We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Ranked #31 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent two nights there with my wife. We were attending a conference at the Metro Convention Centre so great location. Rooms are clean. Staff is very nice and gentle. Didn't eat there so I can't tell about the food. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohamad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Mohamad M;

Thank you for going out of your way to share your thoughts about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Toronto. It's great to hear how much you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back & your referral is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,001 - 2,007 of 2,581 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

Based on what other hotels in the vicinity offer, I will not pay more than CAD150 per night for this hotel.... tops. Everything in this property is space constrained. Small and cramped lobby, small elevators with a very tight elevator lobby that can easily get packed, tiny "sub-Ikea" furnished (newly renovated --they say-- BUT WITH REALLY CHEAP MATERIALS) rooms, very low ceiling, and very cramped bathroom (I have been on sailboats with bigger heads) best characterize this property. The hotel has a very dated overall atmosphere that the veneer of recent renovation (so says the website) cannot conceal. It did not surprise me when I learned that this property is a former Holiday Inn. It strongly appears that all they did was changed was the sign at the door. Food is so-so. Definitely, this is not the property one comes to expect with the Hyatt Regency brand especially in a tier one market like Toronto.

I had to stay in this hotel solely for the convenience of staying in the same venue as the conference I attended. At CAD342 per night plus tax, I could have made an exponentially far better choice. The Toronto Hilton, a new Hilton Garden Inn and the Shangri-la are very short walks from this hotel.

Room Tip: I had an "upgraded" corner room ... it doesnt say much. Forget the balcony that hey may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlinDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Hyatt Regency Toronto. I apologize for the issues you had at with your guestroom. I am pleased that we were able to reach out to you regarding your recent experience. Your feedback is very important as it will allow us to continue and improve our guest experience. I am glad that I had the opportunity to assist you. I hope we can restore your confidence in Hyatt on your next stay.

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Spent a nigh here with a couple of girlfriends.

Lots of restaurants around
Great location in the entertainment district
5 min walk from the subway
Rooms are clean but the bathroom door got jammed a couple times

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShortyNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_370_King_St, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear ShortyNB,

Thank you for selecting Hyatt Regency Toronto for your most recent trip to Toronto. We take great pride in our downtown location and I'm pleased to see you found it conveniently located near Toronto’s top attractions and great restaurants. We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Toronto!

Warmly,
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had to come to Toronto to take my father in-law for surgery early in the morning.
So we chose to stay at the Hyatt Regency on King St. When checking in the lady at the front desk asked us why we were in town. We told her the reason and she was very compassionate. Couldn't have been better. She graciously upgraded our room and to our surprise sent room service with a lovely fruit tray,Perrier and Evian water for the four of us with four lovely stemmed glasses.
Our room was very nice and we thank the young lady very much who looked after us.
Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for providing such a kind review. It’s always fantastic to read when our guests have a perfect stay at our property. I’m glad that our front desk staff was able to accommodate you and your family in an upgraded room given the situation. I’ll be sure to share your wonderful comments with our management team. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed here for one night in August as part of a trip to Toronto and Ottawa. We had high hopes for this place - it was our last night in Canada and thought this would be a great place to stay. But we were wrong. The staff were efficient but not in a friendly way - it was more here's you key now get away from the desk.

The room and bathroom were clean. My complaint about the bathroom was the frosted glass window on the wall which meant you could see who was in the loo from the room (and considering I was sharing with a friend and my bed was right next to the window meant I saw more than I wanted to!!).

Both beds were horribly lumpy, mines was worse than the other which meant when I lay on one side of the bed, I rolled into the middle. Did not have a good night's sleep. When I complained in the morning, the clerk didn't apologise.

One positive comment - the view from the roof top pool at sunset is amazing.

I would not stay here again and would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear 3townlad:

Thank you for taking a moment to share about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Toronto. We're sorry to learn of your experience, and how it didn't meet your expectations. Please note that all of our rooms have the same setup for the bathrooms in our guestrooms. We're sorry to learn of the mattress not being comfortable for your sleeping arrangements. We hope this experience doesn't deter you from joining us at a Hyatt property again, as we look forward to another chance to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

A typical Hyatt hotel. Decent front of house service. Rooms are standard and dull, beds fine. Food very average. Perhaps the worst aspect of hotel is the terrible interior design and furniture, faux sophistication that masks cheap materials and a lack of any real vision. The hotel is a monument to uninspired design.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McConnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_370_King_St, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear McConnon,

I’m very sorry to learn about your negative experience at the hotel. We strive to ensure that all guests are pleased with their accommodations. I apologize the experience you had did not meet your expectations. If you would like to discuss your experience in more detail, please feel free to contact us.

Warmly,
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Superb 1st class hotel with very attentive staff that take care or your needs. Rooms are spacious, concierge atservice unparalleled and even the doorman is to be commended. Well located for business, shopping and tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonjours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Bonjours!

Thank you for going out of your way to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Toronto. Our employees will be recognized for the fantastic service provided during your visit. We take pride with knowing your stay exceeded your expectations. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#22 of 138 in Toronto
3,775 reviews
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Toronto

Address: 370 King St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#34 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#43 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $157 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Toronto Entertainment District, central downtown, is the beautiful Hyatt Regency Toronto. Boasting 394 guestrooms including 32 deluxe suites on 20 floors. Typical guestroom features include 42inch plasma television, iPod Docking station, multi-media interface capabilities, massaging showerhead and other comforts of home. For business or pleasure, the Hyatt Regency Toronto provides the perfect location for anywhere you need to be in Toronto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Regency Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Toronto Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hyatt Regency
Holiday Inn Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing