We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Ranked #30 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

I stayed for 3 nights. There were repairs going on to the hotel elevator but the rooms had great views, were clean and modern, and the staff were there to serve you.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torontotraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    816
    405
    148
    67
See reviews for
382
605
127
764
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

This is centrally located and is just 5 minutes away from the CN Tower.I took the daily rates option and got a room on the 18th floor with a majestic view of Toronto. The room was good. The daily rate option doesn't give Internet service for free. It is charged at $15 per hour. The Gym is spacious and has all modern equipments. The pool was closed as it was Winter time. The room service was good. There are lots of restaurants just outside the hotel, so you are not forced to eat the costly Hotel food.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sars82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

Our room was hot or cold, never comfortable.
Views were great, windows were filthy.
Wi-Fi was $14.95 which I was charged twice because I was stupid enough to check my email before checking out.
Parking was $25/day.
There was NO bathtub, just a shower.
10PM curfew
No table in the room, just a small desk.
Several lights would not work in the room.
It's an ok hotel that I won't be booking at again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2010

I recently stayed with my daughter at this Hyatt Regency for two nights during March Break . It was recommended to me and we were not disappointed. We would love to return during the warmer months as the rooftop patio/pool would be fun. To me at least it has a unique, sophisticated feel of a boutique hotel and urban residential building hybrid which we found very welcoming. I could not disagree more about some of the negative tripadvisor comments about the look and atmosphere, and never had a single elevator issue. There is a small sign indicating work to improve elevator service will be completed soon; the hotel is hiding nothing that way.

We were on the 15th floor with a spectacular view of the CN Tower, which for those that don't know, is quite a light show at night! OK, our room (two double beds) wasn't huge, but more than adequate for two, and we really liked the simple decor. Lots of dark wood, cool, well-designed white lacquered storage units with pomegranate coloured accents, and a compact but very nice marble and granite bathroom, with a (privacy) glass door and wall window which let in natural light, something I have never seen in a hotel room. The room itself and bathroom were spotless and the toiletries good quality and plentiful. The beds (with feather pillows and a great duvets) were super comfortable; combined with the very quiet atmosphere, this hotel certainly offers a good night's sleep. We enjoyed the big flat screen TV and iPod dock also.

The location is good, a short walk from the train station in good weather (likely easy also from the underground (Path?) system regardless). If you looking for nightlife, you're in the right district as it literally is in the Entertainment District. Second City Comedy Club is steps away--check out their Monday night deals. We were there to shop, so didn't go there this time, maybe next. Of course this Hyatt is also right near live theatre and many restaurants, pubs and bars. I was told by the (unobtrusive, yet friendly and helpful!) desk staff that the Toronto Film Festival will soon be hosted from their new venue, also very nearby, by 2011. This Hyatt will fill up at that time to be sure--likely a great spot for celebrity spotting IF you can get a room that week! I was warned to book far ahead.

It's a close walk to Queen Street shopping and other shopping, museums, and other activities are a close drive, streetcar, subway or taxi away.

We didn't dine at either restaurant, so can't comment on those, they looked very chic however, and I saw several comfortable looking patrons drinking wine at the brand new--it opened the day we arrived--ground level bar (actually a bit above ground, the restaurant "downstairs" is actually steet level with what would likely be good people watching.) I should mention here that the lobby and the two restaurants were all very well-designed and appointed in our opinions, with a retro but trendy feel. There is a water feature in the lobby flanked by amazing huge sofas, great for hanging out while you decide what to do for the day--much too much choice in Toronto if there is such a thing--NOTE: do not miss the Distillery District, worth the visit.

There is a multi-level Starbucks right off of the lobby and a Cora's a few blocks away, both great for breakfasts. No. 99 (Wayne Gretzky's restaurant) is also just around the corner for hockey fans.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone except those who feel they need the use of a pool during a winter stay. We saw people of all ages, business and leisure travellers alike staying at this Hyatt. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takeonetoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

I stayed with a friend here for a girls weekend. We purchased a package through Second City - dinner, show and hotel. The dinner and show were excellent.

The comments about the slow elevators were true - we came back at 10:00 and found HUNDREDS of people arriving, all trying to get to their room with 2 slow elevators and some security guy checking ID before he would let you on the elevator.

The night manager was useless and said sorry, but they can't predict how busy it will be. EXCUSE ME? Saturday night in T.O. in the entertainment district, full hotel, and you couldn't predict it would be busy? I asked why there were no signs about the elevators or notice of events going on in the area and the had no clue. I said it was inexcusablet o have people wait so long to get to their room and they apologized.

On checking out I complained about the wait the night before and the lack of concern from the Manager and they said they would cover the cost of parking - $25. I was happy until I checked my MC statement and they DID charge me. I will be contacting Hyatt head office to complain.

The rooms were nice, small though as was the bathroom. The food in the restaraunt was excellent and so was the service. This hotel is not designed for families. Small rooms and no indoor pool.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yearnin-2-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

So hard to pick a hotel but since I was a hyatt club member decided to stay there. room was very clean and tidy, contrary to al the comments re the lifts they were fine, hotel bar and rest. was pretty good as were the local rest. just down the street only minutes away. Highly recommended for business travelers...

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rzx42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sudbury
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2010

I recently stayed with my husband who was on business and my two children. The room was a little cramped, which is to be expected in downtown Toronto. Modern decor, clean, very friendly staff and location is great if you are looking to stay in the Theatre District. The only complaint I have is our coffee wasn't refreshed on our second morning. Showers were fantastically hot and lots of pressure, wasn't expecting that, so bonus there.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fullermel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Hilton Toronto
Hilton Toronto
#33 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#20 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Toronto

Property: Hyatt Regency Toronto
Address: 370 King Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#33 Family Hotel in Toronto
#34 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#43 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Toronto Entertainment District, central downtown, is the beautiful Hyatt Regency Toronto. Boasting 394 guestrooms including 32 deluxe suites on 20 floors. Typical guestroom features include 42inch plasma television, iPod Docking station, multi-media interface capabilities, massaging showerhead and other comforts of home. For business or pleasure, the Hyatt Regency Toronto provides the perfect location for anywhere you need to be in Toronto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Toronto Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hyatt Regency
Holiday Inn Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing