We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to go with few friends”

Kinka Izakaya Original
Ranked #84 of 8,439 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: An Izakaya is a Japanese-style pub and what we strive for at KINKA IZAKAYA is an authentic Izakaya with great food and drinks in an unique atmosphere. Our goal is to serve each and every one of our guests happiness as they experience a "truly authentic Japan".
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good place to go with few friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

When someone enters or exits the restaurant they are greeted by the entire staff you would think it gets annoying but I found it really cool and even tried to participate but I don’t speak a word of Japanese I just wanted to scream . This is a good place for group setting. The service is top notch anyone walking by your table will take you order, fill your water, pick up plates which made me want to tip better. The restaurant has very small portions but the menu isn’t to expensive. We were 4 people ordered 15 items from the menu few pitchers and it was around 40 each with tips my favorite was the raw octopus with wasabi.. Overall great experience would highly recommend it. Would go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Merchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    154
    35
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Totally agree...but wish they had an onsen!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Where to begin? I reviewed the most recent couple dozen Guu reviews and agreed with most of the comments: fun; noisy; welcoming; busy as hell; tasty food; small portions; now taking reservations (thank goodness); come early; pretty affordable; fast service; youth oriented (that's a relative observation!); and our daughter loves the joint ; and there is a smattering of tables for two (mostly hidden behind the coat racks). But I honestly can't say it's truly Japanese in character or taste. Too much sweet sauces so popular with Westerners. But the spinach in sorta miso/sesame sweet sauce was wonderful ! We'd go back but not until we chill with a more authentic omakase. My only reservation in submitting this review is that I hope our daughter doesn't read it 'cuz she loves Guu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank finicula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“As close to Kyoto food as I can get outside of Kyoto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We got a warm japanese cheer as we entered and exited the resturant. The service was excellent.

The food was delicious althought the desert portion ($4 for cheesecake) was very small.

However, I would return without a doubt!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeanneCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Go Guu-ing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Love GUU! my favs are the udon noodles, bibimbap and drinks. portions are not that big compared to north american standards but its filling for me.

Restaurant is noisy with long lineups but they are starting to accept reservations. Still, try to grab a table towards the beginning of the opening hours.

torontofoodie.net

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PrettyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Janpanese Tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went with the family (5) to Guu Izakaya and were not disappointed. It is definitely not a place if you want to talk business. The staff is pretty loud but enthusiastic starting with a yelled welcome by the entire staff (they do the same when you leave). I love the idea of the communal tables where you are almost "forced" to make conversation with total strangers. The food is tapas style and if you are with a large enough group you can get a taste of quite a variety of dishes. They have flyers with the daily specials, Some of my favorites were Udon Noodles with Spicy Roe, Sared BC Salmon, Sashimi Scallops and Grilled Beef Tongue. Altogether we paid around $150 for 5 adults which, I think, is quite reasonable. We will be back to try the rest of the menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinka Izakaya Original also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Kinka Izakaya Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing