We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not up to my expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Toronto Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Ranked #22 of 135 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not up to my expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights. The lady at the front desk was very friendly, she gave us access to the club level. Actually all staff are very professional and helpful. However, the hotel is not to be compared to other intercontinental hotels around the world. It is old, and it needs refurbishing.

Room Tip: Choose a room at a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sahar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica W, Manager at InterContinental Toronto Centre, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Sahar J,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

While we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service you received during your recent stay with us, we are disappointed to hear that we were unable to exceed all of your expectations.

To touch on one of the points you made, I am pleased to inform you that we are currently looking at options to upgrade our guestrooms in the near future.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to provide you once again with the exceptional InterContinental service we are known for.

Warm Regards,

Jessica Webb
Administrative Assistant

INTERCONTINENTAL
TORONTO CENTRE

225 Front Street West
Toronto, ON
M5V 2X3

Tel: 416-597-8196
E-mail: Jessica.Webb@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    831
    283
    85
    50
See reviews for
417
621
160
821
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have stayed there many times over the last couple of years, as my wife has monthly businees trips to Toronto. We are lucky enough to always stay on the club level floors. This purpose of this review is to give the Vera,Stephany,Jessica and Cherise(sorry if thats spelled wrong)the four ladies who work the club level conciearge a pat on the back. These ladies go above and beyond to make sure we have everything we need and since we are normally travelling with a 2 year old. As every parent knows the way to there heart is threw there child...wether its early check-ins or late check outs or finding us the largest room possible they alwasy come through for us....and lets not forgot giving my son a birthday cake for breakfast.
Thank you ladies for always makeing our stays the best possible

Room Tip: try and get on the club level....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnancekivell75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica W, Manager at InterContinental Toronto Centre, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear jnancekivell75,

Thank you for your kind comments.

Our ladies on Club truly are exceptional and we are so pleased that they have continued to provide you with great service over the years. They truly know what it means to go above and beyond the call of duty and we thank you for giving them such great recognition, I can assure you we will do the same!

Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,

Jessica Webb
Administrative Assistant

INTERCONTINENTAL
TORONTO CENTRE

225 Front Street West
Toronto, ON
M5V 2X3

Tel: 416-597-8196
E-mail: Jessica.Webb@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Ontario
Level Contributor
99 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have stayed here multiple times over the last decade on business and family trips. The location on Front Street one block away from Union Station (for commuter rail and the TTC/subway) and a short cab ride to the Billy Bishop (Toronto Island) airport is ideal and as close to perfect as one can get.

There are a host of restaurants and dining options for all budgets within walking distance and you can quickly walk to Air Canada Centre (hockey, basketball, concerts, etc.) or the Rogers Centre (football, baseball, concerts, etc.).

The IC hotel is also directly connected to the Metro Toronto Convention Centre which is great for conference delegates, especially during the winter months.

Food is good in the downstairs restaurant, the fitness facility, spa and small pool on the 2nd floor are good for a workout or relaxation.

Finally, rooms are modern, spacious and well-equipped.

This hotel is an exemplar for the Intercontinental Brand and trustmark.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WJR-041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica W, Manager at InterContinental Toronto Centre, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear WJR-041,

Thank you for your comments.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are always striving to meet our guests expectations and we are glad that we have been able to exceed yours.

We are happy that you have enjoyed our amenities, service and convenient location over the years and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,

Jessica Webb
Administrative Assistant

INTERCONTINENTAL
TORONTO CENTRE

225 Front Street West
Toronto, ON
M5V 2X3

Tel: 416-597-8196
E-mail: Jessica.Webb@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Nice mini suite. Very wobbly lamp. Ok, just so you know and don't accidentally knock it over. The technician was unable to fix it. He really tried.

If the restaurant is open until 3 o'clock, how come at 2.25 only burgers and club sandwiches are available? The menu was still posted. It would be useful to know at what time last orders are taken. Not wanting just starch and carbohydrates for lunch, we had to find another place to eat.

The 8th floor lounge ran out of eggs, then pastries and it took ages for a new supply to arrive. You don't necessarily have time for a 15min wait if you're in town for business. The coffee was very good - both the special ones the one ordinary one in the thermos urn.

We got the impression that the hotel is understaffed. The staff we saw were working very hard. A huge hotel like that, with huge functions - there seemed to be at least one wedding - should be better prepared.

Room Tip: The Toronto tower side is quiet. You can lie on the window seat (with cushions) and admire the Tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lamppu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica W, Manager at InterContinental Toronto Centre, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Lamppu,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

It is through the feedback we receive from our guests that we discover the areas in which we need to improve. I have shared your comments with the appropriate departments to ensure we can improve in the areas you mentioned.

To discuss your experience further, please contact Christian Potvin, Director of Rooms, at 416-597-8190 or via e-mail at christian.potvin@ihg.com.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future and providing you with the exception InterContinental Experience we are known to provide.

Warm Regards,

Jessica Webb
Administrative Assistant

INTERCONTINENTAL
TORONTO CENTRE

225 Front Street West
Toronto, ON
M5V 2X3

Tel: 416-597-8196
E-mail: Jessica.Webb@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orleans, on, ca
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My booking was two night on points and one at a corporate rate. Perhaps I should not have expected a first-class room.
1. After dark the room was dark and the lights were insufficient to correct - gave a depressed feeling.
2. There was only one coffee cup with the coffee maker.
3. Cleanliness was less than expected.
4. Bedside telephone didn't work properly (fixed by staff).
5. Standing lamp was coming apart at top of fixture (fixed by staff).
6. Lighting in bathroom was entirely inadequate for any action which required light such as applying makeup.
7. As explained above, I had two reservations. I arrived back late night on second day to find my room key had been cancelled. The Hotel had not connected my two reservations. Ridiculous inconvenience!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordoncr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica W, Manager at InterContinental Toronto Centre, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear gordoncr,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

I would like to apologize for the less-than-satisfactory experience you had during your recent stay with us. I can assure you that this is not the level of service we are known to provide.

I have communicated your comments with the appropriate departments to ensure that we improve in the areas you mentioned.

We would love the opportunity to discuss your experience further and regain your loyalty. Please contact Christian Potvin, Director of Rooms, at 416-597-8190 or via e-mail at christian.potvin@ihg.com.

We look forward to speaking with you directly and hopefully welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Jessica Webb
Administrative Assistant

INTERCONTINENTAL
TORONTO CENTRE

225 Front Street West
Toronto, ON
M5V 2X3

Tel: 416-597-8196
E-mail: Jessica.Webb@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

such a fabulous location; by union station, St Lawrence market, CN tower, Roy Thomson Hall. didn't have to walk outside to attend the conference!!! Found some nice restaurants nearby -- C'est What (67 front street, downstairs) microbrewery with good pub food; Hank's for breakfast (9.5 church street - check for hours); a little further walk to Guu Izakaya on 398 church (hard to find, look for set back little strip mall with black tarp over doorway for guests waiting outside?) - DELICIOUS, noisy, fun Japanese tapas; and a further walk or short sub ride to Brownstone Bistro (603 yonge street).

Room Tip: yes, higher up for less noise from trains and traffic; ask for view of CN tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica W, Manager at InterContinental Toronto Centre, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear OnkyTonky,

Thank you for your comments.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly are located at the centre of it all and we are so pleased that you had the opportunity to experience our convenient location.

We look forward to welcoming back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Jessica Webb
Administrative Assistant

INTERCONTINENTAL
TORONTO CENTRE

225 Front Street West
Toronto, ON
M5V 2X3

Tel: 416-597-8196
E-mail: Jessica.Webb@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Room was excellent with a great view of the CN Tower and Rogers Centre. Staff were awesome, great with directions, ideas of things to see. However when deposit was taken on my debit/visa card it did not go back on the next day or even week. I had to bug and complain to them for a long time and was told it was taken care of. It was not and had to go back and forth again with a manager. Took about 2 months to fix and I was not offered any recompensation/free night at all. I would only go back if someone else was footing the bill.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica W, Manager at InterContinental Toronto Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Nathan P,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations as well as the service you received during your stay with us.

However, I would like to apologize for the difficulties you experienced with your credit/debit card. We are following up internally to ensure that these complications do not occur in the future.

We would love to have the opportunity to discuss your experience further and regain your loyalty. Please contact Christian Potivin, Director of Rooms at 416-597-8190 or via e-mail at christian.potvin@ihg.com.

We hope to have the please of welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Jessica Webb
Administrative Assistant

INTERCONTINENTAL
TORONTO CENTRE

225 Front Street West
Toronto, ON
M5V 2X3

Tel: 416-597-8196
E-mail: Jessica.Webb@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Toronto
Delta Toronto
#6 of 135 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,500 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#17 of 135 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 2,217 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Toronto Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Toronto Centre

Property: InterContinental Toronto Centre
Address: 225 Front Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#14 Family Hotel in Toronto
#16 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#17 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#18 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Toronto Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 584
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a Front Street location adjacent to the Metro Toronto Convention Centre, InterContinental Toronto Centre is considered the city centres best location. We are steps away from the CN Tower, Canadian Broadcasting Centre, Rogers Centre, Air Canada Centre,the entertainment and financial districts, Toronto Eaton Centre, the Royal Ontario Museum and Roy Thomson Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Toronto Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Toronto Centre Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing