We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel spacious rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Ranked #36 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great hotel spacious rooms”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Was in Toronto alone, the room was definitely a suite. It was large and spacious with a kitchen and living area a separate bathroom and a separate bedroom I have great views and the bed was large.
The staff could not have been more helpful. They allowed me a late check out as I was travelling to the UK. They gave me genuine guidance and not the typical tourist guidance one usually receives. I had some great recommendations for places to eat. It is a short walk from the eton centre which is useful for shopping. The taxi prices are reasonable and it is extremely simple to navigate your way around, I walked to most tourist attractions including the CN Tower.
There were only a few downsides. It could be updated but this does not take away from the fact it is clearly very clean. If the hotel was updated you would expect to pay a great deal more. The coffee maker needed to be changed it was full of lime scale but I did not speak to reception about this (if I had I am sure this would have been dealt with immediately but I was not desperate enough for a coffee and simply opted for going to the café which was a minute walk away). The gym area was pleasant enough with great views from the Jacuzzi (there was a slight problem with the chemicals used one day – but again it was under control with maintenance guys on hand and on scene).
This is highly recommended. Made a city break easy, relaxed and enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citygirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth T, Manager at Cambridge Suites Toronto, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello citygirl28, thanks for your hotel recommendation. I will certainly pass on your kind words to our hotel team. May I ask that you contact me at etanaskovic@cambridgesuitestoronto.com with your suite number so I may check on the coffee maker eventhough it's been a few weeks? I'm very pleased that your experience was relaxed & enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    918
    630
    152
    43
    43
See reviews for
421
568
105
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
livingston, new jersey
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed three nights and found this hotel beyond our expectations. Neighborhood is convenient to everything: Hudson Bay Company across the street, pharmacy nearby, Yonge Street, Queen Street, subway, ATM in hotel, Eaton Center, underground parking a plus. Front desk extremely helpful and housekeeping delivered bottles of water and chocolates each night to our door. In the lobby was a bowl of fresh apples and large urn of ice water with limes. Our room 2006 was on the 20th floor directly across from the elevator but noise was never an issue. Room has two closets and four rooms consisting of a living area with small kitchenette, desk and tv; bedroom with 2 lovely double beds and plush bedding and another tv; large marble sink vanity with magnifying mirror and substantial blow dryer in a dressing area; and toilet and shower. Lush Frette terry cloth robes and Organic cosmetics are supplied. We appreciated the Cityscape breakfast included with room; even though we arrived after 9:30 AM one morning they graciously accommodated us with the buffet of fresh scrambled eggs, oatmeal, fruits, cold cereals, pastries, bagels, bananas, oranges and coffee and juices. In-room safe easily holds an iPad with your electronic passcode. One quirk was lack of sufficient drawer space. The bathroom has 3 large drawers, but 2 of them hold extra bedding. Drawers in the bedroom are small in the night stands. This minor inconvenience doesn't diminish the experience of staying at this superior property. It added immeasurably to our trip.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank macbethLivingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth T, Manager at Cambridge Suites Toronto, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
macbethLivingston, thanks so much for your kind and thorough hotel review. Please contact me at etanaskovic@cambridgesuitestoronto.com so I may add onto your profille preference "to remove the extra bedding & pillows" in order to free-up more drawer space for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here for five days in May, and the hotel experience was very nice. Check in was quick, and the staff very friendly. The room was large and well furnished. We had a few minor issues with the room, but they were quickly solved. Breakfast was quite OK, although the friendly staff there had some problems refilling the trays and cleaning the tables. The food in the restaurant is well worth a try - we tried it twice. A minus, though, for the cod-dish we had, where one of the three fish chunks obsviously was not cod. We told the waitress, but she didn't look too bothered. We asked her to tell the chef that we had expected cod all the way, but never got any response. The bartenders were very friendly and serviceminded. The cleaning of this hotel was good, and washing facilities for your clothes was nice. The good athmosphere makes this hotel easy to recommend for a trip to Toronto.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ragnhild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth T, Manager at Cambridge Suites Toronto, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thanks for you hotel commendation Ragnhild. I will certainly follow-up with my Chef regarding your breakfast and quality concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed three nights (second week of June). Arrived at 3:00 and room was not ready until after 4:30 (4:00 is normal check in time) which left us "hanging out" in the lobby with our two travel-weary grandchildren for over an hour, Everyone was friendly and pleasant, and after 4:00 there were apologies for the delay, which we understood since we arrived on a Saturday and the hotel was obviously busy. When we were finally able to check in, we were offered complimentary breakfasts for the 4 of us for the duration of our stay, which we greatly appreciated (and enjoyed - it was quite nice). The location of the hotel is excellent and we felt very safe walking to restaurants, and "G for Gelato" (the best gelato!!!) every night. We toured the city on the "hop on and off" double decker bus, and on the first day the concierge arranged for us to be picked up at the hotel and taken to the bus stop. After that we were comfortable getting off at a nearby stop. The beds were comfortable and upon request, extra padding was provided for the pull out sofa bed, so it served my grandson very well (although it would not have been comfortable enough for my "older" bones!). The container of citrus or cucumber/ mint infused chilled water, available in the lobby, was greatly appreciated after long hours of exploring the city. I was disappointed to find our room was by the elevator as I had requested a "quiet" room, but it was on the 10th floor overlooking the entrance area of the hotel instead of the street, and I must say it was very quiet and not once was I bothered by outside noise. Actually, being next to the elevator with the children turned out to be an advantage. Overall, to feel comfortable and safe and "at home" in a hotel when traveling to a city for the first time, especially with children, speaks volumes for the hotel itself and the helpful, pleasant, and very professional staff. If we have an opportunity to return to Toronto (and I hope we do!), we would definitely choose to stay again at the Cambridge Suites.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth T, Manager at Cambridge Suites Toronto, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hello Joyce J, I'm so happy that our team took care of you & your family even with the small hiccups at check-in. Our guests tend to be weary at being across the elevators but the noise has never been an issue for over 20 years. We also hope to welcome you and your family back in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Cambridge is an independent boutique style hotel, with 12 suites on most floors and 22 total floors. I had a corner king suite on the 12th floor with surround windows. My suite had a very comfy, homie feeling to it with lots of space. It is an older building that has been well maintained.

The gym & hot tub on the 22nd floor have fabulous views with the treadmills lined against the windows & the hot tub off to the side with its own 180 degree view.

The staff are excellent - extremely helpful and professional with a genuineness that you don't come across often. The mini bar had a plethora of goodies at VERY reasonable prices, good free wi-fi with coffee maker & microwave.

My only negative observations were (1) as a solo woman traveller, I always feel a little safer with a latch type door lock in addition to the deadbolt - not that I felt unsafe, but I sleep better with a latch. (2) Due to the Toronto elevator repairmen strike - we were down to 1 out of 3 elevators one of the days, but all 3 were back up & running the next day. (3) The A/C unit was a bit noisy being so close to the bed

For the price and excellent location (Richmond & Victoria), you really can't go wrong with the Cambridge Suites. I definitely would stay here again & recommend it to anyone. Very easy walking to The Bay, Eaton's Centre, the Sunset Grill, Dundas Square just to name a few.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vansportsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth T, Manager at Cambridge Suites Toronto, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Vansportsfan, thanks for your detailed feedback. I will follow-up on your recommendations as our guest's feeling of safety is important to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

A family of four stayed here in June 2013. The facilities are well maintained and the staff responsive. We had a couple problems with the room but they were promptly addressed. We usually stay a block south at One King West but it was fully booked. Cambridge is less expensive and not quite as nice, however fair for the price of $215 before taxes. We still prefer One King West but this is a very good substitute.

Room Tip: Upper floors are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth T, Manager at Cambridge Suites Toronto, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thanks j r for giving us a try. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I came to this review with some intent to gripe but can't really find the truth in doing so. This is a very comfortable hotel with lots of room in the suites and a great bed. Location is awesome. Price is okay, not great. Restaurant/bar is okay, not great.

If I could change one thing in the suite it would be to update the plumbing fixtures (minor). If I could whine about one thing it would be that for a 22 floor hotel only one elevator is working. Good luck getting out in morning rush hour.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fussyyetcheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth T, Manager at Cambridge Suites Toronto, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Great username, fussyyetcheap! My apologies about the hotel elevators. There is a province-wide elevator strike & currently 3 of 4 elevators are now in working order. Thanks for your recommendation and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 136 in Toronto
1,036 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#23 of 136 in Toronto
1,933 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites Toronto

Property: Cambridge Suites Toronto
Address: 15 Richmond St. E., Toronto, Ontario M5C 1N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Toronto
#23 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#25 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#26 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Suites Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Canada's top 25 hotels, an all suite property that offers space and privacy; French doors separate the bedroom from the living room with free WiFi access. Each suite boasts an entertainment wet bar with a coffee maker, fridge and microwave; as an extension of the bathroom, we offer a private dressing area and 24 hour room service is available as part of Portico restaurant's dining experience. Hotel guests also have access to the Business Centre plus access to the Rooftop Fitness Studio featuring a breathtaking view of the City. The hotel is connected to Toronto's underground PATH, which affords the business and leisure traveller with a well lit, secured walking corridor to over 5,000 companies and shops such as the Eaton Centre. Going to the theatre? Three of Toronto's best are within two blocks of the hotel! Looking for your place in the city? You found it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cambridge Suites Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing