We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value compared to other very expensive options.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Ranked #27 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good value compared to other very expensive options.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

I recently stayed at the Renaissance Toronto for two nights. The location is very good to walk to the CN Tower, Air Canada Centre, Convention Centre, obviously the Skydome and many restaurants.
My room was small(853) and did not face into the sports field but the bed was comfortable and everything was clean. I gave this hotel average because the fixtures in the bathroom and room decor was dated and a little tired.
I would stay there again if I got the same reasonable rate compared to the more expensive options in the downtown core.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panther67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    667
    258
    89
    43
See reviews for
437
542
92
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Bought this package through remarkable Toronto a touriste sight. Excellent price and got tickets to The Grace Kelly exhibit for a song. The hôtel is very Nice clean large room and even a free Kurig coffee in the room. There just was no cream or sugar. The pool is nice but complicated to get to it. The parking is 20 $.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JpNl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Booked this hotel through hotwire. We got a "steal" of a price ($90). The hotel itself was in a great location, although parking was tough...drove around in circles (and this is in a very busy area) as there are no signs posted where to park. Had to drive up to the hotel and the staff outside gave us a map to where to park. Reception very friendly. Hallways in the room area very outdated and dark..not pleasant at all. Room was clean.
We were leaving by train and this was in an okay location (not to far of a walk) to not only catch the train, but entertainment and dinner too. C.onvenient that we could leave the car (for a fee) while we were away

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night in room 789 in December 2011 (a couple and a 5 year old child). I got the room as part of a special deal on Travelzoo for $99/night. I thought it would be perfect because it is adjacent to the Rogers Centre and we were in town to see the Disney on Ice show there. When I booked the room, the agent was very friendly but was only able to get me a King bed with a roll away cot for our child for an extra $20. When I got to the hotel, however, I asked if they had another room for the same price with two doubles and they were able to accommodate my request with no problems. I was glad they did not screw up on the bill and did not charge me the $20 for the cot which I no longer needed. Walking to that room was the longest walk I have ever taken from an elevator to a room ever. The room was wonderful, though. It was very spacious and the beds had tons of pillows. There was an LCD TV and a desk, as well as the usual night tables, dresser, and an extra comfy chair. What impressed me most, however, was the bathroom - among the nicest hotel bathrooms I've ever seen. It was huge and had both a separate shower stall and a bathtub, plus two sinks. Just amazing. The only downside was that the view from this room is horrible, it is just of a rooftop ledge and you can't see anything, except perhaps part of the base of the CN Tower. At least, however, there were no privacy concerns as nobody could see through our window. Even though the hotel is adjacent to the Rogers Centre, you still have to go outside to walk around it to the entrance gates. But it's still the closest hotel to the place in town. The self parking was an extra $20 which you pay at the exit. You park inside a designated area for hotel guests in an indoor parking garage which is attached to the hotel by an elevator. They give you instructions on how to get there when you check in. Like I said, you have to drive there but then once there you just go up the elevator which takes you right up to the lobby. Parking there is normally $25 so you save $5. They also have a valet parking option for $30. There is a Tim Hortons within a 10 minutes walk from the hotel and other restaurants everywhere as this is right in downtown Toronto. So you will not lack places to eat. We didn't go to the hotel restaurant as it was probably too expensive for our tastes. I found the service at the hotel friendly and professional, and was glad they got our bill exactly what I expected to pay for it despite the last minute change in rooms. For $99/night, it can't be beat. Even for a little more it is still a great location for visiting the Rogers Centre and CN Tower, and the room itself would have been quite perfect if it had a better view, but then again we weren't there for the view.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Banense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Very nice hotel - very large rooms (you could fit 2/3 of our 2nd story in the bedroom alone) - and huge bathrooms. Lots of water pressure, and perfectly functional fixtures. The "City view" room overlooks train tracks, but you can barely hear the trains. (we were on the 5th floor)
Excellent complimentary shoe shining service available (just have to call to ask for it).
Pricey room service menu, but hey - room service normally isn't cheap. Good size LCD (LG brand) TV, and a Keurig coffee maker in a standard room. There's also a bottle of water with the coffee maker, but they want $6 for it. (go for a 5 minute walk to a drug store and buy a larger bottle for $1).
All in all, great hotel, and I'd definately stay there gain

Room Tip: If there's an event going on (Jays game etc) ask for a stadium view room. Warning - some events...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joshcna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

This hotel is in a great location. We stayed here when we attended a Leaf game and were able to walk to the ACC comfortably. They gave us a free upgrade to a one bedroom suite which was absolutely immaculate and well appointed with modern decor, a super comfortable bed, 2 tv's and a Keurig coffee maker. I would definitely stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

Myself, my cousin, and my 12 year old son, Brenden stayed here one night before my son and I flew back to Orlando, FL. We had spent 10 days in my hometown, Sudbury, and my cousin, Kevin, booked a room for our last night here as a surprise for my son to end his vacation (as we drove from Sudbury to TO). We didn't tell him (and he is a HUGE baseball fan)...so when we entered the room, he went screaming to the window, we got there just as the game started. It was perfect. We watched most of the game from the window and went down to the restaurant for some appetizers and sat at the window there. The Jays lost but it didn't take away from the experience. The room was gorgeous and clean and the view was amazing!! Perfect end to a summer trip :) The Tornonto brewed beers are so good, too...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JZadow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#30 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,166 reviews
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#21 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Toronto
#20 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#29 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel. You set the pace at our Toronto downtown hotel's accommodations. We are a boutique hotel in Toronto that has 348 guest rooms and guest suites, with all of the amenities and services for excellence on a stay in Toronto - including a Lobby Lounge, Club Lounge, Starbucks Coffee, on-site restaurant, and indoor pool. We will follow your lead and meet your every need, whether you have come to out city to get work done or explore. Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel offers a fantastic destination in the heart of Toronto, close to Rogers Center, CN Tower, and Air Canada Center in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing