't have been able to remove drain plug from sink.

Since the hotel won't guarantee parking availablity, it could do better in explaining how to use its garage and provide car space for check-in. I see others used the city parking garage across the street; I should have done the same.

All in all though, reasonably priced accommodation in a great location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDT, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your comments on the Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Comfort Hotel Downtown Toronto.
We have noted your comments and will take appropriate corrective action tp ensure we have the instructions or signs provided for operating the Heating /cooling unit in the room as well as the Radiator that is operational through the central heating system.We have instructed our maintenance to ensure that all temperature control knobs are functional.
Once again we thank you for your comments and helping us to improve our services.We hope you will continue to choose Comfort Hotel Downtown Toronto in the future.
Sincerely
Satish Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahamas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in this great location with large quiet room – (get a room at the back end of the hallway). The bathroom is a bit small but the rooms very comfortable. The staff was great – our flights were late and luggage delayed so we didn’t get to the hotel until nearly 1am. They were helpful in coordinating the receipt of luggage the next afternoon. We did not have breakfast or avail ourselves of any services, but it’s a great location for the money on the edge of Yorkville.

Room Tip: get a room at the end of the hallway - east side has a view of the little park
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SankandFrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDT, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on the Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Comfort Hotel Downtown Toronto.
We are very happy to know that you were happy with your accomodation and the staff.We will definitely share your comments with our employees to motivate them further to continue giving the best and most courteous service to our guests.
Thank you for your sharing your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely

Satish Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Everything was clean and outstanding as we had a surprise guest join us at the hotel.they were friendly and went out of their way to sure our guest was looked after. I feel it was a Hinden downtown treasure to see Toronto core. Thank you to all the wonderful staff, please keep up the great work.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#82 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#67 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Downtown
Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Midtown
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#55 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Downtown

Property: Comfort Hotel Downtown
Address: 15 Charles Street East, Toronto, Ontario M4Y 1S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Hotel Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located near the Trendy Yorkville shopping, just steps away from Toronto's best shopping facilities, Restaurants and theatres. With easy access to the Yonge & Bloor Subway System, Our guests are only minutes away from all that Toronto has to offer. Wheteher you in Toronto for business or taking in a sporting event, a theatrical performance the Comfort Hotel Downtown is a perfect selection for your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Toronto
Comfort Inn Downtown Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing