We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When visiting the Distillery, take a break from Your Regular Tim Hortons fix”
Review of Balzac's

Balzac's
Ranked #106 of 8,477 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“When visiting the Distillery, take a break from Your Regular Tim Hortons fix”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Okay, okay, I must admit, I am a true Canadian - I LOVE MY TIM HORTONS coffee, but this was a really genuine coffee shop with an old time European feel. I love their business model and their charming decor. This is a must stop for your next visit to the Distillery area. They also have a spot at the trendy Liberty Village off King West and reported more to come downtown. Support this small business initiative, you will really enjoy the experience!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TObill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    73
    18
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“If you love coffee: you must visit”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a great coffee shop. The baristas know how to make good coffee, and they are very accommodating. Also the location of this place is great for enjoying a cup of coffee, whatever kind you prefer, outside or indoors. I went in June so I was able to sit outside there was live music in the Distillery area so it was a pleasant afternoon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAELOVES_TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, ON
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unique Toronto experience & location!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

When in the distillery district you need to go to Balzac's for great coffee and people watching. If you can sit outside, you can enjoy a truly great cup of coffee in a great atmosphere. Go on a week night and avoid the crowds!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mavi110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beats the others”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Excellent coffee compared to the big chains. I tried the Yonge location near Yorkville. Lots of tables, Yonge St view for people watching and right next to the library so you can catch up on your reading while you sip.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Muggette60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, average otherwise”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We've been to Balzac's many times, primarily because of its great location in the Distillery District, but we haven't been for a while and have lost interest. The coffee is average, the service is unremarkable and it is often crowded. Still, on the right day (when there aren't too many people) it can be a great place to sit and rest. I recommend taking your coffee upstairs ... if you can get a seat.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank edojidai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balzac's also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Balzac's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing