We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A reasonably nice stay....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Ranked #28 of 131 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A reasonably nice stay....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Reserved room online, found reduced rate, room was reasonable for the price at reduced rate. I would recommend checking to see of there is a concert at the Rogers Centre prior to booking or you will be part of the concert whether or not you physically attend. Fortunately we were out most of the night and did not have to put up with more than two hours of the concert at the Rogers Centre. We wish this would have been noted at their Website when booking. Recommend calling first to ensure there are no surprises of this nature.

The hotel staff were excellent at trying to accommodate putting us in a room farthest from the noise. There were a lot of concert party-goers staying at the hotel. Even though it was noisy at times it did not last long. We were able to get a quiet sleep.

Hotel was okay for the price for downtown Toronto, rooms are quite dated. New TV and amenities were more than adequate, not worth full price in our opinion.

Found the beds rather soft and a few back pains in the morning. Maybe we should have asked for a room with firmer beds.

Overall cleanliness was good and room was tidy even though a bit small for this price range....again they put us in a room so we had limited exposure to the concert and party-goers.

Room Tip: Check to see if concert or event at Rogers Centre, ask to be put in room furthest from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cureeus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    647
    251
    87
    43
See reviews for
421
532
91
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
226 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

The hotel doesn't have a tonne of character or charm (it's a hotel in a stadium) but it's a legit 4*. Our room was unexpectedly large - pretty sure it must have been an upgrade. The odd thing about the hotel (not a problem, just unusual) is that the hallways are crazy long and zig and zag a lot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WmFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I expected the hotel to be above average given its location in Toronto. Although clean, it seemed very dated for me. The rooms were large but they need to be modernized. Staff was pleasant and helpful at check-in. Valet was convenient. Nothing "wrong" with hotel but definitely nothing special. Obviously great location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel is by far my favourite downtown Toronto place to stay...the staff are more than accomodating and the hotel is well kept with many spacious rooms and suites....It must be a great place to work as over the past 8 years the staff has more less remained the same....and in this day and age, there seems to be much staff turnover..but not here....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jendaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I had two excellent recent experiences at the Renaissance downtown. A business lunch on January 31st and family reunion dinner on February 4th. I also stayed overnight at the hotel Feb 4-5th. with breakfast on the 5th. I had first class service from the moment I walked through the door. Valet parking and check in on the 4th was fast and efficient. The three meals all very different but excellent value. Service from the check-in, the waiters and the overall cheerfulness of all the staff was a pleasure. My room was perfect, warm, clean and tidy. Internet service fast and reliable. My check out was similarly efficient and timely valet service for my car with a smile. THANK you and I look forward to a return visit during the baseball season.

Room Tip: I had room on the north side and had no complaints, but during the baseball season I will book a sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canuck035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Toronto Renaissance for our anniversary and to attend a concert at the ACC. We were very disappointed with the hotel. We were found the decor and furnishings very tired and lacking appeal. The bathroom was dirty, outdated, even the round/worn tap knobs were a challenge to operate. The HVAC was noisy and could not be regulated. Even the coffee cups were paper rather than ceramic or glass. The vending machines were not working properly and amenities were far less than convenient. Access to the Internet also required a call to learn as a Rewards member, how we have to first accept a usage fee to be later reversed; how unnecessarily complicated. I would neither recommend to others or stay there again until it's updated or improved. The staff were pleasant but seemed disengaged and didn't offer information until they were asked. Overall this was very disappointing I'm sorry to say and not what I wold expect from a Marriott.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a nicer room, I'd hate to have seen a standard room! The bed was nice as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxFubar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTO, Director of Room Operations at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear MaxFubar,
Thank you for your review. Your feedback is very important to us. I apologize that your stay did not measure up to your expectations. That is never our intention. I have relayed your comments to the appropriate department heads for investigation and follow up.
We are anticipating changes in the decor and design to come, and hope that you will try us again in the future. We are conveniently located near to the ACC.
Best Regards,
Andrea Copeland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bancroft, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We came in to Toronto on the train the morning of the February 8th 2013 blizzard. We were able to get almost all of the way to this hotel out of the weather by taking the Skywalk. Although we were arriving at 11 AM we were able to check into our rooms without delay. This hotel is nicely located to the all of the major attractions in downtown Toronto, the CN Tower, Toronto Convention Centre and the Entertainment district are all within steps of hotel door and The Rogers Centre (Skydome) is actually attached to the hotel with some rooms giving views of the playing surface. Reasonably priced for Toronto as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveandSharon766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#30 of 131 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#24 of 131 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Address: 1-1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Toronto
#20 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#29 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity. You set the pace at the Renaissance Toronto Hotel Downtown. This 348-room hotel has the amenities and service excellence for following your lead and meeting your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing