We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Acceptable but hardly four stars” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Ranked #27 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Acceptable but hardly four stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2008

Used to live in Toronto for ten years and always wanted to stay at the SkyDome Hotel, but never had an occasion to do so.

Flew into the Island Airport (highly recommended!) to meet up with an old friend who was in town for a few days, and needed a conveniently-located place to crash. Took a chance booking through Hotwire and ended up with this hotel for just under $100 US, everything in. A short walk from from the airport and the entertainment district, and a slightly longer walk to the financial district.

The hotel is much like the stadium that it forms part of - well past its glory days but acceptable and perfectly functional. There were few staff on hand but all that we dealt with (check-in, concierge, lobby bartender) were all friendly and helpful.

Room was clean and comfortable, bathroom was particularly nice - faux marble but really large, and the beds were comfortable. Note that most of the rooms look over the Canadian National rail line and during the day there is a fair amount of noise from the commuter trains (GO Transit).

All in all, under the circumstances I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank roadwarrior4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    667
    258
    89
    43
See reviews for
437
542
92
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hamilton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2008

The room,lobby and staff are above average.Location is one of the best!!! But the pool was below average. Water drips from the ceiling on your head constantly (no vent or fan system), some areas are actually moldy.
Also, from the elevator to our room was about a 2 block walk.They keep the second set of elevators on service (would have saved us all that walking).
We all agreed that if we ever get this hotel again,we would ask for a room closer to the elevator and none of us would take our swimsuits.

  • Liked — rooms and lobby area
  • Disliked — the pool was not nice and too far of a walk to our room from the elevators that were running
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank happyrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2008

I can't believe Priceline rated this 4 stars (their top rating)--it is a giant bus station of a hotel. The only positive is that the room I was in was palatial. But the room was dingy, the lobby stark and the crowds noisy.Empty beer bottles in the elevator, cigarette butts and ashes in the stairwell. The whole place felt soiled and gone to seed. I haven't paid for in-room computer service in a couple of years-- I was bummed they charge for this about $13 plus tax! If I were here to watch baseball, I would tolerate it perhaps--otherwise I will be wary of Priceline. Also, parking was a total nightmare. You take a confusing ride around the block "3 lefts and a right" and then worm your way underground to find the hotel's purple area-- which was blocked off with trash cans because it was full. Had to deal with gruff parking attendant who directed me to an impossibly tight spot and disappeared. Then had to lug stuff around underground to make my way to the hotel's elevator since I wasn't able to park in the hotel spots. Hardly a four star experience!

  • Liked — Big room
  • Disliked — Beer bottles in elevators and dingy old decor
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank topothemorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2008

Recieved a good deal on this hotel and was surprised by the room I received. Nice lobby, friendly staff.. The hallways seemed like they could use some improvement (didn't have a 'nice hotel' feel).. A good location but the self parking was a little tricky.. This hotel is even better of course if you plan to spend time around the Rogers Center, ACC or CNTower. Everything is walkable, but if you plan to spend alot of time shopping, a hotel a little more uptown could be better for you. I would recommend and definately would stay again.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank TakeOffEh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORF
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2008

The hotel is located in downtown with a walking distance to major attractions.
When we arrived to the hotel we were given a small smokey room. After spending some time in the reception, they agreed to change it to something more descent. One of the cool things about it is that you can see the stadium from their restaurant, so if you're a sport fan, this is the place for you!
Overall, pretty average experience.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service and quality of some of the rooms
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blackrose77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2008

The renaissance downtown is great if you want to see a Blue Jays game. Otherwise I think you can do better. Our room smelled musty, the toilet was tricky, but everything was clean and neat. I do think that wireless internet should come free, which it doesn't at this hotel. i have stayed at small b&b's that offer free wireless internet, you're telling me that this place can't?

The bar with the view of the stadium was cool and is definately worth a look. The front desk staff all were very nice and helpful w/ good restaurant suggestions and they helped us to get a reservation for lunch at the CN Tower.

If I go back to Toronto, which would only be for a game, I would probably try another property.

  • Liked — The fact that it was attached to the Rogers Centre.
  • Disliked — Musty smelling room, ac not working,trick toilet, no free internet
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yankees21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earlton, Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2008

This was actually my first experience with hotwire. I was very nervous about it, and when i found out hat i was staying at the renaissance, I could hardly believer it. Seeing as though i was a tad naiive about the whole hotwire thing, I called the renaissance to confirm my reservation the next day, and I was told that all was good, and that my room was all set.

The location itself was fantastic. They have valet parking, but to save some money, drive your own car to the underground lot. It is very easy to get to, just follow the valet's instructions. Basically, all you do is turn left coming out of the entrence, follow that road until you hit a stop sign. Turn left again and look for the sign. It is right across the street from a huge video store. I am sure you can guess which one.

This hotel is situated smack dab in the heart of the city. It was a 5 minute walk to the ACC a,d a short cab drive or walk from the heart of downtown. PERFECT!

We were given a city view room which was fine, as there was no events at the rogers center that weekend. I do recommend taking the rogers center tour though, as it was very interesting, and relatively cheap.

We got a standard room that was absolutely perfect. The washroom itself was one of the nicest i have ever seen in a hotel.

If you are looking to book a trip to enjoy the city, then look no further than this gem. Mind you, I am sure all the 4 star hotels in the city have their own pros and cons.

  • Liked — The location, the beautiful room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaudzrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#30 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,166 reviews
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#21 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Toronto
#20 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#29 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel. You set the pace at our Toronto downtown hotel's accommodations. We are a boutique hotel in Toronto that has 348 guest rooms and guest suites, with all of the amenities and services for excellence on a stay in Toronto - including a Lobby Lounge, Club Lounge, Starbucks Coffee, on-site restaurant, and indoor pool. We will follow your lead and meet your every need, whether you have come to out city to get work done or explore. Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel offers a fantastic destination in the heart of Toronto, close to Rogers Center, CN Tower, and Air Canada Center in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing