We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Ranked #36 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, great location”
Reviewed August 25, 2008

A great hotel, with large, clean rooms and attentive staff. Excellent central location made for a really good stay. Would happily recommend.

  • Liked — Location, large rooms & service.
  • Disliked — No pool.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Phantomcube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    918
    630
    152
    43
    43
See reviews for
421
568
105
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2008

I'd pretty much agree with all the positive comments from the other reviewers.

The hotel doesn't actually look all that wonderful on approaching it, but is one of those places that is much, much nicer inside.

Parking is very convenient, right next to the hotel and there is an elevator directly into the hotel from the parking garage.

We tried to check in early, but our room was not ready, but the receptionist (who was most charming and professional) said that she would call us when it was ready and that she would 'have a rush put on it'. Past experience in such circumstances made me think that she probably had good intentions, but would forget - but she called an hour and a half before the designated check in time of 4.00pm to inform us our room was infact ready - I was definitely impressed.

When we did check in our room was lovely - we had a top floor corner suite with lots of windows and everything was just as other reviewers have described.

There was also an invitation to the Manager's Reception that evening (every Wednesday) where free drinks and hot and cold snacks are provided, which was a nice surprise also.

Location is excellent too. I had thought that maybe the riverfront area of Toronto might be preferable, but after exploring I think that this location is the best and within pretty easy walking distance of most things.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — I had to leave!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PooksNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights.The hotel is centrally located for the tourist sights and restaurants.The suites are comfortable and well equipped.
We had a great time and would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no free wifi
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grotbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

The Cambridge Suites is tough to top. My wife and I just returned from a four-night stay and enjoyed the hotel. The only surprise was that I thought breakfast was included. It was not -- perhaps because we booked through hotels.com and got the room for $168 a night. My advice: Go for the deal, skip the hotel's $20 breakfast, and eat at the place across the street (I forgot its name), which advertises a decent breakfast for $3.99. Or there's a McDonald's a quarter-block away. Or eat in the room (plates and silverware are in the cupboard).

My only other complaint was that internet access was $10 a day -- fine if you're traveling on a business expense account (as many of the guests clearly are), but steep for pleasure seekers like us who have gotten used to reading restaurant reviews while traveling, not beforehand.

But the suite's layout was perfect -- two new wide-screen TVs, 70 cable channels, beautiful bathroom, comfortable living room area, fridge and microwave (with free popcorn). The king bed was oh so comfortable. The place was super quiet. I used the small gym's free weights every morning after a run. There's a whirlpool and sauna too.

And the location is perfect -- not immediately next to anything of interest, but very close to pretty much everything you'd want to see.

All in all, an experience somewhere between "above average" and "excellent." We'd stay again and recommend it.

  • Liked — Suite's layout
  • Disliked — $10 a day internet access
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SteveInMinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Chicago suburbs, IL
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

My husband and I just completed a five night stay at the best hotel in Toronto! We have stayed at others over the years, but none that made us feel so welcomed. Our room was very comfortable and spacious with a separate bedroom area.

The turn down service in the evening came complete with chocolates and bottles of water. There was a microwave (for the complimentary popcorn), coffeemaker (with additional teapot for the non-coffee drinkers), and refrigerator which was stocked with actual cream for the coffee/tea (not the usual powdered creamer).

The attention to detail was refreshing, to say the least. Extra coffee packets were delivered within minutes with a smile and a question if anything more could be done.

The front desk staff were very friendly and accomodating. All of the staff we encountered actually looked happy and greeted us warmly! We definitely will make this our choice hotel in the future and will heartily recommend it to others.

  • Liked — The room layout and the great staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank whyaske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwest
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2008

our trip to toronto was in celebration of our grandson's 13 birthday. when asked if he would like us to take him somewhere his response was yes: canada, toronto to visit the hockey hall of fame. I researched hotels and booked directly with hotel. It was a great hotel for family, great location and wonderful friendly and very helpful staff. highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthwestStuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2008

I highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Toronto. The layout of the rooms are fantastic. There's separate living room space and sleeping space as well as a small kitchenette featuring a sink, two fridges [one is the mini-bar] and a microwave. There were some complimentary treats like water, candy, and microwave popcorn to greet us.

The thing I loved was the room layout. The sleeping space was separated by two french doors off of the living room. There was a dressing room area where the bathroom sink was located and the tub and commode in a separate room off of that. The space was larger than many NYC apts and calling the hotel direct I was able to get a very affordable rate for a cityscape room. I also suggest checking out their website because they have promotions there.

The staff is super professional and warm. Rooms are spotless. Also two gigantic flat screen televisions in both the living room and bedroom.

It was a fantastic stay! I will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Room layout, location and spotless condition.
  • Disliked — There was nothing to complain about there.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Imago_Bklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 136 in Toronto
1,036 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#23 of 136 in Toronto
1,934 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites Toronto

Property: Cambridge Suites Toronto
Address: 15 Richmond St. E., Toronto, Ontario M5C 1N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Toronto
#23 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#25 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#26 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Suites Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Canada's top 25 hotels, an all suite property that offers space and privacy; French doors separate the bedroom from the living room with free WiFi access. Each suite boasts an entertainment wet bar with a coffee maker, fridge and microwave; as an extension of the bathroom, we offer a private dressing area and 24 hour room service is available as part of Portico restaurant's dining experience. Hotel guests also have access to the Business Centre plus access to the Rooftop Fitness Studio featuring a breathtaking view of the City. The hotel is connected to Toronto's underground PATH, which affords the business and leisure traveller with a well lit, secured walking corridor to over 5,000 companies and shops such as the Eaton Centre. Going to the theatre? Three of Toronto's best are within two blocks of the hotel! Looking for your place in the city? You found it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cambridge Suites Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing