We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique experience worth trying...”
Review of O.Noir

O.Noir
Ranked #286 of 8,575 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: ONoir, a unique restaurant based on Dine-in-the-dark concept and featuring vision-impaired servers.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A unique experience worth trying...”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We visited O.Noir on a Saturday night in October 2013. We made a reservation via email a couple of nights before and we had no problems reserving a seat. We arrived around the time the doors opened, and we were escorted to the bar and lounge area to order our meal. We decided on the salad and grilled vegetables for starters and the filet mignon for dinner. Our waitress, Diana, was very friendly. She came to check on us a few times. The food was fairly quick to come. The starters were simply OK, but the filet mignon was quite tasty and surprisingly large for what you would expect. While I will agree that the meal itself was quite pricey for what it was, the experience was totally unique and is something that I would recommend to anybody looking for a new dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anywherebuthere04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    127
    52
    24
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and experience - beware of 18% gratuities added to bill”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Pros:
- Great experience
- Great food
- Great service (waitress)

Cons:
- Staff at checkout seemed unfriendly and added 18% gratuities without our consent

We went to this restaurant a couple of weeks ago. We were a group of four. We found the experience of eating in absolute darkness unique and recommend it to others to try it at least once.

We actually found the food, despite some other reviews, to be really good. Our waitress was friendly and did a great job serving us in absolute darkness.

When we were leaving to pay our bill we were kind of disappointed at the staff working at the checkout. In the menu it was specified that 15% gratuities are added to the bill for a group of 6 or more. However they charged us 18% gratuities. On top of that, despite of us having a groupon they added 18% gratuities to the full amount and not the discounted amount which is against the terms specified by groupon. The staff was rolling their eyes just because we were reviewing the bill. We don't mind giving 18% or more in tip if the service is justified but we should be allowed to choose the amount on our own. It's the principle that matters hence the low rating.

Either way, we recommend the experience to others. Just be aware of the 18% gratuities they automatically add. I'm sure you can refuse to pay that, we didn't want to make a scene and didn't argue with them about it. Maybe that's what they are going for but that means that they are trying to rip you off.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Nima G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Went in October 2013 on a week day. Made reservation by e-mail the night before the dinner with no problems. Located just northwest of Church & Wellseley. If walking north on Church you may pass it without noticing it. If walking down from Bloor you will see it on the right side of the street. It is downstairs underground. The place seemed to attract people of all types, all ages and backgrounds, friends, families and dates. The experience started by selecting your meal and drinks and notifying them of any allergies. I had the surprise starter, main course and desert. Once selected your party is guided to the door where a server will approach with a short speech and some instructions followed by your party making a "train" walking into the dark room by holding onto the shoulder of the person in front of you. Once seated you are instructed about where everything is.The starter was some Avacados with Tomatoes and dried fruit. No lettuce in this salad, only dressing. Nobody seemed to care for it. The main course was roast beef with gravy, mashed potatoes and asparagus, which was delicious. The desert seemed like some store bought apple crisp pie. The food was rather mediocre. Expect to use your fingers. The dining area is very loud. Servers are great. Considering how much they likely saved on their electricity bill, it was rather expensive but great for a one time visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brandkwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sitting in the dark eating mediocre food and pay a small fortune”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Hated it.
Sure. Good experience. But I'm not one to pay exorbitant amount for a meal that's pretty bland. Small portions and without ambience.
The place felt dingy and smelled like cheap bathroom fragrance . No luxurious or tactile to introduce new senses.. Just felt like an old banquet hall with cheap surroundings and cheaply made food. If one is to experience visually impairment.. Then perhaps including more 'experiences' like brail menus for touch.. background sounds for sound.
Really.. This was just eating in the dark. What a stupid gimmicky brain washing experience this turned out to be.
I'd like to say ' open ur eyes ppl.. Ur getting milked to sit in the dark '

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodieyumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bad in so many ways. Rude unhelpful staff”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Was at O'Noir yesterday with friends. When we were seated, I felt my chair was ripped right across on the side. The waiter never came to our table to replenish the water or check if everything is okay. And it wasn't okay. My friend ordered pasta with vegetables, but had no vegetables on her plate. Because you cannot see, you don't know if the waitress is around. I ordered vegetable stir-fry and received green beans stir-fry with a couple of overcooked pepper and broccoli pieces.
When we went out to pay, the girl accepting the payment said "How was your experience? Tell me, tell me, don't be weird". Such an unacceptable thing to say. At as pricey restaurant as this, I'd expect more respect for guests. After learning about our experience, we were still charged the above-the-guideline tip which were already included in the bill. It is very unfair to decide for your guest on the amount of tip. Will not come back and will share my experience with everyone. Not cool to take advantage when the guests cannot see what they are getting. This restaurant is not interested in providing exceptional service or being fair to guests. Just a pretentious place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena_And
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O.Noir also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to O.Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing