We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location..... but”
Review of Bond Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bond Place Hotel
Ranked #55 of 134 Hotels in Toronto
EFFINGHAM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great location..... but”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

There is one person working there who likes their job, who enjoys people & that's Donna the concierge.... other than her, rest of the staff acted like you were bothering them

The location is great if you are visiting downtown Toronto & the price is good. The rooms were clean. Here comes the buts.... rooms were tiny, air condition was less than a meter from the bed, elevators did not work & when they did they were slow. They charge $10 a day for WiFi. The hotel is crowded. Signing was poor for the hotel & we missed it the 1st time thru & no loading area was available.

I would come back for Donna, & that's about it

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WILLIAM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us, it is most appreciated. We will be sure to share your comments with Donna at the concierge desk. Donna as well as the other staff here at the Bond Place Hotel care deeply about each and every guest while they are here with us. I greatly appreciate your feedback in respects to your stay with us. It is feedback such as yours that allows us to constantly make changes needed to ensure each and every guest enjoys there stay with us to the fullest potential. I welcome you to come back and stay with us at the Bond Place Hotel on your next visit to Toronto and try out one of the larger rooms. We do have many options and some rooms include wifi access in the price of the room. We keep upgrades and wifi optional to help our savvy saving
guests keep costs down to a minimum. Next time you visit you can park on the front south east corner of our hotel, the loading area is right in front of the second entrance which allows for easy access to the lobby. If someone is in the car or the cars truck is open and the car running they consider this a car unloading and thus the city allows you to park in this way to unload you luggage. Please keep in mind anyone caught parking their and don’t look like they are unloading luggage are ticketed within minutes.

We really hope you will try out one of our upgraded rooms, or suites with wifi included and we offer great deals on the Queen Jr. Suites on our website.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Bond Place Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    1,113
    635
    191
    142
See reviews for
384
876
311
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel is ideally placed for a trip to Toronto as it is very close to Dundas Square/Yonge Street with its restuarants, entertainment and local travel links. The rooms were good but small with a pleasant bathroom, tv, coffee facilities and a fridge. We were there for five days and the only minor issue was that we found that the few drawers available next to the smallish wardrobe were not quite sufficient and some of our things remained in the suitcases; I guess that if you are there for less time this might not be a problem. Staff were generally helpful and there was the availability of a reception based security box which was useful for peace of mind. We would go back on any future trip but instead of a king/queen bed we would ask for a twin just for the extra space in these rooms. The restaurant on the ground floor offered a range of items although we only used it once for breakfast preferring to utilise the city facilities. I understand that free wi/fi was not but there was reasonable access to two computers just off reception at no cost. We booked direct with the hotel a few weeks before our visit and obtained a very good "internet / non refundable" price which saved us a lot, this might not suit everyone but as we were coming from the UK every dollar saved was a bonus.

Room Tip: A twin queen room will provide a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is good, although not as great as the photos make it seem. The room I stayed in looked exactly like the photos, however, that doesn't provide any insight on the design flaws: the air conditioner was directly next to one of the beds (so I had to cover it with a pillow part of the time), the farm-style bathroom door opened and closed loudly, and the toilet had a very loud flush. The flush was only an issue late at night when trying not to wake my friend and vice versa.

Besides those design issues, the Bond is good. It's very conveniently located only blocks from the Eaton Center and is within walking distance of Church and Wellesley. For those who don't mind walking longer distances, it's easy enough to walk to Harbourfront, Corktown, Chinatown/Kensington Market, and Bloor Annex. The only thing that could have made the hotel better is free wi-fi. $9/day is a steep price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derequito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed in the bond hotel 3 days and we did not like it. Room was clean, but small. In the bathroom you need to take care not to slip. Staff was not so helpful and generally a bit cold. Breakfast was not included, so after seeing the location and the offer, we prefered to go to eat in the downtown. Location is handy, near the shopping, entertainment centers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Alena A,

I appreciate the time you have taken to post a review on your visit to our hotel. Thank you for your feedback regarding our staff for these comments will assist us in improving our team’s service on a daily basis.

On your next visit be sure to take advantage of our package deals that include breakfast, parking, complimentary Wi-Fi, etc.

We are definitely are located in the heart of the downtown just seconds away from major tourist attractions, restaurants, and well know shopping centre’s our city has to offer.

I look forward to having the opportunity to accommodate you in our lovely unique hotel. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We are 'ex -Torontonians' who were back in the city for a concert at the Air Canada Centre. We wanted a downtown location where we knew we would have easy access to the things we miss about Toronto - great food, entertainment and SHOPPING! We were also hoping for a slightly more personal touch than that afforded by the mega hotels. I had worked a few blocks from the 'old' Bond Place Hotel many years ago and on seeing the website decided to give it a chance.
My husband and I were delighted - the rooms have a European feel and although small are very well designed to maximize the space. The restaurant in the hotel is very reasonably priced and the staff are attentive and efficient - great for breakfast.
Paul at the front desk deserves a raise - overall a pleasant change from the service at larger downtown hotels. The Bond Place is now our favourite for a few nights back in the city

Room Tip: ask for an upper floor and get a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ex-tor2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear ex-tor2000,


Welcome back to the city!

Thank you so much for your lovely review and comments.

Yes, as you already know we are very well located amongst the major tourist attractions, shopping facilities, and amazing restaurants. I am very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel where we definitely focus on providing exceptional service to our valued guests in every possible aspect. Also I will share your lovely comments with Paul and the rest of our staff here at the Bond Place Hotel.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a very conveniently located hotel. We stayed for 3 nights as part of our tour - the Maple Trail with Travelsphere. The dates of our stay were 28th June to 1st July. The rooms are fine - clean and well maintained. They are perfectly adequate for a short stay and there is a fridge and TV and quite a roomy bathroom. Its location is a big plus. Turn left out of the hotel and you come to Dundas square where you can get an open-topped bus to tour Toronto. This costs about 38 dollars for three days. It takes about 2 hours to go round all the sights. I think there is an Underground station there too. Opposite the hotel is Subway so you can always get something to eat there and down a left turn you come to a very nice restaurant called Frankie's which has beautifully cooked fish and chips. The harbourfront is about a 30 minute walk and there are nice places to eat there. The hotel has a small restaurant which serves a reasonably priced tasty breakfast. Ask for a room at the back of the hotel on a higher floor as it can be noisy.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flopsybunny64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at the Bond Place for 3 nights and found it very good. It is not a swanky hotel but It Is clean, comfortable, well located, great and attentive personnel, free Wifi with a business room and reasonable parking fees. You are just a few stops from the Subway and street cars. The eaton centre is one block away. We would gladly go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 18th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jogetnog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear jogetnog,



Thank you for taking the time to post a fabulous review based on your visit to our hotel. We are definitely located in the heart of downtown just minutes away from the major restaurants, shopping facilities, and tourist attractions. I’m very glad to hear our location was convenient to your travel. We are hoping to have an opportunity to accommodate you once again on your next visit to our lovely city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
#61 of 134 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,992 reviews
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#52 of 134 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 134 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Downtown
Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bond Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bond Place Hotel

Property: Bond Place Hotel
Address: 65 Dundas St. East, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2G8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 134 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bond Place Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bond Place Hotel Downtown Toronto is ideally located in the heart of downtown Toronto at Yonge and Dundas Square. The Hotel is across the street from the Eaton Centre and steps away from the Toronto Theatre District, including the Canon Theatre, Massey Hall, Elgin/Winter Garden Theatre, The Panasonic Theatre, and other local area attractions. Many downtown corporate and government offices, colleges and universities, are within walking distance. The Hotel is also central to downtown Toronto hospitals, with St. Michael's Hospital located across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Bond Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bond Place Hotel Toronto
Hotel Bond Place
Bond Place Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing