We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Stay at the Renaissance Toronto Downtown!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Ranked #29 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
“Outstanding Stay at the Renaissance Toronto Downtown!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

I was in Toronto for a conference at the convention centre and this hotel was perfectly situated for me to take a 5 minute walk to my seminars. The room I stayed in was extremely clean, spacious, and had a great desk for me to do my work on in the evening. At any point when I came into contact with staff they were efficient and friendly. Although this trip was for business purposes I am already looking to take my family to this hotel this summer for a baseball game!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy2232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    674
    259
    90
    45
See reviews for
447
546
93
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

The staff are verr courteous! I arrived late but the staff was willing to accommodate my request
for a drink. In the morning, I would not gstart the coffee machine and the staff was once again very understanding and ready to help.
The quality of cleanliness is excellent. I will recommend the recommend the Rennaissance Hotel to all my friends. Very good job. Keep it up.

Room Tip: I like the room overlooking the street because I can see what is going on in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kabahenda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

We arrived late in the evening but we were very well received by staff, and we were able to get good food, though kitchen staff was supposed to close by 10 pm. The room was amazing: large, comfortable, clean, well lighted, and peaceful; We slept soundly, and woke up to a nice and hot pot of coffee. Indeed, we had a great weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moses k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend on February 25th for one night. We managed to get a deal because we booked early (109.00 for the night). We picked this location because of its proximity to the Metro Toronto convention centre, as we were attending the auto show. We asked to check in early (around 12:30, although check-in is usually 3pm) and the hotel was very accommodating. We had also requested a mini-fridge in our room and we asked that our room be on a higher floor. Both our requests were met without a fuss. The front-desk staff were very helpful and also allowed us to keep the car parked outside the hotel until we had brought everything upstairs.

The room was nice and very clean. The double sinks in the bathroom were a nice touch and, as requested, we had extra pillows on the bed and extra towels in the bathroom. I also very much appreciated the Aveda products. The room also came with a Keurig coffee machine with two cups of complimentary coffee (and sugar, creamer, sweetener). Our room did not include a "Privacy-do not disturb" sign, so I asked the front desk for one. They were all out, but within 5 minutes of returning to our room, someone came to the door with one for us.

My only criticisms are the following: First, the shower/tub combination needs to be updated. There was some very noticeable rust on the tiled wall inside the tub/shower, which made it appear old and cheap. The tub is small and the shower is very outdated, and it was hard to achieve that perfect temperature. I found the water to be either too hot or too cold.

Secondly, the menu at the restaurant was very expensive. We read it online first and it seems to be the same menu as their room service menu. I find $16 for pancakes to be a tad ridiculous...and $6 for Kellogg's cereal? I was disappointed that there was no free breakfast included in the price of our room. We ended up running to the local Sobeys and grabbing some breakfast items.

Our television's menu didn't work so we weren't able to take advantage of their video check-out. Not a big deal. Also, the hotel overlooks train tracks. Neither of us noticed the noise, but this may be an issue for some guests.

Oh, also! This really isn't a criticism, just a suggestion, but the hotel should update their website. The website said that our room would come with a couch, but there was only a chair and an ottoman. We didn't need the couch, but other guests may be upset to find there isn't one.

Accessing the parking is a bit of a hike but neither myself nor my boyfriend minded. The parking was underground, which was wonderful and there are elevators that take you from parking up to the hotel lobby so it wasn't a huge inconvenience. The front desk even included a little map with instructions on getting to the parking. I thought this was a very nice touch. Parking runs $20 for the night if you don't use their valet service. And, although we came several hours early, we were charged their standard parking rate.

The hallways are quite long so if you have mobility issues, request a room closer to the elevators.

Overall, our stay was lovely. The hotel is beautiful and the front desk staff were polite and accommodating.

Room Tip: -If you have any requests (early check-in, fridge, etc) call ahead and ask early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night with my boyfriend after going to the Auto Show at the Convention Centre. Typically the Auto Show is at the Rogers Centre and the Convention Centre but I guess last year they condenced it all into the Convention Centre. The Convention Centre is still very close only about a 3-5 minute walk from the hotel. This is a perfect hotel if you are going to the Rogers Centre, Convention Centre, Air Canada Centre, or the CN Tower, all within walking distance. The hotel over all is very nice and clean. It exceeded my expectations as other reviewers had said it was outdated. The ONLY part I felt was a little outdated was the hallways to the rooms although the hotel has done a nice job with paint and window coverings to help make it look modern. Our room was on the 11th floor and although it was not a sutie it was probebley the biggest hotel room I have been in. The bathrooms are also very laege as well. It was very spacious and if you had a young child that needed a crib or you were bringing a crib there is a lot of room for that. We did use the pool and hot tub and both were very nice. There are change rooms there and towels are provided at the pool. The elevators are at one end of the halls so if you have mobility issues then do request a room closer to them. Parking is $20.00 for self parking and $30.00 for Valet, typical for parking in Toronto and it IS onsite underground in the Rogers Centre which was nice.
The ONLY negative thing of the entire stay was that the Train Station is just down the street so VIA Rail Trains and GO Trains go by about every 5-10 minutes as there are a number of tracks right in front of the hotel. This did not bother us much but we were on the 11th floor and had thought that it must be much louder on the lower floors. When the trains did go by the noise would only last about 5-10 seconds. The sound did not keep us up at all at night. Just more of an FYI.
I would reccomend this hotel to anyone and we would stay here again. We got a good deal on Expedia so that might be a way to go!

Room Tip: I would request a room on a higher floor to avoid some of the noise from the trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed for one night with a good friend who I was showing around Toronto. The location is very good as I knew my friend would want to see the CN Tower, and Rogers Centre. My main reasons for choosing this hotel are:

1) I got a pretty good rate. $139 on the internet for 2 double beds.
2) The hotel and Rogers Centre are located just off the Gardiner Expressway, so driving in is easy. No stop and go in busy downtown Toronto traffic should we have arrived at a bad time.
3) Parking would be easy, it's a stadium...
4) It's close to, as I mentioned the CN Tower and Rogers Centre, but also close to the restaurants on Front St and Union Station. It's a great 'jumping off' point.

We arrived early afternoon on a friday, our room was ready, and the valet took our car. The whole operation was seamless and we were in our room within 30 minutes. We also arrived about an hour before the 3pm check-in time.

We were given a 10th floor room with a city view. Upon inspection of the room it was easily determined that the room was not finished being made up. The shower curtain wasn't hung up, the towels weren't in place, the mirror was very spotty (like someone hadn't wiped it after spraying it with something, I'm not a picky guy). Also there was a big hair under the comforter, that was a little tough to ignore. One quick call to Front Desk informing them of the situation in which I nicely and with some humour explained my misgivings and what it is I would like to see happen (a new room on the same floor, if it could be accommodated), and I was back in the lobby exchanging room keys for a new room a few doors down and receiving apologies. The initial room was substandard, however the staff corrected the shortcoming quickly and did their best to respect my requests. I didn't think of the first room for the rest of our stay.

I must give a thumbs-up to the beds and bedding. I have two small children and I suffer the sleep deprivation that goes along with it. The bed and bedding was fantastic, and the combination of bed, bedding, and a few extra hours of childless sleep worked wonders for me.

We ordered up 6 beers (Stella Artois), come to a little under $50. Most people would complain but I've never been to a hotel that didn't charge like this for room service, particularly alcohol. I'm not saying it's good, I'm not saying it's bad, I'm just saying...

Check out was easy, there were no errors on our bill, and the valet had our car brought around in under 5 minutes.

Good stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sneaky291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

This place has got something big going for it. The view over the Skydome playing field is a great novelty, even if there isn`t a ballgame on. There is a bar perfectly place to just sit and enjoy with a cold bottle of Canadian.

Everything else about the hotel is everything you would expect from a 4 star property in Toronto. Large rooms, comfy beds, polite staff and clean. It also is only a 10 minute walk from Union station as well as the many bars and eateries in that vicinity. I would imagine this would be a great place to stay for sports events to for obvious reasons. It is also 5 minutes stroll to the CN tower.

One negative is the proximity of the rail lines, which can get a bit loud during the rush hours, but the solution to this is to either ask for a high room, or upgrade to the rooms which lookout over the ball park.

Room Tip: If you can, upgrade to a ballpark view room for the fun of it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beauxl2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#30 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Toronto
#21 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#29 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel. You set the pace at our Toronto downtown hotel's accommodations. We are a boutique hotel in Toronto that has 348 guest rooms and guest suites, with all of the amenities and services for excellence on a stay in Toronto - including a Lobby Lounge, Club Lounge, Starbucks Coffee, on-site restaurant, and indoor pool. We will follow your lead and meet your every need, whether you have come to out city to get work done or explore. Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel offers a fantastic destination in the heart of Toronto, close to Rogers Center, CN Tower, and Air Canada Center in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing