We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snooty staff - expensive coffee”
Review of Balzac's

Balzac's
Ranked #106 of 8,506 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
United States
Level Contributor
232 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Snooty staff - expensive coffee”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I'd gone to Balzacs many times after they first opened with friends that live in the area and stopped going because I found the staff very much thinking they were "above it all". If you think that staff that see you every day or several days a week would be pleasant and chatty, you'd be wrong.

We started going to a different place in the Distillery that has a better selection of sweets and sandwiches.

After a long absence I recently returned only to find that nothing has changed. Yes, it's a beautiful space, but for the money, I can get better coffee with less snobbery elsewhere.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank deruo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    74
    18
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nicest Coffee House I Have Ever Seen”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I love to go down to Balzacs in the morning and just take in the atmosphere. This is what coffee houses were supposed to be like.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Prettiest Cafe in Toronto”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Balzacs is an old world cafe, sitting in a historic building in The Distillery District. The coffee is great, but it is the setting that is worth the trip on its own.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank JaymieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
62 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice coffee stop in the Distillery”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The coffee is great, and the ambiance inside is fantastic. The setup for ordering coffee is a little awkward.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank normalguyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best coffee in town! Niagara-on-the-Lake”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Great location just across fron where the horse and carriages await there turn to take their next traveller ! The old train station is the beautiful balzac's yellow so you can't miss it! We like both the outdoor patio or sitting inside and having a good chatt with Maggie! We go because we can meet out neighbours but also a good venue for meeting business colleagues. Only problem is now they are serving treats from the pie plate oooohhh to good to resist!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CDNjwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balzac's also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Balzac's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing