We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Ranked #28 of 131 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I truly enjoyed this hotel. The location is excellent, so convenient to all the local attractions. The staff was exscellent,very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and clean and spacious. I strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    647
    251
    87
    43
See reviews for
421
532
91
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was our third time staying at the Renaissance, and we have a blast when we come for baseball games. We love the rooms that face the field, since you feel like your room is your own private suite in the stadium. The rooms are clean, the hotel staff are incredibly friendly and efficient, and the food is great. We also love the buffet breakfast downstairs at Arriba. It's a great spot for a "staycation" if you're into sports/entertainment, and we plan on visiting again soon!

Room Tip: If you like being part of the action, then the field view rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisricc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We recently stayed here for a Blue Jays game.
Upon our arrival, the room wasn't ready but the nice lady at the desk phoned up to housekeeping and it was cleaned within 1.5 hrs while we waited in the lobby.
Being our anniversary, my boyfriend requested a special room in advance. While a field room was not available, we were given a very nice and spacious corner room complete with two TV's, a separate seating area and a boardroom table! Our bathroom came with a jacuzzi tub and shower with double sinks. We were blown away.
The room was clean and, surprisingly, quiet despite the number of other young Blue Jays fans staying at the hotel.
We had a great time here and would definitely recommend to friends and family. We will be returning. Our only complaint was that our room was located so far away from an elevator and we were unable to find ice machines.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nursemack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Recently stayed at renaissance. It was a special occasion for us and the hotel provided a free upgrade. We arrived at 11 am and our room was not ready. We were offered a standard room if we didnt want to wait. but was assured there was going to be a suite ready in one hour.
We waited the hour and our room was ready as promised.
The room was very nice and large. There was quite a walk from the elevator to the room. but it was worth the walk.
The hotel staff was very friendly.
i would definitely recommend this hotel. it is in a great location. very convenient if you are watching a jays game.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank king_chris11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The front staff were very helpfully and the room was clean. The parking is confusing, but we got it sorted out. Easy access to downtown Toronto. We had a great time, probably helped that there was no game.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was pleased with my stay at this hotel. It was not as superb as my expectations are for Renaissance hotels. But, this is a very good hotel,but, it does need an update. But, our room was comfortable. The staff was great. The restaurant was quite enjoyable, especially the view. I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed at this hotel to go to 2 Blue Jays games on a Fri-Sat. Booked well ahead of time and asked for a quiet room as I know there are people there to see ball games. We were given a room on the 1st floor and pretty much near the elevator. There was a party on our floor that was incredibly loud and vulgar, 2 calls to the front desk did nothing, they really didnt care. Beds were old and creaky, did not sleep much at all. Heater/AC/Fan did not work at all. Bathroom was ok but could be updated. Pool and fitness area was 5 star and very enjoyable. As for parking, was told it was 24 hours for $20. Upon checkout i was advised that if i left after 1:00pm it would be another $10. Was not too pleased. We were overall not happy with this hotel and it doesnt take much to satisfy us. Internet cost was high, signal was very low anyways. Didnt pay it. Although very close to Rogers Centre we will never stay here again. Too many better options in downtown TO.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTO, Director of Room Operations at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Paul J,
Thank you for your detailed review. I apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. This is never our intention. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay further with you. Please email me at fo@renaissancetoronto.com with your contact information.
Best Regards,
Andrea Copeland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#30 of 131 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,030 reviews
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#25 of 131 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Address: 1-1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Toronto
#20 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#29 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity. You set the pace at the Renaissance Toronto Hotel Downtown. This 348-room hotel has the amenities and service excellence for following your lead and meeting your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing