We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Ranked #27 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Versoix, Switzerland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Cannot get more central than this hotel. Home of the Blue jays baseball team.
Very modern hotel, friendly staff.
Well prepared and served breakfast. The rooms are comfortable, quiet, and very clean too.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JC-Delage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    668
    258
    89
    43
See reviews for
438
543
92
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

The hotel offered all that one can want in Toronto.Fabulous customer service. Good food in the restaurant...the buffet breakfast was delightful, the dinner was good too, and the bread pudding scrumptious. The housekeeping service was so nice. The engineer was really good (the privacy card was stuck in my door prohibiting entry and that was handled in 40 minutes).

The best part of my stay was Paul, the concierge/operator. Don't ask...kinda weird that such a great concierge would also be an operator but I guess demand doesn't necessitate full-time. Anyway, Paul was the absolute best person to give recommendations and assistance. He called LBCO (liquor stores) for me; set up drink reservations, arranged dinner reservations, gave walking and taxi instructions. He was the best concierge I've ever had!

Location is right at Rogers Centre...if you're a baseball fan, get a room w/the view to the baseball field....how cool is this that the hotel is in/next to the baseball stadium.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoredSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

The Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel was a huge dissapointment. I have stayed at many 4 diamond properties and they were gorgeous, with impeccable service.

This hotel should have their rating decreased. Unprofessional staff, rude valet, and accomodates well for the teenage demographic. Not a place to stay if you're 2 adults looking for a nice, relaxing getaway.

This hotel needs a renovation, and a revamp in staff, to even qualify to being a 4 diamond.
Perhaps they need to visit The Fairmont Royal York up the street to see what a 4 diamond hotel looks and feels like. Save your money, and stay at The Royal York, Sutton Hotel in Yorkville, or Four Seasons. I've even had a better stay at The Holiday Inn! There are some wonderful hotels in Toronto. This hotel is NOT one of them. Hope this helps you!

Room Tip: When you want a room for a view. Be specific. We asked for a room with a nice view as we were there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank St L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Stayed here for the week on business but wish I had more time. Right in the middle of downtown Toronto and close to everything, attractions, restaurants and shopping are all very close to this hotel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FLXrayEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed here for business for a couple of nights. Hotel is in a great location. Rooms are nice, spacious and clean. Find the staff very friendly and helpful, especially Jennifer at the Front Desk. The beds and pillows here are so comfortable...

Room Tip: Ask to be placed high up to avoid the GoTrain noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachLover0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

I recently stayed at the Renaissance Toronto for a work trip. This was the second time I stayed at this hotel in 2011. While my first stay met my expectations, this second stay left a lot to be desired.

I was given an adjoining room, and without getting into the specifics, I was kept up for an hour in the middle of the night by the room next door. The noise-proofing between the rooms is terrible. It was almost as if the couple next door was in my room. I mean, when you can hear the details of a "transaction" you know the hotel needs to make some changes. I did call the hotel management after my stay to relay these concerns and they said that engineers were looking into potential solutions including reducing the spacing beneath the doors between the rooms. While it's good that they are trying to address it, it's not really going to help me out.

In addition to this noise issue, there were a couple other things that got on my nerves such as being charged for a bottle of water that was never consumed (which required that I call the hotel twice and e-mail once to get reversed) and a lack of coffee whitener and sugar for my morning coffee (they have Keurig machines in the rooms).

Overall the room was clean and large and the bed (despite being a Murphy bed - strange I know!) was comfortable. The bathroom requires upgrading as the bath appears to be the original from when the Rogers Centre was built and the lighting in there is terrible.

All in all, the stay was not was I expect from the Marriott brand.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get an adjoining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

This was our first time staying at the Renaissance Hotel in Toronto and we truly enjoyed the one night at the hotel. We were going to the Dead Mau5 (I think that is how you spell it) concert at the Air Canada Centre. After the front desk staff found out we were going to the concert she changed our room so we could view the back stage of the concert which was very exciting for the members of our family that were going to the concert. The location was great for walking to the Eaton Centre and the Hard Rock Cafe.I would definetly recommend this hotel to my friends and we would stay at the hotel again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#30 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Toronto
#20 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#29 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel. You set the pace at our Toronto downtown hotel's accommodations. We are a boutique hotel in Toronto that has 348 guest rooms and guest suites, with all of the amenities and services for excellence on a stay in Toronto - including a Lobby Lounge, Club Lounge, Starbucks Coffee, on-site restaurant, and indoor pool. We will follow your lead and meet your every need, whether you have come to out city to get work done or explore. Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel offers a fantastic destination in the heart of Toronto, close to Rogers Center, CN Tower, and Air Canada Center in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing