We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In and out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel
Ranked #30 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a great night in Toronto Aug 30 starting with a stay at this property. We have stayed here before, but this time had the best room to date. Upgraded to the club floor, and eventhough the club lounge was closed, we received cont breakfast for 2. The room was very big, but the bathroom was huge complete with 2 sinks, corner shower, and jacuzzi tub. We checked in very quickly, and the place was busy. We had room service after our concert served warm and tasty. This hotel was the best price of the Marriotts downtown, although the CAA rate here once provided 48$ food and beverage voucher. We were not offered that this time. This should have been noted ahead of time, but that certainly didnt detract from the lovely room we had. 1 night not enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Argofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,995)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,181 - 1,187 of 1,995 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel is literally inside the Blue Jays baseball stadium, which is great if you're a baseball fan. Even if you aren't a fan, it's near the lakefront and close to everything. Great gym in the hotel too!
One negative; I'm a Marriott Platinum Elite member and was given a room on The "club level", which is surprisingly not as nice as the non-club levels. Also, we ordered room service and afterwards put the empty tray in hall. It wasn't picked up for two days (after I called housekeeping)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I booked the Renaissance Hotel through Hotwire and paid $131 per night. What a great location! It is literally next to Rogers Stadium and the CN tower. It's also right near the harbor front and a short walk to King Street , the area where you can find theaters and many good restaurants. The rooms in the Rennaisance are spacious as well as the well appointed bathrooms. The beds are very comfortable as well. My only complaint was that for a four star hotel, they could have softer towels. The towels were ribbed and very rough. The indoor pool and jacuzzi were a welcome respite after a long day of touring.

Room Tip: We were lucky to get it on Hotwire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikkala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I got a good deal at this hotel for 2 nights via Priceline.

This hotel is attached to the Rogers Center in downtown Toronto. I was travelling by train and it was also very convenient as it is close to the VIA Rail Union station. There are 2 subway stations walking distance from this hotel, Union station and St-Andrew. But they are not that close, so wear comfy shoes to walk to them and back.

I arrived at 2PM but my room was ready. I got a very nice room, split-level overlooking the stadium. Unfortunately, nothing was taking place during the 2 days I was there. There was a large bathroom all in white marble, a cozy king bedroom with a good size flat TV on the lower level and a large living room on the upper level with its own large flat TV, Keurig coffee maker, sofa and tables. The room was very comfortable and quiet.

I had lunch, breakfast and drinks one evening at the hotel Aurora restaurant, overlooking the football field. It was excellent service each time. The food was tasty and well presented. I asked the waitress what she would recommend and she suggested the fish sandwich. This was not your typical fish sandwich: It was fresh and fancy. Their breakfast buffet is also excellent and has a lot of selection. If you want to eat out, there is a good Cora close by and all the great little restaurants on King and Queen.

The bell boys were cheerful and helpful. They worked hard trying to get me a cab one evening. Front desk was always helpful although not as cheerful as the other staff around the hotel.

My chambermaid was a doll. Very sweet and allowed me to stay in the room as she cleaned so we chatted a little and she gave me some good directions on how to get to a place.

Overall, a great stay here and I would recommend. It was not the best location for me, as I prefer a hotel that is very close to a subway station. I prefer something more central like near the Eaton Center.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Let me start by saying the service and people that work at this hotel were very good, the view from the room was fantastic that is all I can really say good. Very old hotel that needs to be updated the room I was in was $ 509 dollars a night there best room so you can view the inside of the stadium. In my estimate the room price was 400 dollars for view 109 for the rest of the room. Wi fi was terrible I could only get it from lobby, there was a broken piece of marble in the bathroom which was patched with a different color. The toilet you had to hold the handle to flush for 30 seconds otherwise nothing went down the drain. The lights in the bathroom over the sink were very dim and it was hard to shave.
For a Marriott I was very disappointed because this is not Marriott quality but I realize I purchased the view!!!

I had buffet breakfast in the lobby restaurant which was ok 2 people buffet 54 dollars eggs bacon,sausage waffle french toast an omelette station and cold items with fruit.

Drinks in the bar were ok 3 rum and comes and a hamburger 50 dollars

I won't not go back there and would only recommend it to someone who can get tickets to a game and it is a must see game.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you have room that opens up to the field- there is nothing like it! We were ecstatic at the room and watched some of the game, saw the team practice, watched the dome open and close...really cool! Staff could not be nicer and more helpful...easy walk to to center of Toronto and the city is growing....we really enjoyed Toronto and this hotel made the difference...

Room Tip: Try for a room that opens to field...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathi r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel itself is nothing special if you already have tickets to the game. The short walk is a convenience but you are paying for it! There are lots of other hotels within the area that offer more for less.
Amenities were ok, the rooms clean. Nothing is complementary..not even a bottle of water.
I've been to a few hotels in the Toronto area and put this one towards the bottom.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa61161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 137 in Toronto
3,657 reviews
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#32 of 137 in Toronto
2,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel

Address: 1-1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada (Formerly Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Toronto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#21 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#29 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $131 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to announce our transformation from Renaissance Toronto Downtown to Toronto Marriott City Centre, and will continue to make enhancements to the hotel in Fall & Winter 2017/18. Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity at Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel. You set the pace at our Toronto downtown hotel's accommodations. We are a boutique hotel in Toronto that has 348 guest rooms and guest suites, with all of the amenities and services for excellence on a stay in Toronto - including a Lobby Lounge, Club Lounge, Starbucks Coffee, on-site restaurant, and indoor pool. We will follow your lead and meet your every need, whether you have come to our city to get work done or explore. Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel offers a fantastic destination in the heart of Toronto, close to Rogers Center, CN Tower, and Air Canada Center in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, SAS Ticati.COM, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing