We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lousy Parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport
Ranked #51 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Large lot but it is rented out to those leaving their car while flyin south. Great but they don't keep any spaces close to the hotel for regular guests. A freezing cold night, icy and a 300 yard walk to the lobby. Or pay them $18.00 for valet.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank MM1851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thanks for staying with us on your trip south! This has been a winter for the ages and we have seen our park and stay packages selling better than normal. It is difficult to hold spaces we do ask our park and stay to try and park in our back lot but it is always hard to police this. We continue to try our best to manage the lot and have adequate parking for all of our guests. Thanks again for staying with us and using our full service hotel.
DougGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 780 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed in this hotel one night in order to make a very early flight to Mexico. The rooms are well appointed, clean and have very comfortable beds. Our adult children who flew into Toronto joined us in the cozy restaurant for drinks and then a delicious dinner. I never eat in hotel restaurants but was delighted with our choice. If you want to go out to eat, the Keg, the Lone Star, Subway and a terrific Middle Eastern restaurant are within a five minute walk. Complementary shuttle service to the airport was well organized and delivered us to make our trip. A very pleasant place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delightedtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Delighted Tourist,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us at the Holiday Inn Toronto AIrport. We are really delighted to hear that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms, and you had a pleasant expereince in our restauarnt where you were able to enjoy a delicious meal with your family. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back. Warm Regards, Ada.H Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

we stayed at this hotel and we brought along our three year! Service desk was very nice! We went to our room it was really cold and then we decided to bring our son swimming when we arrived at the pool room it was unreal how cold in was in there and we get in the pool see if water was at least warm enough to swim it was freezing cold! My husband went to the service desk to see if they could come and look at why is it so cold! So we stayed there for 5 minutes we had to leave because it was unbearable! Later on about 4 hours later I went to check and it was the same freezing cold! Very disappointed that we could not enjoy a swim in this motel! We now all got a cold and sick not impressed! Will not be staying at this location again! And also the heat in the room was barely coming out of the vent!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear suzanne m
Thanks for giving us your feedback on the hotel and in particular the temperature! It has been a unusually cold winter for us in Toronto! All of our heaters are working extra hard to battle the fidget outdoor temperature we have been experiencing this year. The indoor pool area seems to be the one area that is always warm due to having a heated indoor pool that is kept at a comfortable 82 degrees. It may have seemed cooler due to the area being a glassed in atrium! I hope you do come back again in the summer when we do have our heated outdoor pool open as well!
Regards
DougGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I have used this hotel on several overnights catching flights. I stayed December 30 and at 11 pm someone decided to test the sound system for the New Year's eve dance. It was horrible! When I phoned the front desk they did not sort it out (I thought I had a neighbor with a party). Finally I dressed and went to the front desk. They seemed to figure out the problem and immediately the noise stopped. When I complained in the morning the front desk person reduced my room charge by half. That action has kept me a customer.

Food is not great, and the dining room is not open when I need it before a very early flight or arriving late at night.

Price varies with the day. Best to try and work directly with the hotel if you can.

Room Tip: if you do not like your room then ask to go higher or somewhere else. there are some upgraded rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonr806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear sharon r
Thanks very much your giving us at the Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport your feedback and being a customer of ours. I'm glad that the team were able to get the noise stopped for you but little surprised it took two requests. We are always looking at way to ensure from a F&B prospective that we are able to service our guests needs we do offer kitchen service from 6:30am until 11pm in The Metropolitan our full service outlet. Our team is always trying to find ways to make our hotel better and are focused on having a great hotel that guest love!!
Cheers till next time you stay with us....
DougGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My mother in law was booked with Caribbean Airlines and her flight was delayed and then canceled. My fiance and I received a call from her at 5 am (Jan 4th 2014) stating that she had been given a voucher and will be taken via shuttle bus to the Holiday Inn located at 970 Dixion Rd in Toronto. We immediately head down there to meet her. It was a very chaotic situation as there were many passengers being checked in. We had the pleasure of being helped by a gentleman named Clifton. He was very calm,resourceful,caring and humorous. Clifton went above and beyond to ensure my mother in law and two other elderly passengers were taken care of. It is refreshing to know that there are still individuals out there who have a heart and are willing to make the best of what had been a very long and aggravating situation. Thank you Clifton and Vince for helping us. It shows that both gentlemen have very strong family values and it showed in their mannerism.

We will definitely recommend family and friends to this hotel in the future. Holiday Inn you have done very well with hiring such fantastic people. We thank you sincerely.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank humble31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Humble31
I want to thank you for sharing your story with us! We have been busy the last little while with helping and working with our airline partners in accommodating distressed passengers! This type of business is something that can not be predicted and at times causes it to put a strain on the operations. We are lucking to have a great team that try hard to make emotional connections with our guest and these times can be stressful for all the guest and the operations. I'm pleased that our night manager Clifton was able to make that emotional connection and will share this story with him! I'm glad that we were able to help your mother in law and make her stay a comfortable one with us! I love your title "A chaotic situation turned into a remarkable hotel stay!!" We do try hard to have great hotels that guest love!!
Regards
DougGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Was on my way to St John's and my flight was cancelled. Westjet put me up here and while the room was nice enough, the hotel restaurant ruined my layover. Went for dinner in their Metropolitan Restaurant. A nice enough guy at the front had me sit down and i waited 15 minutes while my supposed waiter walked several times, ignoring me. i was alone so maybe he thought the tip wouldn't be worth his time. Too bad for him --- I'm a notorious BIG tipper kind of guy! Finally decided to leave and get room service where I got a basic burger. Basic.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear DanoDR
Sorry to hear about your travel problems. We at the hotel have been working very hard with the airlines to help accommodate many distressed passengers since before Christmas. This always puts a strain on the operation as we at times do not know the who, how and timing of this type of business. Our team works hard to manage the services with out delays but it seems that in this case you had a delay in getting service. I'm glad that you were able to go to the room and enjoy a burger from room service. This is certainly a good reason that the airlines select us as we are a full service hotel and can help in these situations as they can be taxing on all! Once again we do apologize for the inconvenient you had and hope that you give us another chance on a regular visit!

Regard
Doug GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn (970 Dixon Rd-Toronto Airport). The hotel is an older property that appears to have had some recent renovations.

The hotel is close to Pearson Airport and to the Highway to get into Downtown Toronto.
Pros:
Close to airport
Close to highway and is easily accessible
Room is clean

Cons:
Older building that has had some recent renovations that does not appear to be fully completed
$16 for overnight parking because of proximity to airport. I guess hotel is concerned that guests will park long term to catch flights.
Parking lot is small relative to the size of hotel.

Would stay again, if price is good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bk19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear bk19 (T.o.)
Thanks for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport and taking the time to share some of you comments on the property. We do feel that the hotel has a lot of good things going for it in terms of its location and being a full service hotel. We do continue to reinvest into the property and in 2014 we will continue to do more work on our guest areas to enhance the guest experience with us. I'm glad to hear that you would stay with us again and hope to see you back in the near future as we believe we have a great hotel that guests love!
Regards
GMYYZIA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toronto
Westin Toronto Airport
#65 of 137 in Toronto
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Etobicoke
Courtyard Toronto Airport
Courtyard Toronto Airport
#73 of 137 in Toronto
326 reviews
Etobicoke
Quality Suites Toronto Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport

Address: 970 Dixon Rd, Toronto, Ontario M9W 1J9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $112 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Airport Hotel in Toronto Offers Value & Service. The Holiday Inn Toronto Airport welcomes you to our newly renovated airport hotel at Toronto International Airport (YYZ). You'll love our hotel's convenient airport shuttle, quiet, convenient location and heated bathroom floors.Guests appreciate our hotel's close proximity to the Toronto Congress Centre and International Centre, the major host for area events. Our meeting facilities are the best among Toronto airport hotels. Our 21,000 sq. ft. of conference space is now renovated and offering 20 meeting rooms with award-winning catering ready to host any event. Leisure guests love our hotel's location near Pearson Airport. Nearby attractions like Woodbine Entertainment Centre, and shopping at Sherway Gardens offer family fun. Easy access to Hwy 401,427,407 and 410 puts Toronto's world-class attractions just minutes away.Guests will enjoy dining in our newly renovated Bistro YYZ. Enjoy a wide variety of beer and wine. Workout in a 24-hour Fitness Centre or refresh yourself in large, heated indoor pool. For your next stay in Toronto, our airport hotel's associates wait to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport Hotel Toronto
Toronto Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing