We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business trip made outstanding by excellent staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Ranked #29 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Business trip made outstanding by excellent staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

I do a regular (twice a year) business trip to Toronto and always stay at the Renaissance. The Hotel has everything I need for a business trip, great beds which make for an excellent nights sleep, plenty of room to relax, comfortable baths. As usual they delivered on these but what is outstanding is their staff! Everyone who works there is outstanding, helpful and friendly. It's like home from home and made the business trip seem like a holiday! Great place to stay and a big thank you to all the staff, especially to Terri, Katrina and the rest of the team when I had breakfast.

Room Tip: People look for rooms facing the dome but they work either way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueman102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    674
    259
    90
    45
See reviews for
447
547
93
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days in early December while in Toronto for work. Hotel is located in the Rogers Centre which worked out well as I was attending the Bills/Falcons game on the Sunday.

Staff was very good and I was able to check into my room at 7am as I came in early on a redeye. Was told I could wait for my upgraded suite or they would find me an alternative room to check in immediately. Was still upgarded to a larger room which worked well to have friends over before and after the game.

Rooms have been upgraded and are very clean, staff is very friendly and have no problem going out of their way to ensure your stay is excellent. Nice lounge breakfast every morning and even provided a coupon for breakfast on the Sunday morning I checked in was a nice touch.

Room service is decent and what you would come to expect, although it does have a ballpark aspect to it for those who have visitors and rooms with a view of the field.

Great stay and would not hesitate to use this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stinger55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Ontario
Level Contributor
103 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed here for one-night in mid-December. During baseball season, I'm sure this place is a lot of fun, especially the rooms with stadium views. This hotel is attached to the Rogers Centre (old Skydome) with spacious rooms that could use a refresh on wallpaper and office chairs, to start. The gym is very good, front desk staff very helpful and they even had a scotch tasting at 6pm the night I arrived. The bar -- off to one side of the lobby -- is a happening spot and it seems to attract consistent guests with a knowledgable bar staff. While off the beaten Universtiy Avenue path, this location is right along Front Street (basically), and a stones throw from the MTCC, CBC HQ and a short walk or cab ride to the theatre district.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WJR-041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We had a great room and it was very quiet. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We had the breakfast buffet and loved it. We definitely recommend this hotel. It's in a great location - so close to all the action!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTO, Director of Room Operations at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you JulesRussell for your rave review. We appreicate all of your positive feedback. I will be sure to pass it along to our team. We hope that you will return soon.
Best Regards,
Andrea Copeland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

My Fiancée and I took our daughter to see "Cirque du Soleil's Amaluma for her birthday (October 2012). We were at this hotel for the weekend.

THE ROOM: We were pleasently surprised at the size of the room we had. It was larger than most one-bedroom apartments I've had! It had a large tv, king size bed for my Fiancée and I ... and a queen side sofa bed pull out for our daughter. The room was nice and clean. The windows were so long and wide and allowed lots of outdoor light into the room. The huge blinds were opened and closed the same way as power windows in your car. And what do we see when these awesome blinds are open ... the CN Tower right in front of us! The hotel is attached to the Skydome. Please note that the bathroom as was simply humongous!

SHOPPING: Of course no trip to Toronto is complete without a little shopping right. Eaton Centre was really close.

NEGATIVE: The only negative aspect from our stay there was breakfast at the stadium. It was $22 per person ... and there was nothing happening in the stadium where the restaurant overlooked.

SUMMARY: The great room and the courteous/friendly staff made up for it. All in all it was a great experience. Next time we are in Toronto, we will most definitely book there.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stepher1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
197 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Excellent location! A 5 minute walk to the Ripley's Aquarium, CN Tower and many other attractions. My room was quite a hike from the elevator. They seem to know this at the front desk and did warn me. Not all the room are like this obviously. The rooms here are large - I have stayed here multiple times and all the rooms I have had are large. The beds are very comfortable. There was some minor maintenance issues in my room this time - loose tap and door knob on the bathroom. I find that kind of thing unacceptable because it is obvious and easy to fix. Overall the location is super, beds comfy, and I will continue to stay at this hotel particularly with friends due to the size of rooms. I have not eaten here at all.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask how far your room is from the elevator if you want to minimize your weaving through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaboda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had a faultless weekend. I requested a quiet room away from the elevators and got a room 2nd from the end which was great. Wonderful large room with picture windows looking right out at the CN Tower and Ripleys Aquarium. I also really enjoyed the jetted tub. We had a kingsize room and the bed was huge. The staff were all polite and courteous. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and we will be returning.

Room Tip: If you request a quiet room away from the elevators be aware that it is a very long walk to the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTO, Director of Room Operations at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Sweetpea127,
Thank you for your kind words. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the room that you stayed in, and that our team took excellent care of you during your stay. While some of our hallways may be longer than others, the rooms at the end are very spacious and have a great view of some of our favorite attractions. I hope that you will return again soon.
Regards,
Andrea Copeland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#30 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,213 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Toronto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#21 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#29 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel. You set the pace at our Toronto downtown hotel's accommodations. We are a boutique hotel in Toronto that has 348 guest rooms and guest suites, with all of the amenities and services for excellence on a stay in Toronto - including a Lobby Lounge, Club Lounge, Starbucks Coffee, on-site restaurant, and indoor pool. We will follow your lead and meet your every need, whether you have come to out city to get work done or explore. Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel offers a fantastic destination in the heart of Toronto, close to Rogers Center, CN Tower, and Air Canada Center in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing