We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Unimpressed w/ this Crowne Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Toronto Airport
Ranked #75 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Maryland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very Unimpressed w/ this Crowne Plaza”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

I have stayed at many Crowne Plaza hotels and this is definetely the worse one I have ever experienced. I spent one night here due to an Air Canada flight being 6 hours late from Shangahi. I first thought I was being sent to a nice hotel, but as was usual w/ things connected to Air canada I was misled.

Pros...
1) It is close to the airport

Cons...
1) Small rooms
2) The room appeared to be poorly maintained, ie. wallpaper coming off the wall, numerous small holes in the wall of the bathroom, etc.
3) Slow pick up service at the airport

As I said above, I was very disappointed in this hotel. I would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrCrimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMGT, Manager at Crowne Plaza Toronto Airport, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
Thank you for your feedback and our apologies for the delay at the airport, as you very well may know the day of you stay the hotel was experiencing a number of delayed passangers through Air Canada and while our shuttle does do continuous runs to and from the airport it can only accomodate 21 people at a time while assisting guests with luggage. I would welcome that you contact us here at the hotel so that we can apologize over the phone and assertain the room you stayed in so that we can remedy the deficiencies you mentioned. Please contact us at sales@cptayyz.com so that we can address your concerns.

Kind Regards

Crowne Plaza Toronto Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    342
    269
    103
    82
See reviews for
168
274
113
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

Stayed here one night because flight got canceled and no room at Indigo down the street (great little gem of a hotel, by the way). Rooms small, bed comfortable; but, it was just as close to the airport as Indigo, but jet noise was drastically worse. Noisy room (1150). No shampoo or towels in the bathroom and whenever you called for anything, there was either no answer or you had to sit and let it ring for a long time for someone to answer. Very poor experience. They spent a LOT of money to make the lobby look wonderful and it was a shame they did not spend that money on staffing or the rooms. Very disappointed...glad we only stayed 12 hours. Room taxes were higher than usual and so was parking ( $12/night). No safe, no microwave, no refrigerator and slow internet. At least there was a free shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redbaron41011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, ON Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2010

Stayed here for 1 night this week, started off great with friendly staff who allowed me to check in at 11:30am because I arrived in town early, rooms were cozy and clean, only complaints were there are no darkening blinds on the window and through the door that leads to the next room you can pretty well hear everything going on in the next room (I guess this is why you get ear plugs and sleeping mask in your room!). I'm a good sleeper so the sunrise/mild noise didn't bother me but I could see how some people wouldn't like it.

For food, you can't ask for better with a Boston Pizza, Jack Astors and Tucker's a short 30 second walk away!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TESS1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, ON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

Upon arriving to the Crowne Plaza Toronto Airport, we parked in the checkinn parking and headed inside. Check-inn was seamless and there was absolutely no wait at all. Although the hotel didn't appear to be very busy. The gentlemen at the checkinn was very courteous and friendly, and provided us with our room keys.

We headed up to our room, which was one of the last ones down the very long hallways. Upon entering our room we noticed we were given a corner room with a very long hall before we actually get into our room, was a bit weird, but nonetheless the room was comfortable.

Throughout our stay at the hotel, we made 2 requests to the front desk, both of which were responded to within 15 minutes and the items were brought directly to our room.

The restaurant downstairs seemed very nice, although we did not have time to eat there. The hotel has many other restaurants located right outside, which gives you the options to eat different meals if you have an extended stay.

The only thing we were not happy with, was the expensive parking, and the small pool the hotel offers. It is extremely small and only approx. 4 feet deep. My wife likes to swim laps in the morning, and this pool made it very difficult to do so. Other than that, 4 thumbs up to this hotel, we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank packzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2010

Me and the other half spent time at this hotel. We needed some time to get away and reconnect. Just to give you an idea as to how tired we were, we checked in at 3PM, and instantly fell asleep! So much for a romantic weekend!

Check in was a breeze. The only compliant was the $50 incidental fee. You have to pay that "just in case" something happens. Since this is the first time I've encountered that at a hotel, it threw me off for a bit. Especially since I had already paid for the room before I had even entered the hotel. But they do refund the money back to you - minus any incidents at the end of your stay.

We were on the Quiet Zone level - means no wild parties or kidsruning in the hallway there. The room was modern, nice flat screen tv. They have a clock/CD that you can hook up your IPOD to so you can listen to your own music if you like.

The bathrooms are a bit on the small side, not enough room for two people, unless one is standing in the shower!

The bed is comfortable, and the room temperature can be set to what you feel like. Since me and the other half like a warm room, we were able to adjust the heater. The hotel provides you with a set of ear plugs - to help block out the noise of the airplanes as they fly by. But since we both can sleep pretty much through everything, that was not needed!

My only complaint is that the tv reception was horrible for the lower channels. Really fuzzy and two of the channels kept on overlapping. However, the higher up you went in the channels the clearer the screen was. Also the batteries in the remote control were almost dead so you had to be in the right spot to change the channel.

Didn't get a chance to use the hotel facilites, may have to try that the next time.

Other than that, the time away from work and the kids were much needed and appreciated!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casey14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

This is really what you would expect from a airport Crowne Plaza.

Good confortable quiet rooms, excellent bedding, 24hr airport shuttle, gym and pool.
Check-in was nothing to remember. This hotel is oftenly used by Air Canada for misconnecting passengers, so check-in can sometimes be slow as those people arrive with no reservation and clerck need to enter them in the system and explain how the meal vouchers and everything works.

The hotel is located about 5-7 minutes away from Pearson by shuttle. The shuttle runs about every 20-30 minutes. It is located on Dixon Rd, a few steps away form a few restaurants (Boston Pizza, Jack Astors, Ruby Tuesday...) wich is not the case of all the hotels around this airport. The hotel also feature a restaurant and a bar. After the 10PM mark, only a limited bar menu is available (chinken fingers, burgers, salads) For 20$, you will have a main course with a draft beer.

Nothing else to say. A quite fair stay and great views of the highway behind the building.

Free Internet + printing in the Business center

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crew347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMGT, Manager at Crowne Plaza Toronto Airport, responded to this review, March 18, 2010
Thank you for your response and taking the time to list our many amenites in and round the hotel. Please note that our restaurant does feature a full menu until 12 midnight and the bar menu is available until 1 am, our apologies for any misunderstanding and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Front Office Manager
Crowne Plaza Toronto Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

Stayed here on business. Hotel is very clean. There is smoking level. Up to the 5th floor has been renovated. I stayed in an older room, still very clean and in great condition. Bathrooms are very small. Would stay again for business, not for pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enzo4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Etobicoke
Radisson Suite Hotel Toronto Airport
Etobicoke
Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel
Etobicoke
Sheraton Toronto Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Etobicoke
Holiday Inn Toronto Airport East
Etobicoke
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Toronto Airport Carlingview Hotel
Etobicoke
Courtyard Toronto Airport
Courtyard Toronto Airport
#69 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Toronto Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Toronto Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Toronto Airport
Address: 33 Carlson Crt, Toronto, Ontario M9W 6H5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Etobicoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Toronto Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned only 2 km from Pearson International Airport and 25 minutes' drive from Toronto city centre, this hotel offers a complimentary 24-hour airport shuttle and an on-site restaurant. Crowne Plaza Toronto Airport features an indoor pool with a relaxing hot tub and sauna. Guests can take advantage of the 24-hour fitness centre, then work in the on-site business centre. The guestrooms at the Toronto Airport Crowne Plaza offers convenient amenities such as flat-screen TVs and free wireless internet access. Additional amenities, such as a work desk with ergonomic chair and cable TV, ensure a comfortable and productive stay. La Brasserie Restaurant at the Toronto Crowne Plaza serves international cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. After dinner, guests can relax with a drink at the hotel's Rendezvous Bar. Toronto Congress Centre is 2 minutes' drive away and Toronto International Centre is 10 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Toronto Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Toronto Airport Hotel Toronto
Park Plaza Toronto Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing