We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cafe ala Europa”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Balzac's

Balzac's
Ranked #91 of 8,440 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Cafe ala Europa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Balzac's is a fine example of how cafes should look like. It optimizes the use of its setting and added a Euro touch to it.

The coffee and pastries are fresh and excellent. The accompaniment of these enjoyed in a historic location makes lounging that much more pleasurable.

It's time to savor the cup.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Euge289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    72
    18
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
659 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Try the Parisian tea latte”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

A great selection of coffee and tea drinks plus fantastic baked treats (peanut butter rice krispie squares!). The atmosphere and decor of Balza's in the Distillery District is superb.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“By far the best beans we have found.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and I are constantly on the hunt for great coffee beans and we have yet to find a brand more delicious than Balzacs. Unfortunately, the beans (similar to the coffee served in store) are rather pricey. On the plus side, this location is breathtaking in the winter in the distillery district - highly recommended for a winter date night!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travel_love988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Place for hedonists”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Come to enjoy and relax with great coffee in a beautiful café with a great atmosphere in Distillery District. Too bad, it closes at 11pm.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZuZuFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A delight to all of your senses!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I used to work in the distillery and my day was not complete without a visit to my favourite coffee boutique. The baristas truly appreciate a good brew. They also have many other delicious drinks (organic lemonade) and food to eat that will delight your taste buds. On top of that, the place is beautiful!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AudreyH19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balzac's also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Balzac's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing