We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Ranked #29 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

My husband whisked me away for a night away and took me to the Renaissance hotel, where we had a wonderful stay! The room we had was spectacular, and offered the best view of the city. The room was very clean and offered everything one could think of. The bathroom was out of this world. The staff were very friendly and professional and always went that extra mile to provide anything one might need. I would highly recommend this hotel and we will be back for another romantic get away soon.

Room Tip: The north facing rooms have a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    697
    268
    92
    45
See reviews for
461
567
98
408
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

This hotel is pretty consistent with Marriott properties. I did not like the fact that they did not have in room wifi. Unless it is baseball season get a room with an outside view. Stayed here right before an NFL game and they told me they upgraded me to a room with a view into the skydome, well I had that view for about 20 mins before they rolled a huge banner over my window and so it was like staying in a cave without any outside light. Food choices are minimal and everyone was very polite.

Room Tip: Select a City View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dyarger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Older building , needs some attention in the rooms. Shower head didn't really work very well. Internet is wired only and slow. Should have wifi in rooms too. For a renaissance it needs some attention.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redrhino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Came down for a conference. Close to the conference centre and a number of sites. Also a number of restaurants and close to many others if you know how to get around. The hotel looks the same as it did for the last number of years. My room was big and a little dated. Funny but there was very little furniture in my room. If you had more that 2 people visit, they would have to sit on the bed. But the bed was comfortable and overall the stay was good. A little pricey but not too sure how it compared to other rooms.

Room Tip: When you book, ask for a room a little higher up and also not facing into the ball field. Found the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We had a great trip to Toronto and had a wonderful stay at the Renaissance. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I left my ipod and all of our phone/electronics in the hotel room and didn't realize it until we were at our next destination and over an hour and a half away. I called the hotel thinking there was no way my stuff would be found, but I was wrong. The housekeeping staff turned in my lost items and Monika at the concierge ensured it was mailed to my next destination (even calling customs to ensure we didn't have an issue). Once she got it in the mail, she called me back with a tracking number and let me know the delivery time. I so appreciate the help!
The room was also great - spacious with a pull out sleeper sofa for my daughter and a king size bed for my husband and me.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

The hotel is in a great location for business or tourists. That being said, the hotel is lacking for business clients. There's no Wi-Fi in the rooms, so if you're like me and do all of your buiness on your iPad, you can't do any work from your room. The beds in the room have been upgraded and they're very comfortable so you can be ensured of a good nights sleep. I recommend you stay on the side of the hotel with the ball park as the city view side has the trains and they create a lot of noise throughout the night. The rooms furniture, carpet and decor is rather outdated and felt a little 80's inspired. Furniture especially seems old. There was no mini-bar, bottles of water or coffee in my room, so overall just an average hotel for service. I can't complain about the staff, but I can't rave about them either. They seem like they just to do the minimum required and they're not inspired to create a great experience for the guests, just the basics. Overall, an average hotel, with a great location. Good for families with basic needs, or a group of young guys in town for sporting events.

Room Tip: Get a view of Rogers Centre, they're quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versoix, Switzerland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Cannot get more central than this hotel. Home of the Blue jays baseball team.
Very modern hotel, friendly staff.
Well prepared and served breakfast. The rooms are comfortable, quiet, and very clean too.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC-Delage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#12 of 136 in Toronto
691 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 136 in Toronto
2,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Toronto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#21 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#29 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel. You set the pace at our Toronto downtown hotel's accommodations. We are a boutique hotel in Toronto that has 348 guest rooms and guest suites, with all of the amenities and services for excellence on a stay in Toronto - including a Lobby Lounge, Club Lounge, Starbucks Coffee, on-site restaurant, and indoor pool. We will follow your lead and meet your every need, whether you have come to out city to get work done or explore. Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel offers a fantastic destination in the heart of Toronto, close to Rogers Center, CN Tower, and Air Canada Center in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing