We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel
Ranked #30 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2012

My husband and i stayed here for one night. The guy at the front desk who checked us in was courteous and professional. He gave us a room on the 4th floor with a view of the stadium and we loved it. The room was clean and inviting. We were especially pleased with the comfort of the bed, pillows and comforter. We ate at the Arriba restaurant but didn't like the food even though the service was great. Overall we were very pleased with our stay until checkout the next day. Apparently, due to road closures for a big game we were told we had to wait in the lobby for 30mins for our car from valet. 30min? We expressed that they could have at least put a note under the door (as they sliped the bill under) to let us know in advance and the guy at the front desk told us that valet parking was not a part of the hotel. Talk about not wanting to take responsibility. What turned things around though was the fact that as we were waiting, the same guy (front desk) asked us if we would like complimentary coffee while we waited. We accepted tea and was served by a waiter from the restaurant. This small service gesture made a big difference as it turned our frown into a smile.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTO, Director of Room Operations at Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear J G,
Thank you for your positive review. We appreciate your time. I am pleased that the bedding in the room provided for a comfortable sleep and that all of our team took excellent care of you during your stay. I am sorry to hear about your departure experience. We continue to work with Rogers Centre Parking regarding communications around special events.
Happy Holidays.
Andrea Copeland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,961)
There are newer reviews for Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,359 - 1,365 of 1,962 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

I coordinated and attended a business meeting at this hotel a couple of times. The service from start to finish was FANTASTIC! The staff thought of everything and the meetings went without any problems.

The rooms are great for downtown Toronto! I did hear some complaints about the noise from the trains although it didn't bother me at all.

The location is great as well and the cost is cheaper than other downtown Toronto hotels.

Great experience in general.

Room Tip: 10th floor, 1035 is fantastic!!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTRWAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTO, Director of Room Operations at Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear KTRWAnderson:

Thank you for submitting a review following your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that the location of the hotel met your needs, that the room you stayed in exceeded your expectations, and that your meetings were a success. That is everything we could wish for.

We hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
Andrea Copeland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place is the greatest! The staff are all pleasant and accommodating to the point of the doorman printing me out brand new directions to get home to the States when I left. Wow, the check in was smooth, the meals were excellent, the room was spotless, and I could have stayed in that fantastic shower ALL day!!! I just can't say enough positive things about this place. It was a great meeting place for me to see my niece and her new husband! It was comfortable in the room for us to visit before going out. We could walk to the clubs and bars. The theater district is very close. I happened to be on the train side of the hotel and I loved it because I find that very relaxing, some may not.
I guess my only complaint was finding the place but that wasn't the hotel's fault, the city is pretty torn up right now so that doesn't make finding things too easy!

Room Tip: If you don't like trains don't get a room that would be on the 261 side. The view is nothing...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willoughby117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTO, Director of Room Operations at Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Willoughby117,
Thank you for the rave review. We are so pleased that the hotel met all of your needs and proved to be an ideal location to meet up with your niece and her new husband. What a special occasion to celebrate.
I will be sure to pass along your kind words to our team regarding the excellent service received and your dining experience.
We hope that we will see you again soon.
Best Regards,
Andrea Copeland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

This a great place to stay. Location is perfect. Service from bellman was very good. He gave us a great shortcut to the ACC. The rooms very spacious and smell like soap! Marble bathrooms are also very modern and clean.

Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTO, Director of Room Operations at Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Macer19,
Thank you for your review. I was glad to hear that the location of the hotel gave you convenient access to your event at the ACC, and that the room space and cleanliness exceeded your expectations.
We hope that you will return again soon to discover more of the local delights.
Regards,
Andrea Copeland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We visited Toronto for the first time in our adult lives and stayed at the Renaissance and loved it! We took the train from Windsor and it was great to be able to walk to the hotel from Union Station. We were suprised to see they upgraded us to a suite with a king bed and living room. At our request they also provided a crib for our 6 month old which was fantastic. The staff was very friendly and we loved stopping by the front desk and getting the complimentary hot apple cider and apple every time we got back to the hotel. The Arriba restaurant had great food as well. We loved Toronto and we loved this hotel!

Room Tip: call ahead and see if you can get a king bed suite if you booked on hotwire.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandTravelers2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTO, Director of Room Operations at Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear IrelandTravelers2,
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and the location of the hotel was convenient for you. I am pleased to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations with an upgrade to accommodate your family.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Come again soon!
Regards,
Andrea Copeland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Friendly helpful staff. Were upgraded to a two-story "stadium view" room which was quite an experience, as there was a football game in progress. I'm not interested in football at all, but it was fun to watch, and of course my husband loved it ! Next time would opt for a City view room though, as I missed the natural light. Hotel is very centrally located and easy to get anywhere downtown from here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTO, Director of Room Operations at Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Cheryl S,
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you are already planning a next time! The fieldview rooms are unique for sure, but we have plenty of city view rooms to meet your needs as well.
Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to your next visit.
Regards,
Andrea Copeland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We visited the Renaissance this November as a treat for my birthday! We decided to stay at the Renaissance as it was a good price and in a great location. This hotel really superseded any expectations we had. The staff were so helpful, attentive and polite. We were upgraded from our room as the railway side can get a little noisy to a quiet room overlooking the Rogers baseball stadium. These rooms really have a spectacular view. The rooms are beautiful, spacious and clean and we were so impressed by everything at this hotel.

It is centrally located right next to the CN tower and a short walk away from the superb Eaton centre mall.

This hotel is perfect for couples, families or a business trip.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTO, Director of Room Operations at Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Natasha H,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am pleased to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations; from the staff service you received to the spacious room overlooking the stadium. That is always our goal.
Thank you again for your time. We look forward to your return.
Andrea Copeland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#8 of 137 in Toronto
775 reviews
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel

Address: 1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada (Formerly Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Toronto
#21 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#29 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $175 - $706 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to announce our transformation from Renaissance Toronto Downtown to Toronto Marriott City Centre, and will continue to make enhancements to the hotel in Fall & Winter 2017/18. Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity at Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel. You set the pace at our Toronto downtown hotel's accommodations. We are a boutique hotel in Toronto that has 348 guest rooms and guest suites, with all of the amenities and services for excellence on a stay in Toronto - including a Lobby Lounge, Club Lounge, Starbucks Coffee, on-site restaurant, and indoor pool. We will follow your lead and meet your every need, whether you have come to our city to get work done or explore. Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel offers a fantastic destination in the heart of Toronto, close to Rogers Center, CN Tower, and Air Canada Center in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing