We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard express hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Toronto East
Ranked #71 of 134 Hotels in Toronto
Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Standard express hotel”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Just stayed for one night for a local wedding. Rooms were spacious, comfortable and relatively clean. Although there were cobwebs behind the door which makes me wonder if a deep cleaning schedule takes place. Bathrooms are a little old and smell a bit.
Breakfast was hot and fresh with plenty of choice for this type of hotel. All encounters with staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewerjaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto East, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, your comments have given us an opportunity to fix our deficiency. We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    120
    44
    18
    9
See reviews for
104
50
20
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dollard-Des-Ormeaux, Quebec
Level Contributor
223 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

So this is our second time staying at this hotel and I have to say once again the staff was extremely friendly. They met all our needs and requests. The hotel was clean rooms amazing and the food was good in the morning's free breakfast buffet. Right near the highway and close to gas stations restaurants and malls. Great stay thank you again. Will definitely return. Great value for the price.

Room Tip: I have stayed on the first floor and the third no problems at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silent_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto East, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

You 5 Star Rating has made us proud and we look forward to welcoming you back. Your business is sincerely appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapleton, Utah
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed here in June 2014 while on a business trip. The hotel is not particularly close to any major attractions, but I was in the area working at a small museum. If you are in the area and need a place to stay, I would heartily recommend this hotel. It is obviously not the newest or nicest hotel, but it is clean, accessible, and the staff are very friendly. I used the small exercise room, which was also clean and had adequate equipment. I didn't eat the breakfast at the hotel so I can't comment on it from experience, but it seemed like a great place to have toast, fresh fruit, or cereal. There is a convenience station within 2 minutes walking distance of the hotel and it took us 30 minutes to drive to the Toronto airport from the hotel. There are very few places to eat within walking distance. You'll want to have a car if you want to go out for dinner. Parking was free as was wifi. My wifi signal was excellent and I was able to stream a movie on Netflix. Some rooms were smoking rooms. Since I am not a smoker I was worried that the rest of the hotel would smell. I didn't notice it at all. Overall, this was a typical Holiday Inn Express experience.

Room Tip: I think the third floor had less noise than the lower rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taw26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto East, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience, it is comment such as yours that assist other guests in making decisions when choosing accommodations in Scarborough. We look forward to your future visit and to your recommended business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

My family and I stayed here on a recent trip to Toronto. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The rooms were very clean and appeared to be well maintained. This hotel is exactly what we are looking for while travelling; a clean, nice , quiet room with friendly staff who is eager to make your stay memorable. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0ADTRIPPER77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto East, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

We strive for your return business and thank you for your assurance of returning. Your review has made us proud and we look forward to welcoming you, your business is sincerely appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is the place that you would want to stay for a short period of time. Obviously its not a five star hotel and you shouldn't expect 5 star treatment, in terms of, having people help you with your bags and helping you settle you in. Having said that, it is a nice place. It is kept clean and neat. Note that, they only give you complementary breakfast, hence, for lunch and dinner, you will need to go look for food. There are nearby fast food places and coffee shops, so you won't starve. The front desk people were very helpful and helped a lot considering I was new to the area.

The rooms were big and clean. I had a single room with two queen beds. So sleep was comfortable. The room also had heat.

There was WiFi and some computers in the lounge if that is something that you care for.

My stay was pleasant and short. If you are looking for a place to stay for a long time, this is not the place because of an extreme lack of things to do.

But if its 'express' it will be a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wangzmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto East, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, although we are not a 5 star hotel we were disappointed not earning a 5 star rating review. Your comments are appreciated and we look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Every year we visit a family friend and when we travel, we always want to find a place that's comfortable and convenient. This place was like a welcome mat to us and we really felt welcomed here, it was great, thanks Holiday Inn!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto East, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your comment was shared with our team and it made us proud, thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Scarborough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Wife and I and another couple stayed here for one night while visiting friends recently. Courteous and friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms/hotel. Only down side was the complimentary breakfast. Fresh scrambled eggs and sausage just brought in from kitchen were cold and not the best tasting. Neither of us finished our breakfast and it unfortunately went to waste. Stay was comfortable and pleasant but breakfast needs work! Also, ice and vending machines located only in south end of building so inconvenient for guests with north end rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmpmljc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto East, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for complementing our associates and for taking the time to post your comment. Your concern on breakfast has been addressed with our breakfast contractors and corrective measures are taken immediately. We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Scarborough
Best Western Plus Executive Inn
North York
Holiday Inn Express Toronto - North York
North York
Radisson Hotel Toronto East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scarborough
Delta Toronto East
Delta Toronto East
#65 of 134 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
North York
Best Western Plus Toronto North York Hotel & Suites
Scarborough
Days Inn - Toronto East Lakeview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Toronto East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Toronto East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Toronto East
Address: 50 Estate Drive, Toronto, Ontario M1H 2Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Scarborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Toronto
#49 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Toronto East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to One of the Best Toronto Hotels Around For superior service and amenities, come visit the 3-diamond AAA/CAA Holiday Inn Express Hotel Toronto East in Scarborough. Our hotel is 25 km from Pearson International Airport (YYZ). You'll find an abundance of attractions nearby. You can tour the famous Metro Toronto Zoo and Ontario Science Centre, head inside for shopping at Scarborough Town Centre and other local shopping centres or have fun outside at Edwards Garden. For your convenience, we have two desk top computers in the lobby with free high-speed Internet access to plan your day or print directions to your destination. Business travelers also enjoy our hotel's close proximity to Toyota Canada, Honda Canada, Scarborough Grace Hospital, Scarborough General Hospital, local colleges including Centennial College and the University of Toronto and other businesses in Scarborough. Our hotel's meeting space can accommodate gatherings for up to 50 people, and we have 24-hour business centre services to help you prepare for a meeting. Because each room in our hotel features triple-sheeted bedding, a 27-inch TV with in-room movies, and free high-speed Internet access you can expect a comfortable stay in Scarborough. Our hotel deals include a daily newspaper delivered to your room, a free hot breakfast bar each morning and access to the fitness centre. Reserve your room today at the Holiday Inn Express Toronto East Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Toronto East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Toronto East Hotel Scarborough
Holiday Inn Scarborough
Holiday Inn Express Scarborough
Scarborough Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing