We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for the money”
Review of Bond Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bond Place Hotel
Ranked #55 of 134 Hotels in Toronto
mercer, pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
Reviewed July 27, 2006

Toronto is an expensive place to stay, so it was nice to find a hotel in the US$100/night range that provided excellent service, a very clean room, and a great location on Dundas near Yonge. Our room was a little on the small side, but we were completely satisfied with the cleanliness of our room and with service. The staff were professional, friendly, and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank jim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    1,113
    635
    191
    142
See reviews for
384
876
311
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 30, 2006

I stayed here for 7 days during June 2006. I found this hotel to be excellent value for a traveller on a budget. The location is perfect (minutes to Dundas Station and streetcars), the rooms were clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to visitors to Toronto.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2006

I first must say the location of this Hotel is fantastic, being only 1 minutes walk from the Eaton centre.
Although as the saying goes "you get what you pay for"

Upon arrival we were given a double room, we had requested a queensize but were told that the hotel was fully booked during our stay.
We found our room was very small, the fittings and furniture were very old and the bed for tall people was small and quite uncomfortable.

After our first night, my partner spoke to the manager to explain that he was in need of a longer bed as the double was just not big enough, He was told that they could accomodate us but we would need to pay an extra $30 a night, this was very strange as we were told the day before the entire hotel was booked out for the duration of our stay. As we were on a budget we could not afford this and made do with what we had.

Can highly recommend a day trip to Niagra Falls we hired a car and it is an easy 1.5 hour drive.

We would not to choose to stay at this hotel again it is in desperste need of renovation. Would only recommend to someone for 1 night stay because of location.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2006

This was a really great place to stay if you want to experiance downtown Toronto. It was just 2 blocks from Dundas square and Eaton shopping centre. It was our first time in Toronto, and my boyfriend and I were very impressed with the service. I will definetly stay at this hotel again. You do get what you pay for in the sense that the room is a lil small and the bedding isn't great quality. The service and location makes up for it though.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SRNAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay area, ca
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2006

To be honest, I expected good value because of its price and location, but was concerned about service and the rooms. I am happy to say my concerns were all for naught.

The only drawback is not knowing the parking garage is NOT onsite. It is nearby (diagonal from the hotel, entrance on Bond) and paying for parking is upfront. You do get in/out privileges and the attendants always seem to remember you so getting/in out is not a hassle.

The front desk was super helpful, particularly with directions and advice about area attractions. I watched one gentlemen patiently describe the one day Niagara Falls trip to a woman who asked about a million questions (often the same ones) and he never lost his cool.

The location is very close to the Eaton Centre, theaters, shopping, ground transportation and Dundas will take you right to the Don Valley Parkway (404) if you're looking to get out of town.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chipnchair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2006

First room allocated stank of cigarette smoke, even the hallway was just as bad. Howevever being moved several floors up sorted this out.

The room was small but clean, decent bathroom, and working AC, although a bit noisy.

The location was ideal for site seeing and shopping. The breakfast was good with well organized quick service.

This hotel is fine for a budget hotel if you don't stay too long.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fourstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxburghshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2006

2 of us stayed at the BP at the end of May for 5 nights. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and both in our 50s (tho young at heart).
Air conditioning (essential given the temperature) worked fine but could probably be heard back in Scotland. So, stay cool or sleep, but not both.
Room small but adequate.
Shower fine.
Bizarrely, teabags but no facility to boil water ! No decaff coffee.
Breakfast limited menu but quality food and served by the chirpiest waiter in town.
Location good, Eaton Centre and subway 2 minutes walk.
Monika's Bar a real plus, pool tables, good beer, convivial atmosphere to meet other guests.
Incredibly, the bar is shut on Sundays and Mondays (can always try the Imperial Bar over the road).
Overall fine for the money, staff always helpful (like all Canadians).
Only minor gripe about the holiday (nothing to do with the hotel), but can't they put the prices on items INCLUDING taxes, so that the mystery is taken out of what you finally pay ?

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
#60 of 134 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,991 reviews
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#52 of 134 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 134 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Downtown
Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bond Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bond Place Hotel

Property: Bond Place Hotel
Address: 65 Dundas St. East, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2G8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 134 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bond Place Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bond Place Hotel Downtown Toronto is ideally located in the heart of downtown Toronto at Yonge and Dundas Square. The Hotel is across the street from the Eaton Centre and steps away from the Toronto Theatre District, including the Canon Theatre, Massey Hall, Elgin/Winter Garden Theatre, The Panasonic Theatre, and other local area attractions. Many downtown corporate and government offices, colleges and universities, are within walking distance. The Hotel is also central to downtown Toronto hospitals, with St. Michael's Hospital located across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Bond Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bond Place Hotel Toronto
Hotel Bond Place
Bond Place Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing