We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“they have ruined InterContinental Brand name”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Ranked #23 of 134 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“they have ruined InterContinental Brand name”
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We have just stayed in InterContinental Toronto Centre. We were so disappointed that we will not stay in InterContinental Hotels again. The room was old and smelly. We have to call many times to get everything. Now, we are going to book many hotels in other part of the world. Since this bad experience, we don't trust this brand name again.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ABCDEFg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,273
    922
    305
    88
    53
See reviews for
450
701
170
910
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
269 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Stayed here for four nights on a combined business and leisure trip. My wife joined me for the first two days and night, then left me to my conference (next door at the MTCC) for the rest of the stay.

Check-in was high-class. They allowed us to park ($40 for valet) and check-in early, and the process was smooth in both cases. A package had been sent to me earlier in the week and the front desk made sure I knew where to go to get it. This is a small thing, but in some hotels picking up pre-shipped material is arduous and stressful. Intercontinental has the process down to a smooth professional transaction.

We had a junior King suite, which consisted of a spacious bedroom open to a small living room, a hallway and the bathroom. For two, it's just enough space. For me alone, it was ample room to spread out and relax each night. There are two 32" flat screens in the room(s), as well as a desk/workspace with free regular tethered internet, or wi-fi for a price. Luckily for us we had a spectacular view of the CN Tower, SkyDome, Island airport, and harbour.

The room was decorated nicely, with slightly upscale furniture/carpets, and even bamboo flooring. I found the walls a little bashed up and aged -- wallpaper is starting to peel -- but otherwise it's modern and comfortable, if not totally luxurious. Cleaning staff were attentive and kind, taking great care to return the room to its pristine state each day. Staff throughout the hotel were courteous and professional, effiecient and pleasant at all times.

The downside? Intercontinental's pricing is high. Room service and restaurant prices are utterly excessive ($22+ for a two-egg breakfast), which makes it necessary to go elsewhere for all meals. If you can upgrade to the Executive levels for $20 a night, getting free breakfast and wifi, it's more than worth it. I couldn't justify that to my company, so I had to scramble to get food outside of the hotel each morning.

Other than that, my only beef was with the elevators -- we were on the 24th floor (of 25)...and each time we needed an elevator it was slow to come, and then made countless stops on the way down. The hotel would be wise to dedicate banks of elevators to certain floors (ie one bank serves floors 3 to 13, the other 14 to 25). Other guests had the same comment as I did on this one -- at least it gave us something to talk about as we waited through the frustration.

Finally, a correction on something an earlier reviewer said -- the hotel is in fact very close to the PATH system. Directly across Front Street from the hotel is an entrance to the PATH. So in any weather, you can get yourself around without getting soaked.

Given its central location (walk to the Convention centre, waterfront and ferries, CN Tower, SkyDome, Entertainment District, Distillery District, etc), its wonderful staff, and its luxurious feel, the InterContinental is a safe bet for those seeking mid-to-high range accommodations. But be prepared, the prices will add up quickly!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McMarshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Recently finished renovations in part of the hotel mean that you can choose between the modern decor, and a more classic style.

Odd shaped building means that some of the rooms are very very far away from the elevators (Rooms ending 00 to 14 seemed the furthest)

Tried out the spa services - the pool was very cold!
Staff were very nice and attentive; Breakfast buffet is nice, but very very expensive; choose a local diner or even Tim Hortons down the street

All in a great hotel

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airbus_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xchurch
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

we stayed here for three nights and everything was excellent,, the position in downtown toronto near the c.n.tower and lake ontario was in walking distance excellent shopping close by and the hotel was run by very friendly staff .the rooms all very big and clean.the one fault was not enough lifts for the number of rooms

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyXchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

This was one of the preferred hotels for my business conference because of the proximity to the office but I found it be a lot nicer than I thought. From the exterior its looks a bit outdated but inside the lobby was nice along with the rooms. It has a modern look to it. Alot of my other work colleagues stayed at the Fairmont which is the complete opposite (beautiful from the exterior but the rooms outdated). I was happy with my stay (I only really went there to sleep). I never got a chance to check out the gym, pool or restaurant. I will note during my stay 2 of the elevators were broken and I would end waiting 10 minutes for the elevator. Aside from that the Intercontinental was great.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjpaek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Flying back from Barbados to London via Toronto (cheap flights), we got stranded by the unpronounceable Icelandic volcano. "God grant me the patience to bear the things I cannot change...." so we found a good online rate at the Intercontinental and checked in for a few days to wait for the ash to clear or the Europeans to decide that it wasn't as dangerous as they thought.
Excellent choice. We looked pretty scruffy but nobody batted an eyelid. Checkin and out were fast, courteous and efficient. The room was very acceptable - not large, but quiet and comfortable. Excellent breakfast with superb service. 24 hour business centre with (billed) internet access for finding when you might get a flight home. Close to the rail station, the CN tower, the lakefront and on the tour bus routes. Nice swimming pool for the wife and son. Had an excellent visit.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard2UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Stayed here because it was convenient to the convention center. Worst decision I ever made. There was a LOUD jackhammer-like noise that the staff first played dumb about (hmmm...not sure what that could be?). When I persisted, I was assured that the noise was elevator construction that would end by 5 pm. When the sound persisted at 8:30 pm, I was told that the staff was well aware of the problem, but tough luck, they were out of rooms away from the elevator. It kept me up at night and tortured me (even TV on full blast didn't drown it out). COMPLETELY ruined trip - I couldn't work in my room, couldn't rest, couldn't sleep at night, couldn't even hear the TV over the awful noise. The lying and deception only made it worse. Seems like they keep moving people around because everyone in an elevator room complains. NIGHTMARE!!!

In addition to that, the room was shabby, some items were broken, recently installed room safe was FILLED with debris, carpet was stained, lighting was too dim, and the TV was an old fashioned 19" tube TV (non-digital). I expect lot more for such an expensive hotel!!!!! I would never, ever stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 134 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Toronto Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Toronto Centre

Property: InterContinental Toronto Centre
Address: 225 Front Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#14 Family Hotel in Toronto
#17 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#18 Business Hotel in Toronto
#18 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Toronto Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 584
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a Front Street location adjacent to the Metro Toronto Convention Centre, InterContinental Toronto Centre is considered the city centres best location. We are steps away from the CN Tower, Canadian Broadcasting Centre, Rogers Centre, Air Canada Centre,the entertainment and financial districts, Toronto Eaton Centre, the Royal Ontario Museum and Roy Thomson Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Toronto Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Toronto Centre Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing