We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a converted crowne plaza, and it shows”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Ranked #23 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a converted crowne plaza, and it shows”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2008

Now that I've stayed here, I think I can help resolve the huge difference between so many of the reviews here. I have stayed at many InterContinental Hotels in Europe, and this one does not measure up to even the worst day at any of them, but there is a very good reason why; it's a converted Crowne Plaza. A very old Crowne Plaza.

When you enter the hotel for the first time, it's all InterContinental. Very beautiful, modern and clean, with staff who are anxious to serve. Check in was a breeze, and then I took the elevator (very nice elevator, too) to the 21st floor. I felt like I stepped into a time warp when I got off the elevator -- it was 1978 from the floor to the ceiling. All topaz, and other colors that go with topaz. When I got to my room it was more of the same. The only "InterContinental" part was the bed linens. Everything else was classic, cheap hotel. The room smelled very stale -- like a converted smoking room -- and everything was horribly disappointing. The thermostat still says Crowne Plaza.

I called to request another room and was sent to the 16th floor where a bellman met me with new keys. This is a remodeled floor. It's like 50% InterContinental -- modern decor but more than a little disheveled. My room was much better, but nothing (and I mean nothing) like an InterContinental room in Europe. The smell was the same because the ancient, loud, rattling ventilation system is there for good. The 15-year old, 27-inch television had a distorted picture because the TV signal for some channels is HD squeezed into a box format. The desk chair was broken; the seat was falling through the middle. Both the wireless and ethernet internet access were abysmally slow. The bathroom had been touched up, but not gutted like it should have been after 20 or so years. In short it was a $150 per night room that I was paying $300 for.

I could go on with tons of examples, but suffice it to say the hotel will disappoint anyone who has stayed at another InterContinental hotel pretty much anywhere. And at $300 per night it is horribly overpriced. If you can stay here for $100-$150, that's almost worth it. But be sure to request a remodeled room, unless you want to revisit your cheap hotel stays from the 70's.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cineluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,258
    912
    301
    88
    53
See reviews for
445
691
170
900
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2008

Our family of four arrived at the InterContinental to find they had, in the words of my son, “pulled an airline.” They were overbooked. No problem, we were given a free upgrade to a two story suite. The room was spacious, elegant and clean, if a bit worn. But since we were paying for a basic two-bed room, we weren’t about to complain. (We figured this was the suite kept for free upgrades and suspected the others were more polished.) We did complain, repeatedly, when we turned in for the night and found the fold-out sofa (there was only one bed in the loft upstairs) had no linens. A call to housekeeping was followed by a trip to the front desk half an hour later and a second call to housekeeping twenty minutes after that. Our first call to housekeeping was made at about 11:15. At 12:40 my son was sprawled on the floor, my husband was nodding off in a chair, and I marched down to the front desk where I finally found a sympathetic staff member who delivered two sheets, one blanket, and one pillow to our room himself. He offered to hunt for another pillow, but given the hour and the excess of pillows on the bed upstairs, we declined and finally made up our bed. Granted, a convention was on that weekend, but a hotel of the supposed calibre of the InterContinental should be able to deal with the extra demands. The location is great; the rooms are fine; but until the service picks up, I recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snullr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2008

I always think of InterContinental as an upscale business hotel that is less than 4 seasons, but still 4 stars. NOT TORONTO. SO many things were wrong, they should take the InteContinental name off the front. The halls had old pizza boxes and room service trays left for over 12 hours. Maid service basically consisted of making the bed and fluffing the pillows. It was hard to tell if the room had been cleaned at all. COCKROACHES in the bath room, room service that never calls back after putting you on intermittable hold, the list goes on. Sadly to make matters worse, the front desk was sullen and hardly interested in their guests, and when I filled out a lengthy comment card, I never heard a word back. I am a high status member of many airlines and hotels, including InterCon Ambassador, and I have never been more disappointed in a hotel property. Simply put: AVOID.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SanFranciscoMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luckychris101
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

We were very happy with our room and the location of this hotel. Our room had a view directly over the train tracks of Union Station but never heard the trains go by. Once we parked the car, we never had to use it again. We walked to everything. The CN Tower is right next door as well as the Blue Jays stadium. The room was great with a VERY comfortable bed and upgraded bathroom amenities. There was always someone available to assist us when we needed someone. The front desk converted our US$ to CAN$. The concierge helped us with tix to Second City. Breakfast buffet had great variety with meats, omelet station, pastries, cereals, etc. It was however, as with most hotel breakfasts, very expensive. ($60+ for two)

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank luckychris101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2008

I stayed here for 4 days on a business trip

The front of house team lost all details and made me wait 50 minutes while they sorted the shambles out

When I went to my floor where the room was I was met with laundry all over the floor and a desk and office chairs in the corridor

The rooms when "cleaned" mearly had the pillows fluffed and bed made

When complaining they refused to give any details of the GM and refused to get the duty manager - what a shambles

On a positive note good location and gym facility, but I was told I couldn't go onto the swimming pool terrace unless I booked a spa treatment.........

Could it get any worse ! Dont wast your time or money there are far better in Toronto

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Staff behaviour
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank quirky76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2008

We loved this hotel, everything about it. The staff were so lovely on arrival and then later in the day sent us up a welcoming basket of fruit and Canadian maple syrup and with a lovely welcoming card. Our views out over the lake and of the CN Tower were amazing especially at night time, left the curtains open so we could watch the lights on the CN tower. This hotel was everything that we wanted and would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FordyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2008

A group of us stayed in this hotel just the past week, we were informed by the Travel agent that it was a 5 star hotel, and were looking forward to staying in one. When we got there there the lobby was very modern, and it was hard to actually find the check in desk. One of the rooms we booked was a smoking room, and the other was a non-smoking room. The smoking room was the larger of the two rooms, but could have been cleaned a bit better, the non-smoking room was condisderably smaller then the smoking room. We had a few drinks in the bar, but the attitude of the staff there was not conducive to staying there at all. You are near everything in downtown Toronto, and the majority of staff were very helpful and obliging, some need to get customer service skills. you are close to the CN tower, and there is a spa and gym in the hotel. But 5 stars it is not, more like a 3 star hotel,

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — not 5 star when you went past the lobby
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wicktipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,831 reviews
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Toronto Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Toronto Centre

Property: InterContinental Toronto Centre
Address: 225 Front Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Toronto
#14 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#17 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#18 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#18 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Toronto Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 584
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a Front Street location adjacent to the Metro Toronto Convention Centre, InterContinental Toronto Centre is considered the city centres best location. We are steps away from the CN Tower, Canadian Broadcasting Centre, Rogers Centre, Air Canada Centre,the entertainment and financial districts, Toronto Eaton Centre, the Royal Ontario Museum and Roy Thomson Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Toronto Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Toronto Centre Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing