We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Wonderful Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel
Ranked #30 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I had stayed at this hotel before so was looking forward to a return visit. I was upgraded to a suite which was very nice and roomy. Although, in retrospect, I believe I like the regular rooms with the view of the baseball field better. The suite had a sitting area but no TV in that vicinity which would have been welcome. Also, there seemed to be problems with the digital TV signal as some stations were problematic. My room was also a long walk from the elevator which is a pain if you're dragging a suitcase. I also felt that the hotel showed a little age this year on the carpets which I did not notice last year. The restaurant is still excellent. Due to the weather, I stayed in both nights I was there and had dinner and the food was great. Since I'm a Marriott frequent guest, my wifi was comped but I believe it normally does carry a charge. The best thing about this hotel is the location, it is right downtown next to the CN tower and the convention center. I will definitely return to this hotel on my next trip to Toronto.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv2g0lf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,964)
There are newer reviews for Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,052 - 1,058 of 1,964 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

Maintenance staff came slamming on our door in the morning, because apparently our shower was leaking. The maintenance guy even tried to enter the bathroom while someone was in the shower.

After we talked to management,they told us we could shower in a USED room that was still dirty and had other people's garbage in it.

After we complained, they let us use a shower 7 floors down.

After we complained again about the experience to the to management they were rude and threatening.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jon2267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTO, Director of Room Operations at Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for your review Jon2267. I have had time to research your concerns. Before having all of the details, I was in disbelief that we would send a guest to a room that had not been cleaned, in order to get refreshed. It seems this was a misunderstanding.

Our Engineering Team had propped doors to vacant rooms open to investigate a source of a leak appearing in the hallway below your room. As was determined in their investigation, the leak originated from your bathroom. In propping the doors nearby open, it was not intended that your party should use these rooms to refresh. The Manager on Duty offerred a clean room on an alternate floor, which was available immediately. I apologize that there was not a clean room nearby for you to use, and for any misunderstanding.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate all feedback.

Regards,
Andrea Copeland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

First time staying at the Renaissance in Toronto. Everyone was fantastic and the room was a nice size. The Hotel was a perfect choice for us as we were able to park our vehicle when we got there on Friday and left it parked until we left on Sunday. We were able to walk or take the Subway to all the places we wanted to see. Only thing that would have made the trip better would have been to get a room that looks out into Rogers Centre so we could watch the Monster Jam setup from our room, so instead, we sat in the restaurant a lot.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brigitte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Have stayed at the Renaissance in Toronto on several occasions. The service is excellent and the rooms are comfortable. The hotel is adjacent to the baseball stadium and convenient to downtown activities, especially the Convention Centre. For Marriott frequent guests there is a fine lounge that is more open and less confined than those found in many other locations. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ezra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We often stay at this hotel when we go to Toronto, maybe 3-5 times a year. We are reward members and the last two times we have been, we have been surprisingly upgraded (free) to incredible rooms that we would not have booked ourselves as they are out of our price-range! Coincidentally, the same girl did that for us on both occasions - Alexia (managers, are you paying attention?). She was wonderful as were all of the staff. The hotel is clean, quiet (no one making noise in the hallways in the morning), comfortable and fun. Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTO, Director of Room Operations at Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Ethercats,
Thank you for submitting your review. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback; especially when it pertains to guest service. I am not at all surprised to hear that Alexia took great care of you during your stay. She truly is an asset to the hotel. I am pleased that she was able to assign you a room upgrade that exceeded your expectations. When available, we love to do this for our guests. We hope that you will be returning soon.
Regards,
Andrea Copeland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Wonderful experience; fabulous service and amazing location. Room was clean, bright with a modern décor. The service from check-in to check-out was exemplary. The entire family loved the location: CN Tower, Rogers Centre, Ripley's Aquarium, theatres, restaurants; something for everyone. We will definitely be revisiting.

Room Tip: Try and get a field view room... even if there's no event, nifty and unique to see.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Great hotel; great service; great location. You'll love it!! We stayed in a suite, which was very nice. It had tonnes of space, and the bed was super comfortable. The only thing is that the bedroom is open to the living area, so if someone is watching TV in the living room, the sound does travel easily into the bedroom. But, this was minor for us as we there as a couple. If you were staying with kids, I would make sure that you have 'bedrooms that are entirely separate' from the rest of the space. Very conveniently located and right on the Skydome. Excellent value.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing the CN tower, which was perfectly fine for us. Cannot comment other than...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chilliwackchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTO, Director of Rooms Operations at Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Chilliwackchick,
Thank you for submitting your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have an assortment of room options to choose from to meet the needs of all of our guests. I am pleased that you found your room to be spacious and comfortable.
We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Best Regards,
Andrea Copeland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#9 of 137 in Toronto
784 reviews
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel

Address: 1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada (Formerly Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Toronto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#21 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#29 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $171 - $682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to announce our transformation from Renaissance Toronto Downtown to Toronto Marriott City Centre, and will continue to make enhancements to the hotel in Fall & Winter 2017/18. Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity at Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel. You set the pace at our Toronto downtown hotel's accommodations. We are a boutique hotel in Toronto that has 348 guest rooms and guest suites, with all of the amenities and services for excellence on a stay in Toronto - including a Lobby Lounge, Club Lounge, Starbucks Coffee, on-site restaurant, and indoor pool. We will follow your lead and meet your every need, whether you have come to our city to get work done or explore. Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel offers a fantastic destination in the heart of Toronto, close to Rogers Center, CN Tower, and Air Canada Center in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing