We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad, but definately not 4*” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambridge Suites Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Ranked #37 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not bad, but definately not 4*”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2006

I always make sure i spend a couple of hours checking out reviews before i book anywhere...the Cambridge Suites being no exception!

Reviews here and Expedia all overly praise the CS in my opinion,

Its a nice place, superb location but the accommodation and service is just average....nothing like 4*.

I travel to various places about a dozen times a year and would rate this as a reasonable 3*...no frills or anything out of the ordinary TBH.

The service was adequate if not a bit clueless if you asked a question past " how much is my bill ".

Not sure if its the Canadian way but you'd wait 10 minutes to get served at the empty bar which i thought was rather odd!!

Breakfast is a miss, the room service isn’t worth the ordering as its scant and not really edible...not sure what its like downstairs as we usually got up and out early so just ate on the run...

Location is as good as it gets though...at the bottom of Yonge, walking distance to anywhere really!

Its cheap so you cant complain but don’t go expecting the earth!

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank The_Changing_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    617
    146
    38
    43
See reviews for
413
556
104
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2006

It would be pretty hard to find any faults with this hotel, it was amazing! I'm 25 and decided to take my girlfriend to toronto to show her where I came from. she loved it and I have to say that the hotel helped make the holiday even sweeter! We went in mid May '05, it was pretty sunny which was a bonus and the hotel staff left little weather cards with our breakfast each day, letting us know what weather was in store for us. Our room was really spacious and looked out onto some beautiful sky scrapers (something you just don't see in Liverpool!). We had a mid sized living room with a couch and a cofortable chair, a nice breakfast table and a large TV. across the room was a very expensive looking desk wich we used, not for the intended purpose though! A little kitchenette with a microwave, sink, firdge, minibar and cutlery aswel, We only went for 5 days so we ate out every night. Our bedroom, which was joined both to the living room by sliding doors and a dressing room by a normal door was quite basic but pretty big, our bed was so, so big and comfortable though, so that made up for anything the room was lacking in character. The dressing room was joined to the kitchen end of the living room but was quite small, but hey, at least there's a dressing room! The bathroom was a nice size and it was nice to have the dressing room for my girlfriend to do her hair and make-up while I got showered. The hotel had a gym on the 22nd (top) floor, which had a jacuzzi and various cardio machines and fixed weights, the views from the gym, and especially the jacuzzi where great. All in all the hotel was great, we loved it and at the price I got it for I'd have been mad to have gone anywhere else, when we go back to Toronto we're definately going to stay in the Cambridge Suites Hotel, we both absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Deano1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara area
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2006

What a great spot for a restful get-away!We've just returned from a midweek escape to Toronto and the first time to the Cambridge Suites. The location is perfect for shopping,the theatre and sporting events. We often are in T.O. and cab everywhere....but this time we walked Everywhere (partially thanks to this unusually fanatastic mild winter we're having!!)There is plenty of room in the suite which we really would have appreciated when our kids were little but truly enjoyed on our own...the kids are away at university. Very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank RDTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2006

What a fabulous hotel! I loved it, there is not one thing that I can even think of to try and complain about. Many friends were staying in hotels in the area close to Massey Hall. This one by far had the best room size, and the staff was wonderful. Mints and a turndown every night, breakfast in the morning. Best hotel I have stayed in.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
9 Thank lightfootfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2005

I have just returned from a 6-night stay at the Cambrdige Suites Hotel with my boyfriend. And after reading some excellent reviews about it we were really looking forward to our stay. However I was disappointed to find it didn't live up to our modest expectations.

On our arrival staff were friendly and check in went without a hitch.

The room was very big and comfortable with a massive king sized bed as promised but I was loathed to find the shower doors coated in mould which made the whole bathing situation somewhat off-putting. Luckily there was a good sized bath aswell. There were two TVs - one in the bedroom and one on the lounge - both of which changed colour to red and green whilst we were watching.Not very good after we'd paid $13 for an in-house movie! We never found out what it was but our room was also very noisy. We put up with loud bangs in the early hours of the morning as though we were next to some large metal factory - which we weren't.
I discovered the free popcorn which is promised - hidden in a smmall basket hidden behind the tea bags and one packet of free cookies. It was DIY style pop in the bag which you had to put in the microwave. Beware of the smell it makes. When I did it it absolutely stank the room out for hours.

Breakfast was OK but the first two mornings we went it was very busy and with limited seating we were told we could take breakfast back to our room on a tray. Not what we had in mind and luckily some seats became available. On the next to last morning we decided to have a bit of a lie-in and didn't go to breakfast until about 8.45ish (finishes at 9am). Food was in very short supply - no milk left, only two bits of bread and 1 bagel in the basket. Despite there being numerous staff on duty who made regular checks they never topped up any of the supplies. Didn't give off a good impression. This said, there was normally ample food to choose from - cereals, fruit, yoghurts, muffins, bagels and toast and doughnuts.

Good location and close to major shops and restaurants.

All in all a very average hotel. Definitely not what it lives up to on its own website and certainly not 5*. Would definitely visit Toronto again but not in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank sonjaandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2005

I have just returned from a great four night stay at the Cambridge Suites Hotel. It really is an excellent hotel in every way. The suites are so comfortable and I think the hotel has thought of everything. My 3 friends and I did not want to leave. If you want a smart, comfortable hotel with wonderful friendly staff then stay here.

When visiting Toronto I would highly recommend the set lunch at the CN Tower. You need to book but the experience is fantastic especially if you are lucky enough to get a clear day. We also booked a tour to Niagara Falls with Toronto Tours. It was one of the most expensive but it was worth every penny. Our guide was brilliant and we had a full day, culminating in a final view of the Falls by night (totally unexpected but what a bonus!)

Toronto is a great place, lovely people and wonderful shops. I would love to go back.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Gemima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2005

Just spent 4 nights at the Cambridge Suites in Toronto. Very good location--close to all downtown stores and attractions Hotel itself was very nice with very comfortable rooms. Breakfast was adequate. Hotel bar was adequate also. I would highly recommend this hotel to business and family travellers.

Helpful?
10 Thank wonrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#23 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Downtown
Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites Toronto

Property: Cambridge Suites Toronto
Address: 15 Richmond St. E., Toronto, Ontario M5C 1N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Toronto
#23 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#26 Business Hotel in Toronto
#26 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Suites Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Canada's top 25 hotels, an all suite property that offers space and privacy; French doors separate the bedroom from the living room with free WiFi access. Each suite boasts an entertainment wet bar with a coffee maker, fridge and microwave; as an extension of the bathroom, we offer a private dressing area and 24 hour room service is available as part of Portico restaurant's dining experience. Hotel guests also have access to the Business Centre plus access to the Rooftop Fitness Studio featuring a breathtaking view of the City. The hotel is connected to Toronto's underground PATH, which affords the business and leisure traveller with a well lit, secured walking corridor to over 5,000 companies and shops such as the Eaton Centre. Going to the theatre? Three of Toronto's best are within two blocks of the hotel! Looking for your place in the city? You found it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Cambridge Suites Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing