We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, but not sure if it's fully Regency standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Ranked #32 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Location, but not sure if it's fully Regency standard”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights. Hotel is not large, but it is tall, and there was not valet parking. Front desk and Bellman provided excellent service at check-in, as expected for Hyatt: friendly, courteous, and very helpful. Check-in was relatively quick. Lobby is small; it almost feels like a boutique type hotel; clean lines dark wood walls and light floors.

Room: Was on the 19th floor. The room had two very comfortable queen-size beds with a view. I stayed here a year ago as well in a different room, and these rooms are on the smaller side. Be advised that several pieces of luggage can take up some floor space in these size rooms. Rooms was clean, and bathroom design very nice. But the bathtub had a crack on the edge that looked like it was not repaired well. The door to the room had to be given an extra push or pull to close entirely. But again, the view from the room was great. One exception is not the hotel's fault: there is much condo construction going on in downtown Toronto, and we saw a lot of that from the view.

Room was quiet from outside condo construction noise, but you could hear guests in adjacent rooms. Not noisy at night, but the Hyatt put up a sign in the evening that stated "Only registered guests are allowed on the upper floors starting at 10:00pm". This was done to curtail late night noise.

Room service: Room service was out of character for a Hyatt. I made my room order and left to get something outside the hotel. I was gone all but 7 - 10 minutes. Amazingly, my order, which did require some prep, was ready, and room service had come up and I was not there. They did call and left me a message, I called back and apologized, I had just missed them by a minute or so, and they came back up. I apologized again personally, but the person seemed so miffed during the whole time, like he didn't want to be there. Even after my tip, which was considerable, I barely heard a thank you. Room service is not worth it here. Don't bother.

Cleanliness: Room Cleaning staff was very good. Lobby was very clean. But it is not clear if they have enough cleaning staff 24/7. My roommate however came in the hotel late and walked over spilled beer that was almost sticky in one of the elevators.

Hotel facilities: The deck with the pool is a wonderful little getaway on the 17th floor weather permitting. Nice!!! Workout facility is small but you get a great view of the city. The King Street Social Kitchen, which is their hotel restaurant is good for buffet breakfast. Buffet price and selection is good, but they end breakfast at 11:00am every day. The Hyatt Regency in Chicago, for example, will at least keep their weekend buffet open a couple of hours after that. In this hotel's defense, there may not be the crowd to warrant having that open later...it was not full when we ate there. We walked over to Cora's to have breakfast for less money and a more fulfilling meal. Or go to Tim Hortons' for something small and quick.

Neighborhood: Convenient location. About a 7 minute walk to the subway. This hotel is located in the entertainment district, so it is a block or two away from some playhouses. Plenty of bars, pubs, and eateries around. Neighborhood is quite active on the weekends, and can be loud when you are out on the street. Lot's of bars means lot's of alcohol, but these are not low-end places. Never felt unsafe day or night. Just can be a lot of people at certain times on the sidewalk. Walking distance to CN Tower. You can see the CN Tower when you walk out the front of the hotel.

Parking and Price: Not a cheap hotel but not the most expensive. Rooms will be smallish but square footage is more expensive in Toronto than from where I am in the Midwest. Parking is not cheap and you park yourself in the underground garage of the hotel. Spaces and navigation are tight in the garage, but we had a GMC Envoy and it parked with no problem.

Conclusion: Seemingly thin walls in the rooms and some cosmetic things don't make it seem like a luxurious hotel, but it benefits from excellent check-in and bellman staff, and a very convenient location. Hit on some things, miss on some others. But if I had to stay here again, I would have no problem doing it. Generally clean with a modern design. I would consider this hotel as an option if you want to be in the thick of social activity.

Room Tip: Higher floor, better view. Rooms facing South/Southeast will have the best chance of a CN Tower view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTravel442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    867
    426
    161
    74
See reviews for
434
649
130
817
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maple, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My friend received the worst service checking in and out in 2012. She was charged extra for being a member of Fan Expo. She were horribly discriminated against. Will not stay at again unless the rooms are $100.00 or less. I can receive better service without discrimination for the same price.

I stayed alone in 2011 and was given a lovely room with a view.

Room Tip: If you are attending for Fan Expo, lie and say you are not staying for Fan Expo. Or you will be trea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HironobuNobunagaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency Toronto from July 4th - 7th. The location of the hotel was good for a downtown Toronto location and the room itself was just a normal 4 star hotel room, our hotel room was nothing special.

We were very happy with the staff as they were able to offer us an early check in time of 9AM on our day of arrival.

Overall it was a decent hotel for our stay, but we might check out another hotel on our return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Comfort, close to 'the action', and stylish describes the Hyatt Regency Toronto.
Modern decor, great location to the TIFF Bell Lightbox, Theatres, restaurants, The Rogers Centre for sporting events, or the Metro Toronto Convention centre, many shops, Queen St. shopping district - this is "THE" place.

NOTE: No Valet parking. Park in "Check In Lot", register and drop of luggage, then self-park in the underground.

The upgraded spa-like shower bath our room had was a delight.

Room Tip: Have never experienced a room facing the lake - tho' one can't see the lake anymore. The nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diamond_Girl88_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Toronto, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am happy to hear that you found our hotel to be comfortable, stylish and well located. We often hear enthusiastic feedback regarding our close proximity to theaters, restaurants and shopping areas. I am delighted that you enjoyed our spa-inspired bath so thoroughly. I hope we can welcome you back to our hotel again in the soon.

Abrea H – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Centrally located and very with friendly staff, we stayed here for 4 days (a family).

The pool was great located on the roof with fab views and a relaxed feel.

Our room had a view of the CN tower which was nice.

Rooms were fresh but for the second time we suffered a bathroom problem (we had similar problems the year before).

We would stay here again happily.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dan_H_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stayner
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great Hotel. Good parking. Close to all downtown venues. Pool on Roof overlooking Toronto, with bar, and pub food. Fitness centre right outside door on same floor. Competitive rates for downtown hotels. Very warm day 30+ C but room was very comfortable. Great staff. One of our top 2 choices of hotels in Toronto.

Room Tip: We like higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl-Kitty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel is modern and has a friendly service staff. This is a great place to stay if you are visiting Toronto for the first time. Plenty of restaurants walking distance, The CN tower right in the front, and Yonge Street a couple blocks away. I enjoyed my stay. The only negative side would be the rooms are small and it needs to have a better air flow system since we can't open the windows. Other than that, great stay. The rooftop with the pool and small bar are a great addition.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olympiaa2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#9 of 137 in Toronto
748 reviews
Downtown West
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Hilton Toronto
Hilton Toronto
#34 of 137 in Toronto
3,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Toronto

Property: Hyatt Regency Toronto
Address: 370 King St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#33 Family Hotel in Toronto
#34 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#43 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Toronto Entertainment District, central downtown, is the beautiful Hyatt Regency Toronto. Boasting 394 guestrooms including 32 deluxe suites on 20 floors. Typical guestroom features include 42inch plasma television, iPod Docking station, multi-media interface capabilities, massaging showerhead and other comforts of home. For business or pleasure, the Hyatt Regency Toronto provides the perfect location for anywhere you need to be in Toronto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Toronto Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hyatt Regency
Holiday Inn Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing