We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice suite hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Ranked #34 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed May 26, 2007

I stayed at this hotel while attending a large meeting at the Conference Centre. While the conference provided buses from this and other hotels, it was more efficient to do the 15-20 minute walk back and forth. This walk, incidentally, can be done underground and inside buildings the whole way if you are there during bad weather. It is not the most convenient hotel for the Conference Centre but definitely convenient to what appears to be the "Times Square" of Toronto, the area near Queen and Yonge, where there is the best shopping and other tourist venues. It is close to the Hockey Hall of Fame and a reasonable walk to the theater district. I did not experience any of the problems some other reviewers complained about. I believe this hotel has undergone substantial renovation recently. My room was immaculate, the bed quite comfortable, the two TVs fine, and no odor of smoke and certainly no mold. The check-in was quick and service friendly. I did not find the elevators particularly slow. Though I was above the 10th floor but below the more expensive rooms at the top of the building, there was some unadvoidable traffic noise from the street, but not too bothersome. I was on the street side of the hotel away from the neighboring building. Those who hate all noise can ask to have the trade-off of being in a quieter room on the side next to the neighboring building. The view on the street side is not all that nice anyway--just some city streets--so you aren't missing much if you get the blocked view some others have mentioned. Others complained about the small lobby--so what? Who wants to spend time in the lobby when there is a nice suite to spend time in? I'd rather the hotel spend its money on the rooms than a fancy lobby that one is likely just to pass through. There is a nice large hot tub and a small fitness center on the top floor, I for one prefer this to a pool anyway. The breakfast room is too small to handle all the guests if the hotel is full, and to compensate for this you can ask to have free delivery of breakfast to your room, a clever way for the hotel to get around this problem. Breakfast was okay, fairly standard fare. The Eaton Centre has a nice market where you can buy take-out food to heat in your room's microwave and store in the refrigerator for an evening you want to relax inside the suite. Parking is an extra $16; across the street was a cheaper parking lot, but I preferred the safety of my car inside a garage. I am a very experienced traveler and have had rooms as nice as this one elsewhere. I was satisfied with everything but the price and the fact that internet was an extra $10 for 24 hrs rather than being included. Our conference organization did not do a very good job negotiating prices with any of the Toronto hotels; I could have gotten a better price by calling the hotel directly instead of booking through the conference at what was supposedly good rates. I would stay here at another trip to Toronto if I could get a good price on this hotel (though if I was attending a conference, I'd aim to be closer to the Centre next time; those hotels were already booked, however).

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Acrossland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,820)
There are newer reviews for Cambridge Suites Toronto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,570 - 1,576 of 1,820 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2007

Thanks Trip Advisor! Based on your reviews - we booked this hotel and we had a great experience! We would definately stay here again when we go back to Toronto. We stayed in the Cityview suite....great view, comfortable and clean accommodations in the downtown area. Would definately recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank VanIsle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2007

I would stay here again. You feel like you have your own apartment in the city.

Location: This is a great location for sightseeing in Toronto -- very centrally located. It was a bit further to the Convention Center than I liked (a 15 minute walk at a very brisk pace).

Pros: The rooms were huge -- with a separate large bedroom and living area (each with its own TV). The bed was firm and comfortable. The kitchenette with complimentary tea, hot cocoa, coffee, cookies, microwave popcorn and real cups/utensils was a nice touch. There are two robes for your use as well. In business center, you can print things for free (off of a USB, but you pay for the internet). The staff were courteous, friendly, and helpful. Free continental breakfast was nice. The food available was just average -- but they did have good variety (various juices, coffee, yogurt, cereal, dried fruit, bagels, bread, pasteries). It was definitely enough to start your day. And even if you showed up 15 minutes before the breakfast ended, they still had a full selection (it was constantly replenished).

I really liked the complimentary bottle of water they offered every night along with a card describing the weather conditions for the next day.

Cons (all minor): The towels were not fluffy -- they were a bit on the rough side. Unlike other hotels, they don't provide complimentary shaving cream, razors, or toothbrushes through the front desk -- but that is available for purchase as part of the minibar selection. The internet service costs $9.95 a day (whereas I'm used to hotels like this offering that free). The elevators were very slow and I sometimes waited close to 10 minutes. I was on the 5th floor and did hear some street noise (nothing out of the ordinary though). There wasn't much of a view from the window. I found the thermostat difficult to adjust.

All in all, though -- I'd recommend this place for anyone who wants a good location in downtown Toronto and wants some of the comforts of home.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank BostonianVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2007

This is a nice downtown hotel, within a short walk to many downtown sites and the subway system. I took the subway to the Toronto convention centre (3 stops away), and easily walked back to the hotel at the end of the day.
I enjoyed the suite (one bedroom, separate living room with microwave and counter to make coffee etc). The air conditioner was not as loud as most hotels, and not much street noise. The hotel was very clean.
The continental breakfast buffet had quite a few choices. It was definitely enough to get your day started.
There is a Subway sandwich store right accross the street from the hotel. Underground indoor car garage cost $16 per 24hr, with full in/out privileges and no annoying valet to deal with.
I would gladly stay here again.

Stayed: April 2007
2  Thank travelerLondonON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2007

We stayed at the Cambridge Suites Hotel for a weekend. The rooms were spacious and clean with a big and very comfortable bed. We were upgraded to a room on the 21st floor and had a great view of the city. We had complimentary breakfast included which, while basic, was adequate. The location is also fantastic as it is one block from the Eaton Center and other attractions of the city. We will definitely stay there again if we go back.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank traveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2007

If your are looking for the best bang for your buck hotel in downtown Toronto, then Cambridge Suites is the place for you. The rooms are huge with a separate bedroom and living room. There’s a kitchenette complete with sink, fridge, and even dishes and cutlery. There is a bathroom/dressing room with nice toiletries. Every night you get complimentary bottle of water, popcorn, cookies, chocolate and a card detailing the weather for the next day. There’s even a complimentary continental breakfast which serves coffee/tea, juices, fresh fruit, pastries, cereal, yogurt, etc. No hot eggs or waffles, but it’s more than enough to get you started each day.

The best part of this hotel is its location. It’s located right in downtown Toronto in the financial district. I was here on business, so getting to work only took a 5min walk. Eaton Centre is only 1 block away. If you get sick of the many food courts, there are lots of places to eat on Yonge and Queen.

The only negative I have is that there’s no pool. There is a Jacuzzi, but it’s very small and it’s in the same room as the small gym and sauna.

This is a great place to stay for business travelers and I would also stay here if I was just visiting Toronto.

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank HiroVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2007

I reserved via Hotwire for a really good price (approx $100 cdn) for a very nice suite in the heart of downtown Toronto.

It had all the touches I like:
-A bright white duvet cover,
-separate bedroom (you won't hear anyone in the hallway after closing the door here),
-kitchenette with microwave, fridge, sink, plates and cutlery,
-quality Aveda toiletries,
-lots of great towels
-a complimentary continental breakfast (was just average though)
-friendly front desk and housekeeping staff

There were even special touches like turndown services with a free bottle of water.

The only things that weren't good about this hotel were the view (even on a higher floor, mine faced a couple of office buildings) and the room thermostat (which stayed at a reported 72 degrees regardless of any adjustments I made).

The management of this hotel appears to be doing everything right (and their TripAdvisor score proves it). You can't go wrong staying here - I was satisfied.

Stayed: March 2007
5  Thank Valdiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 137 in Toronto
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#26 of 137 in Toronto
1,996 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites Toronto

Address: 15 Richmond St. E., Toronto, Ontario M5C 1N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Toronto
#23 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#25 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#26 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $214 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Suites Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Canada's top 25 hotels, an all suite property that offers space and privacy; French doors separate the bedroom from the living room with free WiFi access. Each suite boasts an entertainment wet bar with a coffee maker, fridge and microwave; as an extension of the bathroom, we offer a private dressing area and 24 hour room service is available as part of Portico restaurant's dining experience. Hotel guests also have access to the Business Centre plus access to the Rooftop Fitness Studio featuring a breathtaking view of the City. The hotel is connected to Toronto's underground PATH, which affords the business and leisure traveller with a well lit, secured walking corridor to over 5,000 companies and shops such as the Eaton Centre. Going to the theatre? Three of Toronto's best are within two blocks of the hotel! Looking for your place in the city? You found it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cambridge Suites Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing