We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a fabulous location!”
Review of Bond Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bond Place Hotel
Ranked #56 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
1 review
“Great hotel in a fabulous location!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I would recommend this hotel anyone wanting to stay in a five-star hotel for an affordable price. The room are beautiful and very clean! The staff, especially the front desk managers, are willing to go the extra mile to make your stay pleasant. This definitely won't be my last time staying at The Bond!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spicegoodess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Spicegoodess,

Thank you so much for your lovely review on The Bond Place Hotel. We truly appreciate the feedback and your comments will be passed on to our team and I am sure they will be happy to see them.

We hope to see you again in the near future and would love to know when your returning next.
Please give us a call before your next visit! (416) 362-6061

Again, thank you for choosing the Bond Place as your Downtown Toronto Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    1,117
    640
    198
    144
See reviews for
388
883
313
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We just left the Bond Place 2 days early because my husband hurt his back and was in severe pain! We had booked 2 rooms ( friends were with us) , through Orbitz. We called Orbitz immediately last night to see about a refund ( non refundable rate), and they were fine with it, however, the managers at the hotel, Joyce and Serena were SO unsympathetic to our situation !! The decision was theirs and they chose to. NOT refund our rooms . We stayed 1 of the 3 nights booked. We were told to wait till this morning for the"big" decision from the manager . So instead of getting the medical care my husband needed, we stayed and got the BIGGEST run around ever!! Nothing that was promised by the manager was done and we kept being told she would be down to see us and never came down!! The 2 front desk girls ( janet and harika kept putting there 2 cents in and it didn't concern them at all!! Definitely there is NO regard for the customer in this hotel!! If you want to deal with RUDE staff, this would be the place!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimmi899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Kimmi899

Our apologies you feel this way after departing the hotel, as we had informed you that the rate booked was in fact a non-refundable rate, and we understand that the back pain for your husband was caused by driving to Canada and therefore you wanted to drive back home immediately upon arrival to the hotel. As well you had mentioned other reasons you wanted to depart.

The rate was offered at a deep discount as it stipulated the rate was guaranteed and not refundable in any circumstances. We do understand that your main concern was why a friend you also had with you at the hotel was able to cancel the rest of her stay. She had booked a rate with another online website that offered a cancelation as her rate was not booked as guaranteed - nor was it offered at a further discount.

Management did meet with you several times and did inform that it was a non-refundable rate. The policy is in place to offer and accommodate our savvy guests with the ability to receive discounts when completely sure you will be in Toronto for your stay.

The company you had reserved with had not actually called us back and this is what was looked, as they can refund you separately from the hotel in extreme circumstances and this is not what they had offered.

The staff at the hotel only tried to assist in the situation and we are sorry you felt that any one may have been rude to you during your stay.

Again our most sincere apologies for any misunderstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Location is the biggest plus. Right at yonge and Dundas, and if you're bored, is your own fault. Great location if you're in Toronto and want to walk around and enjoy the city.

Rooms are nice but very small. But if you're planning to spend time in your room,you're missing the point of being at that location. Super friendly staff, very helpful. Very nice decor, but ,issuing some of the small touches. Plastic glasses kind of spoil what they're trying to do.

Gym is very small, not much equipment but its newer. Problem is that the room is very hot with little air circulation. And oly one of the televisions worked in the gym.

I was on the third floor, thought the street noise would be bad but not at all.

Beds were fine. Linen was a little coarse, one of the small things they could fix to give it more of a boutique feel. Another thing would be to redecorate the hallways on the floors. It's really the oly place that hasn't had a facelift, and it shows.

All in all, great value for the location.

Room Tip: Higher floors would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vitamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Vitamin B,

Thank you for taking the time to post an amazing review based on your experience at our hotel.
We certainly are located in the heart of the downtown core, where we are just steps away from the major tourist attractions, shopping centre, restaurants etc. We are happy to hear you took advantage of all Toronto has to offer.
To ensure the best quality for our guests, we have renovated the entire hotel and I am really glad to hear that you have noticed our unique décor and structure of our rooms.
We definitely will and are on the process of updating our facilities and our property for the benefit of our valued guests. We look forward to having the opportunity to accommodate you in the future, and for your next visit be sure to check out our Deluxe rooms which are more spacious. Have yourself a wonderful summer and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
340 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 792 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We chose the Bond Place only because it's beside the new Jazz Bistro where we were attending an event...That's it!
There is absolutely no place to park upon your arrival, so I suggest parking your car in the lot beside the hotel, they'll charge you $20 bucks for 24 hours with in and out privilege. I found out later the hotel parking lot is somewhere down the street.
Once checked in, we spent 10 minutes trying to get 2 of the 3 elevators to work (the 3rd elevator is out-of-order). The elevator runs on some-type of card system that is dysfunctional, including taking you to the 18th floor and straight back down again, yikes! Luckily our room was on the 3rd floor so we used the stairs for our safety, but if you're on an upper floor, good luck.
When we arrived at our room, the door was open, the bed stripped and nobody around, so we found the housekeeper and she said she needed at least 20 minutes to prepare the room.
We went for an unanticipated early supper to wait and once back reported this to the front desk where it was answered with an 'oh so sorry'...period!
We read previously that the rooms were small, but they are seriously so small that you can't even change your mind in them, LOL! Rooms are appointed with a bar-fridge, wide screen TV, a good airconditioning system and newer bathroom fixtures. There are problems with plumbing in the building and you'll end up showering in standing water.
I required an iron and board (both in the room and neither worked, believe it or not), so I called down for replacements, and then called down 30 minutes later, until finally someone showed up, took them away, and arrived back with a "newer" iron and board: I was NOT impressed as I was very close to being late for the event we were in Toronto to attend.
Anyways, we DID arrive at our event on time, truly enjoyed ourselves too! And we did have a good nights sleep in a quiet room with a comfortable bed.
We decided not to deal with the indifferent front desk staff on our departure and instead dropped our room-cards in the drop box.
I would not recommend this hotel unless you had to be within a one-block radius.
Cheers!
Paul

Room Tip: DO NOT choose a high floor as the elevator is truly a hit-and-miss proposition!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulshappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Paulshappy:

Thank you for your review on the Bond Place Hotel. We’re sorry that you feel unsatisfied with your experience.

We do offer a parking garage at a rate of $19/overnight. The garage is on the North side of the building, just across the street. This is a secure, underground garage that gives you in/out privileges. We’re sorry that you were not informed of this.

As per the elevator situation, we truly do apologize for the inconvenience. Unfortunately, the whole city of Toronto has suffered as the Elevator Technician Strike has affected the maintenance of our elevators. The one elevator that did not work was put out of service for a minor issue but, we wanted to be cautious for our guests’ safety. The strike has come to a partial end so, we are looking forward to having the elevator serviced and put back to work to ensure that there are no issues for our guests.

We were unaware of the circumstances that you came across upon your arrival and wish for you to connect with us at 416-362-6067 to discuss this matter further. We have a policy in place that guests are not to be given access to their room until is completely ready for them and we are genuinely sorry that you had to experience this.

Our standard rooms are of the smallest scale in the hotel. We do, however offer larger rooms and suites if more space is needed for minimal upgrade charges. We hope that one of our representatives informed you of this and that you were offered a showing of the rooms. We’re also glad that you brought the issue of the iron and ironing board to our attention. We have forwarded your comments to our Housekeeping Department to have all amenities inspected and replaced if need be.

We sincerely apologize that your experience was not up to standard and hope that you give us a second chance. If you decide to come back to Toronto, please connect with our Front Office Manager at 416-362-6067 and we will be sure to make it up to you.

Once again, we thank you for choosing the Bond Place Hotel. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I liked the modern yet simple, clean rooms, and I really liked the non carpet floors which means cleaner and less germs.I liked the use of the card in the elevators , which means less chance of intruders. Ivery much like the location very close to the hospital and close to attractions as well as u having discounts and info to attractions out front of people too see. I liked that there was someone there strickly for customer direction and answer questions. Just a couple of small concerns , there was one person at the check-in desk to to book people in and it took time , there should always be enough staff to book in to save customers from wait, and I think breakfast should be included. People were pleasant and took time too help.Before I forget I like ur check out time my husband was at the hospital and had to be early i liked that I had a choice to come back to stay and wait if a I choose .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear James H:

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review for the Bond Place Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We’re sorry that you had to wait for your check-in. We are preparing ourselves for the Summer peak times and will definitely have more staff to help our guests. We thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We hope to see you again! When your husband is feeling better, the two of you will have to come and enjoy the city! Call us directly when you come back to Toronto and we will set you up with one of our lovely packages!

Our toll-free reservation line is 1-800-268-9390. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Lift/elevator system required an IT degree to operate, room keys failed to work on several occasions - surly receptionist unsurprised and was untrained in the world of receptioning ("smile", "please", "thank you" concepts unfamiliar to her). Rooms adequate but small. Good diner alongside, but better restaurant half a block away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Ron M,

Thank you for your feedback and comments on the Bond Place Hotel. Your reviews help us to continue to improve our service.

My apologies for any confusion regarding the elevator/lift service. The key control is there for the safety of all of our guests. For future stays all you need to do is ensure a green light flashes when the key swipes and than press the desired floor your headed to.

Regarding the reception agent. Coaching has taken place based upon your feedback on where they need to improve. We do take your comments very seriously and sincerely hope you will consider us again for your future stays.

Please feel free to contact myself if you do return to Toronto so that we can ensure you are given the service you expect as well we would be more than pleased to reserve an upgraded room for you.

Call us directly at 416-362-6061 if you would like to discuss your stay further.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Bond Place Hotel. Your comments have been shared with staff members to guarantee continual improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

When i enter the room it was clean . But i wanted a queen size bed, it seem tobe smaller than a queen size bed and also the sheet would not stay the mattress. I told the person i was going to st mikes hospital the morning and i needed my sleep. Being on the second floor was not very quite, they could told us there was a concert in younge dundas square. and the desk at night wasn't friendly. The tv was hard to use. If anybody stay at this hotel do your own research first, because you don't advise you on what to expect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dale448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Dale448,

Thank you for your feedback and comments on the Bond Place Hotel. Your reviews help us to continue to improve our service daily.

I am very sorry to hear about your experience with the sheets not fitting on the mattress. I can only assume the sheets may have been the wrong size and I apologize for this error. I will pass on the information to the Housekeeping Management so they can ensure it does not reoccur.

As for the concert at Dundas Square, unfortunately they don’t always announce every event as some of them are private or happen during the day with out any notice. Our most sincere apologies that we were not able to move your room due to being fully booked.

On your next visit please inform us upon arrival so we can ensure you receive a room on the other side of the building on a higher floor to reduce the noise that can occur in our busy city.

Call us directly at 416-362-6061 if you would like to discuss your stay further.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Bond Place Hotel. Your comments will be shared with staff members to ensure continual improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
#60 of 136 in Toronto
6,087 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 136 in Toronto
1,022 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#49 of 136 in Toronto
1,575 reviews
Downtown
Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bond Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bond Place Hotel

Property: Bond Place Hotel
Address: 65 Dundas St. East, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2G8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bond Place Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bond Place Hotel Downtown Toronto is ideally located in the heart of downtown Toronto at Yonge and Dundas Square. The Hotel is across the street from the Eaton Centre and steps away from the Toronto Theatre District, including the Canon Theatre, Massey Hall, Elgin/Winter Garden Theatre, The Panasonic Theatre, and other local area attractions. Many downtown corporate and government offices, colleges and universities, are within walking distance. The Hotel is also central to downtown Toronto hospitals, with St. Michael's Hospital located across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Bond Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bond Place Hotel Toronto
Hotel Bond Place
Bond Place Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing