We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great rooms, pricey, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Ranked #23 of 133 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“great rooms, pricey, good location”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This place is where we hold our annual convention (at the attached convention centre) so it is obviously a great location for that, and right across the street from union station, and there is a food court across the street as well. The rooms are very spacious and clean, well layed out and updated. The beds are a little hard for me, but nice. The rooms are spacious and in marble. My only issues are that the front desk is so small for such a big convention hotel, and I was upset that they only had two desk clerks on to check in so the check in process was slow. But they were definitely very apologetic and friendly. I also didn't like the fact there is no vending machines anywhere in the hotel so if you want a late night snack or drink buy it earlier in the day as the food bar in the room has outrageous prices. Also the wired and wireless internet was spotty and very expensive so they need to fix that to make it worth the price. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who has business here. I wouldn't really bring my family here though as it is very expensive.

Room Tip: request a corner room, they are huge, same price, and have excellent views (of the CN tower)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjhoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica W, Manager at InterContinental Toronto Centre, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear mjhoc,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is wonderful to hear that our convenient location and comfortable accommodations have kept you returning over the years.

We would like to thank you for providing your insight in regards to your check-in experiences as well as your concern about the vending machines. We will be sure that your comments are addressed with the appropriate departments. We are also pleased to advise that we have a convenient store now located in our lower lobby, which sells drinks and snacks as well as other travel items for the convenience of our guests.

When planning your next visit please contact either myself or Christian Potvin. We would be thrilled to assist in anyway to show our gratitude for your loyalty and ensure you next stay is even more enjoyable.

Warm Regards,

Jessica Webb
Executive Assistant
416-597-8196
Jessica.Webb@ihg.com

Christian Potvin
Director of Rooms
Christian.Potvin@ihg.com

INTERCONTINENTAL
TORONTO CENTRE

225 Front Street West
Toronto, ON
M5V 2X3
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,273
    922
    305
    88
    53
See reviews for
450
701
170
910
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Amazing room. No noise despite facing the QEW. Fabulous service and great breakfast. Hotels.com offered the same room with breakfast for $20 more than the hotels actual website offered it... so do your homework. The Easter buffet was $65 a person... looked amazing, but we didn't partake. Being right on front street makes getting around super easy. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coffeelover5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica W, Manager at InterContinental Toronto Centre, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear coffeelover5,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us this past Easter. Our team always strives to go above and beyond for our guests and we are thrilled that we had the opportunity to deliver this to you.

We would very much like to welcome you back as we are very appreciative of the comments you left. Should you be returning, please do contact either Christian Potvin or myself so we may assist with arrangements.

Best Regards,

Jessica Webb
Executive Assistant
416-597-8196
Jessica.Webb@ihg.com

Christian Potvin
Director of Rooms
Christian.Potvin@ihg.com

INTERCONTINENTAL
TORONTO CENTRE

225 Front Street West
Toronto, ON
M5V 2X3
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel three times now and it is quite nice. It's connected directly to the convention centre making it easy to get to your conference if that's what you are in town for.

The rooms are pretty nice although mine had a iron mark on the floor from someone putting the clothes iron down on the carpet. The bathroom is getting a little dated to.

The Eatons Centre is a bit of a walk but still easy either above ground or via the path system.

Very convenient to the Rogers centre to catch a ball game. Will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelite123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica W, Manager at InterContinental Toronto Centre, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Travelite123_13,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. It is great to hear that you have continued to enjoy our convenient location during your past stays with us. We truly are located at the centre of it all and within in steps of the best sites to see in Toronto.

Please contact myself or Christian Potvin when making your next reservation. We would love the opportunity to show our gratitude for your continued loyalty.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Jessica Webb
Executive Assistant
416-597-8196
Jessica.Webb@ihg.com

Christian Potvin
Director of Rooms
Christian.Potvin@ihg.com

INTERCONTINENTAL
TORONTO CENTRE

225 Front Street West
Toronto, ON
M5V 2X3
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dryden, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is my second stay here and it has been as good as the first one. The room is large, well appointed and very clean. Check ion was a breeze and the front desk staff were excellent.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica W, Manager at InterContinental Toronto Centre, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Budnick319,

Thank you for reviewing us. It is great to hear that your second stay with us lived up to your expectations. We are always striving to provide out guests with exceptional service and we are thrilled that our team delivered this to you.

When planning your next trip to Toronto, please contact myself or Christian Potvin. We would be happy to personally see to your reservation and build on an already fantastic relationship.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jessica Webb
Executive Assistant
416-597-8196
Jessica.Webb@ihg.com

Christian Potvin
Director of Rooms
Christian.Potvin@ihg.com

INTERCONTINENTAL
TORONTO CENTRE

225 Front Street West
Toronto, ON
M5V 2X3
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

First time traveler to Toronto. We booked this hotel based on the reputation of the chain. We were arriving at the hotel late (after 11) so I called several days in advance to let them know that we would need a late check in. They told me there wouldn't be a problem. When we arrived at 12 AM they informed me that they overbooked the hotel and would put us up for one night at another hotel. We were tired and HUNGRY and FURIOUS to say the least. While speaking with the front desk, they half listened or showed concern to our situation. They kept taking phone calls from guests and were not attentive at all. HOW CAN THIS BE??? They put us up at the King Edward and we couldn't have been happier there. We decided to cancel our reservation with the Intercontinental. The King Edward was in a better location with much more restaurants, shops and is more centrally located anyway. The Intercontinental is a busy hub because of the Convention center and the CN Tower right next door. Don't bother staying at this hotel with incompetent staff. Despite this horror at this hotel, things did work out in the end. Thanks Intercontinental for your screw up. It was our gain!!!!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Desilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Toronto Centre, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Desilu,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. Providing excellent customer service is one of the things we pride ourselves on, regardless of how busy we are, and I am sincerely sorry to read that in this case you feel we have fallen short of your expectations. I can assure that your comments have been documented. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Vale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked our stay at the Intercontinental months in advance. Everything seemed fine. Three days before we arrived we called the hotel to inform them that we were going to be arriving late and didn't want it to be an issue. The hotel confirmed that all would be fine. We arrived in Toronto late at night, getting to the hotel close to midnight. Upon check-in we were informed that the hotel was overbooked and they were going to send us to another hotel for the evening. At midnight!!! Imagine arriving at that time, tired, hungry and wanting to relax only to be told to get back into a taxi and go someplace else. The manager assured us that we would have a room at some point the next day but could not guarantee a time. Why should we have had to be in limbo all day wondering when we were going to get our room? Since we had no choice we went to The King Edward Hotel upon the Intercontinental's recommendation. After arriving at The King Edward the hotel staff heard what we went through and took care of us compassionately. Now at 1:30 AM we decided that we did not even want to go back to the Intercontinental and deal with them the following day. We stayed at The King Edward our entire stay and were treated like VIPs. They even matched the room rate that the Intercontinental was offering us. The King Edward was a MUCH better hotel, prettier and in a better location. After all the hardship we looked back at it as a blessing that we could not have stayed there. Think twice!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Toronto Centre, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear PTV,

Thank you for your valuable review. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. We are sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectation on this particular occasion. Please accept my deepest apologies for any inconvenience you encountered due to the unacceptable level of customer service received from our hotel. Comments such as yours permit us to target areas of concern and take the necessary steps where great attention will be paid to the matter.

Your opinion is very important to us, as it helps us identify areas in need of improvement. We look forward to being of service to you in the very near future and to the opportunity to completely restore your confidence in the InterContinental Name.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is my hotel of choice when staying in Toronto. Perfectly located....minutes from just about everything you want to do in Toronto.
Clean, comfortable rooms, updated and stylish. A true metropolitan hotel. Go to the lobby bar...great martini!
The staff is top notch...helpful, super friendly. Stephanie Dalmage-Lemonious, Reservations Manager, has been a constant source of help for years. Always quick to help in any situation that comes up for me. A true professional.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica W, Manager at InterContinental Toronto Centre, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Gilmour9393,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for naming us the place to stay in Toronto! We truly appreciate your loyalty and are glad to hear that our team has continued to provide you with memorable experiences. We would also like to thank you for recognizing Stephanie, our Reservations Manager. Stephanie always aim to please and provides all of our guests with outstanding service on every occasion. We will be sure to share your comments with her and recognize her internally for continuing to exceed your expectations.

Please feel free to contact either Christian Potvin or myself when booking your next stay. We would be delighted to have the opportunity to show our gratitude and build on an already fantastic relationship.

Thank you again and we look forward to speaking with you in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jessica Webb
Executive Assistant
416-597-8196
Jessica.Webb@ihg.com

Christian Potvin
Director of Rooms
Christian.Potvin@ihg.com

INTERCONTINENTAL
TORONTO CENTRE

225 Front Street West
Toronto, ON
M5V 2X3
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 133 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,891 reviews
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Toronto Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Toronto Centre

Property: InterContinental Toronto Centre
Address: 225 Front Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#14 Family Hotel in Toronto
#17 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#18 Business Hotel in Toronto
#18 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Toronto Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 584
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a Front Street location adjacent to the Metro Toronto Convention Centre, InterContinental Toronto Centre is considered the city centres best location. We are steps away from the CN Tower, Canadian Broadcasting Centre, Rogers Centre, Air Canada Centre,the entertainment and financial districts, Toronto Eaton Centre, the Royal Ontario Museum and Roy Thomson Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Toronto Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Toronto Centre Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing