We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Roehampton Hotel & Suites
Ranked #63 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I only booked this hotel as the usual place where I usuall stay in Toronto is closed for refurbishment but I'm so glad I chose this place. Great location for those who don't want to stay in the downtown area , it's a short walk to the subway and only a 15 minute journey into the city centre.

Clean rooms , fantastic staff and a breakfast buffet that is hard to beat. I will definitely return to this hotel and would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bwroe, General Manager at Best Western Roehampton Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

I am pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable. I will make sure to share your comments with the hotel staff. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Best Western Plus Roehampton Hotel & suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

523 - 529 of 641 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

The reasonable price for downtown Toronto is the only positive feature. We had a suite with a queen bed. The decor is clean but old and in drastic need of upgrade to keep up with the time. Room clean but antiquated. Probably has not seen a coat of paint since the 90's.
breakfast buffet: food is abundant but bland no real taste or flavor can be perceived, it's like eating cardboard. I asked for a wedge I hit water and lemon, first I am told there is no lemon. After giving a disappointed look, the server asked another lady working there..... 25 minutes later I was given 2 pieces of lemon on a plate that had seen better days and guess what, still no hot water. So cardboard food But hey plenty of it.
Staff is nice and very accommodating.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bwroe, General Manager at Best Western Roehampton Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and for bringing up your concerns about the breakfast buffet food & service. We are sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations while staying with us. We appreciate all guest feedback as it allows us to make the necessary changes to our facilities to make it better for our guests. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

In spite of the complaints about this hotel, it more than met my expectations. Is the hotel located "downtown"? No (check the map), but it is very close to the subway, giving easy access to the city. Could the decor use a bit of a tune-up? Sure, but it's clean & offers the essential amenities. My non-smoking room was as promised. The complimentary, buffet breakfast was perfectly fine, with good selection. The staff were the most cheerful I've ever encountered. Hats off to Mr. Saif Rehman, Evening Manager, for his friendly & welcoming approach. I have no complaints about my stay -- everything from the reservation to checkout was smooth and pleasant -- and I recommend this hotel to anyone who is not interested in paying top dollar or having every little luxury at hand.

Room Tip: Room 303 is at quiet end of a hallway, away from elevator & near emergency exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myoyster09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bwroe, General Manager at Best Western Roehampton Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

I appreciate your comments about your stay. I will pass your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. I thank you very much for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel insists on assigning smoking rooms to non-smokers. Also, if you are in a connecting room, ensure that the connecting doors are locked. In my case they weren't, and I felt threatened by drunks conducting a loud party in the connecting room.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker, ensure that you are not assigned a smoking room. If you are given a connect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelsleuth1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bwroe, General Manager at Best Western Roehampton Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

I am sorry to read your comments. As previously advised by both the hotel and Best Western the reservation was originally made by your agent for a smoking room but despite the high occupancy the hotel did still manage to locate a non-smoking room for you. I am obviously disappointed to read that we were unable to meet your expectations even though we did accommodate your request at check-in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We confirmed our reservation because we knew we would not get to hotel until midnight. After driving 500 miles we got to hotel and found out that there was no reservation (according to person at front desk). Then the story changed after 5 minutes of arguing to "oh here is the reservation ,but....". The reservation was found but was not the one that we had confirmed 6 hours before. When we got up to the room we found that the carpet was wet and the bathroom door would not shut. We then realized that the hotel staff had given our room to the people that had originally had the room with the wet carpet (they must have complained).
After more arguments and an offer of only 20% off we left with a refund from our booking agent.
We drove around and ended up at a much cheaper hotel by the airport with nicer staff and a much nicer room.
We will never stay at another Best Western or Roehampton Hotel!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lhartlep51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bwroe, General Manager at Best Western Roehampton Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience that was caused during your stay with us. I am very disappointed to learn that you had an unpleasant experience upon arrival. As we always maintain high standards of cleanliness, we had to shampoo the carpet in the room to remove a stain left by the previous guest. It was a sold out night, and unfortunately we did not have any other rooms to offer you.

Your feedback is much appreciated. I take your comments very seriously, and assure you that I personally will be looking into what happened with your reservation and will address with the staff concerned. Once again, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused and not meeting your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We had never been to Toronto before and were somewhat surprised by where this hotel was. It is not in the center downtown region, but once we learned the subway/bus system we found it very easy to get around. The hotel is right next to the intersection of a main subway and an important bus line so making connections was quick and easy. The neighborhood around the hotel is actually very nice and we took some pleasant walks to see it. There are also some very good places to eat in the area.

I thought the room was what I would expect at a Best Western and why we came there. It was large, clean and well furnished. (However, the wall in the center of the room was strange.) The wifi connection dropped out from time to time, but that was just a minor annoyance. One evening as we returned to the hotel at 10 pm, I mentioned to the Front Desk clerk that we had a TV problem. Within 10 minutes someone was at our room to fix it. There is a computer & printer system in the lobby which came in very handy in printing out the tickets we purchased on-line.

The free breakfast was very good with the standard scrambled eggs, potatoes, bacon & French toast every day. But there was also lots of other options including dry cereals, muffins, Danish, bagels, yogurt and other things. You will NOT go hungry.

I thought all the staff at the Front Desk, Concierge and breakfast room to be very friendly and helpful. (A special shout-out to Annie in the breakfast room.)

There is a pool and a laundry room, but we did not use either one.

Overall it was a very nice place and I'm glad we were there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jake M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bwroe, General Manager at Best Western Roehampton Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are pleased to know that your stay was comfortable and enjoyed our hotel services and facilities. Once again, I thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

A little dated, food was expensive and second rate, staff were not helpful at all, I had to cash a travelors check and I was a guest already checked in and they wouldnt cash my travelors check because they said the signatures didnt match in their opinion. Now the day manager cashed them the next day but it was very embarassing.

Room Tip: Find another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grady C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bwroe, General Manager at Best Western Roehampton Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to learn that our Duty Manager was able to cash the travelers’ cheques. Please note that for your protection and security, we take serious measures when cashing cheques. If in doubt with the signature our Guest Services personal have to get approval from the Duty Manager. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
North York
Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#80 of 138 in Toronto
294 reviews
North York
Best Western Plus Toronto North York Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#66 of 138 in Toronto
792 reviews
Scarborough
Best Western Plus Executive Inn
Scarborough
Holiday Inn Express Toronto East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Roehampton Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Roehampton Hotel & Suites

Address: 808 Mount Pleasant Rd, Toronto, Ontario M4P 2L2, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Roehampton Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > North End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $114 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Roehampton Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Roehampton Hotel & Suites is 109 guestroom boutique style property located in midtown Yonge/ Eglinton area with restaurants, shops, theatres, endless entertainment.Complimentary wireless Internet, fitness room and business centre. Valet Parking only with limited availability, parking fee $18.00 per night plus tax. Restaurant open for breakfast only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Roehampton Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Roehampton Hotel Toronto
Best Western Roehampton Hotel And Suites
Best Western Toronto
Toronto Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing