We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very authentic and a delightful treat!”

Kinka Izakaya Original
Ranked #81 of 8,477 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: An Izakaya is a Japanese-style pub and what we strive for at KINKA IZAKAYA is an authentic Izakaya with great food and drinks in an unique atmosphere. Our goal is to serve each and every one of our guests happiness as they experience a "truly authentic Japan".
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
191 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very authentic and a delightful treat!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Was visiting Church Street when we got hungry and smelled something good and decided to find it... and it was the charcoal grilling going on at Guu Izakaya. This seemed like a popular spot with the locals and isn't a large place but we were seated right away (it was around 3pm so an odd time to eat but our bodies were on Pacific time) and got the two skewer samplers and it made for a wonderful and delightful meal! Good service and nicely presented.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    155
    35
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

This is a must visit in Toronto, it is exceptional! You must try the Oyster and mushroom and the seared beef.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gourmet_diner92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
247 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“A Taste of Japanese Authenticity”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I have been to Guu in Vancouver bit this is my first time to Guu in Toronto. A very different atmosphere...a little to loud and noisy! We need to shout in order to hear each other.
However, the food was great and the price was reasonable. You must come here to try it. It is not recommended for a big group cuz you may have to wait for a longer time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 2travelhonies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing cuisine and a fun night”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

If you haven't been here then "You have to eat here". The food are just simply amazing and match the energy of the restaurant. It's a fun date night place (but perhaps not for first date, the music is rather loud) and for food lovers to just have fun. We started with the specials, spicy octopus and fresh sweet shrimp cold dishes and the beef tounge taco. The shrimp stole the show, it's fresh with the taste of the ocean and the soy sauce dip enhances the sweetness of the shrimp.
We tried another 8 items from the menu and they were amazingly delicious. The black cod with miso and ponzu was great. The presentation was simple, crispy skin, firm and moist flesh while it is not sitting on a pool of sauce.
The scallop sashimi and the mackerel on sizzling plate were also great.
Do try the sake and if you're not an expert, our waiter was very helpful in their recommendation. We tried the 3 samplers option. We both liked the premium sake (cold) that they had. Clean, smooth with a hint of fruitiness and sweetness (very similar to a premium vodka but on the lighter note).
We will definitely go back to this place. Thanks guys!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
266 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant Bar Far.”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I have traveled the word and been to Culinary Art school at George Brown College, Guu Izakaya has been my favourite restaurant since i first tried it three years ago. My now Fiancee took me to Guu on our first date, I have always said the way to someones heart is there there stomach.
We have been here a dozen or so times and the food, atmosphere, service everything has always been top notch amazing. We always try new things on the menu and i have never once tried something i did not absolutely love.
They have a menu you can not find anywhere else but in Japan with an interesting diverse and new drink menu to match.
The staff is full of energy and every one of them will greet you as you enter and exit.
A must try.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissLaFlamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinka Izakaya Original also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Kinka Izakaya Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing