We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location but not up to Hyatt's standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Ranked #30 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Location but not up to Hyatt's standards”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

The parking area is terrible...there is no valet and you are parking your car in a self lot with public parkers as well. The result of this is a tight parking lot, limited spaces, and the elevator to the lobby is shady. When you finally get to the lobby, it's like doing a 360. The lobby is very modern and nice. The rooms are average sized and looks good if you're here on business. It gets noisy at night and I am guessing it's because there are clubs and parties just a few blocks from here.

The location is very convenient (similar to the theater district in nyc). There are many restaurants around so you won't need a car. The biggest plus is the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators if you don't want to hear noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    818
    405
    148
    67
See reviews for
386
605
127
766
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I'm not sure what everyone is so put off by; maybe Hyatts are supposed to be top end rather than high end, but I found this place to be as good as or better than downtown Toronto hotels like One King West, the Metropolitan and the Sheraton, and I got a good Hotwire deal on it, $117 plus taxes. No noise to speak of, clear signage and verbal warnings to people that no unregistered guests are allowed after 10:00 p.m. Didn't eat there (other than a Starbucks snack) so can't comment on the food, but service was good, location is great, room was nice. Negatives are lack of free WiFi in rooms (so common, and so annoying, in North America), dodgy TV quality and expensive parking, otherwise I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzuki267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Toronto, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our great location, the service provided by the staff, the lack of noise and the room. I also appreciate you sharing your concerns about lack of complimentary WiFi, the parking fees and the TV quality. I will be sure to share your concerns with our Executive Management team. I do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Belinda M - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Spent a weekend at the Hyatt with my siblings and we really enjoyed our stay. The location is perfect. We could walk to multiple restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The location is also great for just walking around. We didn't go to any of the theaters but there are a couple within walking distance. The CN tower, Rogers Center and Air Canada center are all a short cab ride away. Was told we could walk as well. Add the Soma chocolate store a few blocks from the hotel to the to-do list. They make the chocolates on site and the truffles are delish! Also checkout the Ferkin on King restaurant which is in walking distance from the hotel. Great food and a welcoming atmosphere.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MH_Travels2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Toronto, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel which allowed you to walk to several attractions and restaurants in the area. And that chocolate store is truly divine! I am a regular customer there and am not surprised that you loved the store. I hope we can welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Belinda M - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

What a major disappointment - a huge hole in the wall in my room. "Sorry no other rooms available" is not an answer you'd expect from the once-great Hyatt brand. Hyatt took over this property from Holiday Inn several years back - it's worst than ever before. They rely on tourists that are in and out faster than you could say "Toronto". What a shame.

Hyatt should be aware that there are other hotels in the area - lots of new boutiques hotels that are much, much better. To let this property go to the dogs is a blotch on the Hyatt name and reputation. I'm ashamed to be a member of the Hyatt club. I'll be looking elsewhere after this terrible experience.

Lesson to Hyatt - NEVER take your customers for granted - or you'll lose them - you've lost me

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

My husband stayed at this facility 8 or so years ago when it was the Holiday Inn on King, so we decided to stay here again, big mistake!

First off, trying to find the parking structure was a disaster, you can only turn left into the structure certain times a day. So instead, you have to do circles around town trying to get back around so you only have to turn right!

Once we finally got into the structure you have drive around forever to locate a spot that is not “strictly reserved”, took us a long time. Finally found a spot and checked in with the front desk. The girl asked for our license plate number, I gave it to her. She said it was $32 per night to park, never listed online! I asked her if it is added to our bill at the end of our stay, she said “sure”. I figured she was aware of the rules and that this was correct. The next morning we go out to our truck and find a $65 parking ticket! I brought it to the front desk and was told our vehicle was never registered and that he would “hold onto it”. I asked him if we had to pay it, he said again that he would “hold onto it”. Again, I never got a answer if that meant we had to pay it or if we didn’t have to pay it. My husband was so frustrated and said we would pay it if they sent us a bill!

Back to our stay, the room was terrible! Such a small bathroom! There is no counter top space, the sink is beyond tiny and you get water all over the floor after washing your face. The walls are beyond thin and can hear your neighbors talking and going to the bathroom! YUCK! There is no refrigerator or microwave, so bring a cooler for your beverages! Even 1 or 2 star hotel/motel rooms have these essentials! The chair in the room is such a retro style that it is more for looks that actually sitting in. If you want to use their Wifi, it is around $15-$20 for 24 hours depending on the “package” that you want! The only good thing about our stay was the view we had towards the CN Tower!

I had such high expectations for this facility as we have stayed at many other Hyatt Hotels across the United States and loved them all!

So after all of this, we would never stay here again or recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Familyfun17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
285 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

My umpteenth stay at Hyatt, but a bit disappointing this time. When we checked in (had to wait over an hour for a room), we noticed a big lumpy mass where the bed should be. The cotton batten blanket was so balled up it looked like lumps all over the bed. Pretty disappointing for a 4-star hotel....The mattress itself wasn't much better. Obviously these blankets are not holding up in their wash, and the cotton is bunching up in big balls in the centers of all the pockets. Awful looking!

When we checked out (despite having paid for parking) there was a $65 'ticket' on our car for not displaying a parking pass. Hopefully the hotel has taken care of that oversight. Not a pleasant way to end a trip, especially after paying $33 for the luxury of parking in their garage!!! There was a wonderful parking attendant, Andrew, who was so kind to us and valet'ed the car for us during the day since the garage was full. I think part of the reason I got the ticket was because the car was considered 'valet' even though we were technically in the garage. We went out for dinner and just parked ourselves when we got back. That's probably where things went wrong. Thanks Andrew, and great chatting about our common background at PMH. Rooting for you!

Room Tip: No recommendation, other than perhaps having a look at the room before you decide to accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VACanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hotel has a prime location; with Shops, Dining and Entertainment literally steps away from the front doors, and ideally caters to everyone visiting Toronto. The property itself is worn down and in need of more refurbishment (on top the the most recent $30 million). The front desk staff was polite and helpful, made checking in very easy, and all other interactions with staff were quite pleasant!

The good:
The bathroom was in good shape and a decent size for where the hotel is, and the boutique toiletries are a nice touch! Useful technology; iHome stereo alarm clock, and easily accessible inputs for the TV (HDMI, Game Inputs, USB, etc). As well, there is a Starbucks attached to the lobby (an easy way to get your morning coffee), and ample parking in the underground lot. I was lucky to have a room overlooking King, a nice view.

The bad:
The room, however, has seen better days: there was a hole in the drywall, there were burnt out bulbs in a few of the light fixtures, roughed up edges on the furniture, and some stains on walls and the carpet. As well, the kitchen closes too early (11pm) for a hotel of this style.

I was fortunate enough to have a group rate, which made the stay much more reasonable, but the standard booking rate would not make this a choice of mine.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TA9943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Toronto, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hello TA9943,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Hyatt Regency Toronto. We often hear enthusiastic remarks on our great location and we are thrilled to hear about the amazing customer service you received during your visit. I am very sorry to here about the condition of your guestroom and I have forwarded management your remarks so they can make sure housekeeping and the upkeep of the hotel improves. Thanks again for bringing this to our attention and we hope that we will see you again on your next trip to Toronto.

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Hilton Toronto
Hilton Toronto
#33 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#17 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Toronto

Property: Hyatt Regency Toronto
Address: 370 King Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#33 Family Hotel in Toronto
#34 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#43 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Toronto Entertainment District, central downtown, is the beautiful Hyatt Regency Toronto. Boasting 394 guestrooms including 32 deluxe suites on 20 floors. Typical guestroom features include 42inch plasma television, iPod Docking station, multi-media interface capabilities, massaging showerhead and other comforts of home. For business or pleasure, the Hyatt Regency Toronto provides the perfect location for anywhere you need to be in Toronto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Toronto Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hyatt Regency
Holiday Inn Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing