We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location, but I have to pay for Wi-Fi? Seriously?”
Review of Bond Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bond Place Hotel
Ranked #57 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Geneseo, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location, but I have to pay for Wi-Fi? Seriously?”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This was the first time I spent an evening at the Bond Place since the renovations.
You can't beat the hotel for location and the price for a room hasn't gone up all that much. (Ahh, the days of the SARS scare when I could get a room at the Bond Place for $50!)
The rooms are a bit too modern for my taste and I miss a rug in my room (which makes the room warmer on a cold Canadian night), though I understand wooden floors are probably easier to clean.
The hotel was quiet.
My only beef? $10 for Wi-Fi service?? Oh, please! Increase the cost of the room by $10 and give Wi-Fi away along with the code tp access it. I would never know.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena S, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear David P,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay and regarding the wifi access. We appreciate the feedback as it helps us improve our services each day.

As you mentioned increasing the cost to include the wifi. We actually have left this option to our guests and you can choose many room types that include wifi. The best value for a single traveler is our Business Queen which includes the wifi, as well as a newpaper, bottled water each day in your room, as well as some other extras.

We also have computers available in the lobby with wifi access for our guests to use complimentary of course.

We hope you will stay again and enjoye one of our upgrades with wifi included!

Thank you for choosing the Bond Place Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    1,130
    654
    207
    147
See reviews for
403
905
314
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

My wife and myself recently visited downtown Toronto from the US for 5 days. We have done this trip many times before and have enjoyed the location of the Bond Place as it has you close to about everything and easy for "get togethers" with friends. We walk to most places and have the trains and pathway access virtually right across the intersection. We have noticed many changes over the past 10 years as we have stayed at the Bond Place. The management and staff have always been very efficient and friendly.
The rooms are comfortable and big enough for us.
Room equipped with most usual amenities, but we would have liked a microwave too,(heat my rice bags). Excellent value.

Room Tip: I usually try to stay on lower floors in hotels. Sometimes especially in a large city you will hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena S, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Ron S,

Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback about your most recent stay with us at the Bond Place Hotel.

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share your comments.

Glad to hear the team was able to make you feel right at home and that you were able to take advantage of all the city has to offer.

When you visit us again next, please request an upgrade to the Junior Suite which is the only suite type with a microwave in the room. This room is a larger room, including some amenities and also has a pull out sofa in case you have overnight visitors, or kids staying with you.

Thank you for making the Bond Place Hotel your place to stay while visiting Downtown Toronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

On a recent trip to Toronto, we stayed at the Bond Place Hotel because of its wonderful downtown location. We had stayed there about 3 years ago, and had a lovely room with a spacious bathroom. This time, we had the smallest room I have ever seen in my life (reminded me of being a student!) The unloading zone is in a really awkward place, the parking is across the street from the hotel (no place to access it in the hotel). The first room we were given had two twin beds!!!! My husband was disgusted and went to the front desk to ask for a room with one larger bed. We were given another room on the same floor, with one double bed. Unfortunately, the room was just as small!!! It had a tiny bathroom with a sliding door that did not seal, a noisy heater that we had to turn on right away as there was a bad draft from the windows. The tv had the worst reception we have seen in quite awhile, there was an extra charge for internet, no breakfast included. The only positive thing I can say is the room was clean. We will NEVER stay in this hotel again!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Not sure,,,I know that we will NEVER stay here again!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetter66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena S, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Jetter66,

We appreciate you sharing this feedback as it helps us to improve the service provided on a day to day basis.

We truly are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us in the Standard Queen room.

We would love for you to consider a future stay with us in a larger room. A deluxe room is the best bet for families at a small incremental cost. The deluxe rooms have a variety of options such as a Queen and two tiwns, or Double and two twins offering almost double the space as the standard room.

Another option you might like would be our Junior Queen Suite which offers double the space of a standard, a pull out sofa bed, Complimentary WIFI as well as other amenities.

It is hard to know which room you had on your previous stay but we would be more than pleased to try to assist you to find out what type it was, so we can make certain that this is the same room you have in the future. Please give the hotel a call directly and we would be more than happy to help.

Thank you again for the feedback, we hope you will consider staying with us in the future as you seem to enjoy your first visit with us and we would like to recreate that experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Toronto hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Very well placed, within 15 min. of waterfront and all the main downtown interests. Only down side, rooms are a bit small, but not critically constraining. Area itself offers a great variety of restaurants and diners.

Room Tip: Nice view on Floor 17, overlooking Bond Place.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Luc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena S, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Jean-Luc B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us, your comments are very much appreciated!

We are pleased your enjoyed your visit to Toronto and we hope you will stay with us again soon.

Next time your here, try one of our bigger rooms for a nominal upgrade fee you can have approx. double the space of a standard room, or maybe try a Jr. Suite for something a bit nicer.

Thanks again for choosing The Bond Place Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had planned to stay close to downtown for a concert and there was an error on dates, when we arrived there was no reservation for us, after showing my confirmation printed letter, yes there was a date error. When i made the reservation it was late at night and i didnt notice at the time i printed it, but after the page refreshed, the dates changed to the date i made the reservation on. Common sence shows realistically count not make a 4 hour drive in 30 minutes nor is there a show i could make it to in that time. Explaining to the staff, the one guy i talked to said that no managers would be back until the week and someone would get back to me, I asked him who i would be talking to, and he said myself or and he gave me another name but i didnt remember at the time, dumbfounded that he told me i would be possibly be talking to him, i couldnt help but think i am right here, can we deal with this now, but i guess customers weren`t important, however,nobody responded to me the first week, so i had to call. Not only am i disappointed in not having a room, but the poor service that i didnt receive to explain my situation. Then instead of calling back after my phone number was taken, we received an email. We were able to get a room at the towns inns and suites.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WYR_Perras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena S, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Wyr_Perras,

Please understand that due to your online booking error 2 weeks prior to the date you were actually looking for does not merit a complimentary night. We understand that it was just a human error as you have stated, however the day you arrived here we did not have any rooms available otherwise the team would have gladly assisted you to stay with us that night November 30th.

We are more than pleased to assit you for a future visit as we have spoken with you in regards to. We did receive your email informing us that would not be acceptable however we are still willing to assist you and would like to help resolve this for you.

We understood your home town is 4 hours away as you have explained to us, however we do not judge your home city again your booking, nor would we judge which package you booked based on time of day.

Many reservations coming in for the same do arrive each night and also past midnight. This is very normal for the Downtown Toronto area to receive late or early morning arrivals. Thus no reservations are rejected based upon time of booking, even when extremely last minute as many of our reservations do come in this way.

Had you noticed and caught the booking error made, we could have changed the date or cancelled had this been requested. Also as you stated it was not caught on the printed confirmation you printed and brought to the hotel with you, which kindly requests that the reservation details be reviewed and to inform us if a change needs to be made.

We are still more than pleased to honour a future visit for you and are already in contact with you via phone and email.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry uk
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

we just spent the one night and the bond place and was more than happy there , the location is perfect if you want to go out for a wander round and something to eat ,the rooms are modern and very clean and tidy with comfortable beds i did not enquire about wifi but i believe there is a charge.
i have read some of the previous reviews about noise levels at the hotel but we did not find this an issue,all the staff were helpful and i would use this hotel again if i,m ever in toronto .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernie4787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena S, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Bernie4787,

Thank you so much for sharing your review with us on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate the time you have taken to give your comments.

Glad to hear you were able to enjoy the city and wander around the busy neighbourhood. We do pride ourselves on the location and being near the most major shopping available in downtown area.

Yes your absolutely correct we do charge for WiFi but some rooms have it included in the price. $8.95 plus tax for 24 hours. Weekly WiFi packages are available upon request. Two computers are available for guest use in our lobby as well so if you want to avoid the cost you are able to use these as well complimentary.

Again, we thank you for your review and we hope to see you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My family and I visited Toronto in late Nov and enjoyed our trip. Our stay at the Bond Place Hotel was pleasant. A convenient location that is close to the shops and restaurants. Room was small for the 4 of us, but comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful especially Paul at the front desk, Katie E (reservation) with whom I emailed to extend my reservation, when your phone lines went dead one day. Special mention goes to Zia who went out of his way to offer his assistance, even taking us to the waiting lounge downstairs, saying guests were free to relax there before leaving for the airport (and I thought it was a conference/meeting room!). Later that afternoon of Nov 30 he drove us to the airport. Many thanks Paul, Katie and Zia. You make a difference!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zainol Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena S, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Zainol Y,

Thank you for sharing your lovely comments regarding the staff! They are much appreciated and will be shared with our entire team.

Glad to see you took full advantage of the shopping and restaurants available in the area.

We are so pleased we could make your stay special and would love to have you back in the future!

Thank you again for your comments and for making The Bond Place your Toronto Downtown Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 137 in Toronto
1,047 reviews
Downtown
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
#59 of 137 in Toronto
6,323 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#52 of 137 in Toronto
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bond Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bond Place Hotel

Property: Bond Place Hotel
Address: 65 Dundas St. East, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2G8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bond Place Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bond Place Hotel Downtown Toronto is ideally located in the heart of downtown Toronto at Yonge and Dundas Square. The Hotel is across the street from the Eaton Centre and steps away from the Toronto Theatre District, including the Canon Theatre, Massey Hall, Elgin/Winter Garden Theatre, The Panasonic Theatre, and other local area attractions. Many downtown corporate and government offices, colleges and universities, are within walking distance. The Hotel is also central to downtown Toronto hospitals, with St. Michael's Hospital located across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bond Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bond Place Hotel Toronto
Hotel Bond Place
Bond Place Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing