We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Ranked #27 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
detroit
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Location”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I really liked this hotel for a few reasons. The location was great, we went for the Film Fest and everything was in walking distance.BUT the staff is what won me over, they were excellent! They were both helpful and friendly, all of them (that's important to me). The rooms we slightly more than average, but spacious. The view of the ball park is beyond beautiful, we didn't have a room with a view, but the bar/restaurant in the lobby has the best vie and great drinks and food. There's restaurants close by and the subway station are also close by, just in case you need to go a little further out and don't want to drive.

I was very impressed; this will be my hotel of choice next year.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the ball park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhonda8791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    709
    268
    93
    45
See reviews for
473
576
101
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Petoskey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed a night to watch a base ball game rather than wrestle with a five year old in the stands. We had a room that overlooked the ball field. The windows open so you can hear and see everything as if you were sitting in the stands. This was great family fun for our two boys. There was something always going on in the stadium to watch before and after the game. Preparing the field, cleaning the stands, practice, etc. The lights were on in the stadium all night so you could see everything that goes into cleaning before the next game or event. The hotel offers food and drink packages, at a very reasonable price, for watching the game from your room. The pool at the hotel was also very nice.

Room Tip: Chose a king bed room overlooking the field ratherr than a 2 bed room. The 2 bed rooms have a post...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorothy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I'm sure that if I were a jays fan I would have been in love with the view from one of the field view rooms or from the very small bar overlooking the Rogers Centre. However, I was in town to see friends and wanted a central location. While the hotel itself is relatively easy to get to, once you get inside it's marathon time! The elevators are centrally located in the lobby but once you reach your floor be prepared to lug your bags for miles as the corridors go on and on and on! our room was so bare it was a joke! Only the utilitarian will appreciate the decor. The bathroom was in need of some sprucing up and the sleep number bed...didn't work! This is a fine hotel if you're passing through and need some place to crash but if you're in Toronto looking for a comfortable home base, this is not the place to go!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glamazon1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Liskeard, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My fiance is a HUGE Jays fan and we have been travelling to Toronto at least twice a year from 6 hours north (New Liskeard) and we always stay at the Renaissance! We LOVE it !! Within walking distance to everything (Eaton's Center, restaurants, downtown shopping) and the amenities and spa are fantastic !! We will continue to stay at the Renaissance!!!

Room Tip: I love the higher floors sith the city view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liisa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, WI
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I took a father/daughter trip with my 10-year old, and even though she couldn't care less about baseball, she was absolutely thrilled with our field view room! As a lifelong fan, I was over the moon.

Upon arrival, I had housekeeping open the huge picture windows to the field, and I kept them open for our entire four-night stay.

In addition to the great view of the stadium (we watched two games from the room, and one more from our seats in the stadium), the rest of the hotel is top-notch, too. Our housekeeper took good care of us with little touches like straightening my daughter's shoes, the bathroom was impeccably clean, friendly front desk clerks and concierge, and we even used the fitness center and pool twice (we were the only ones in the pool.)

I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't care about baseball, don't spend the money on a field view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILADELPHIA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed at the Renaissance since I was attending an event at the Rogers Centre. The location was perfect, and the staff were very helpful. The on site restaurant was a great place for breakfast and late night snacks. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneTU2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Me and my husband stayed here for our anniversary last November 2010. The Front Desk staff were very friendly and accomodating and actually gave us a free upgrade to a loft room overlooking the rogers centre field. However, this hotel actually shows its age and it needs some serious updates like carpets and furnitures. The elevators are sooo small.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachynurse143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTO, Director of Rooms at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear Canadian_Beach_Baby,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I have great news for you. Since your last visit, we have upgraded all of our guest rooms with new carpet and have a maintenance program in place to refurbish any furnishings that are in need of some attention. Thank you again for your feedback.
We hope that you will return again and give us another chance.
Regards,
Andrea Copeland
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#10 of 136 in Toronto
717 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 136 in Toronto
3,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Toronto
#19 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#29 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel. You set the pace at our Toronto downtown hotel's accommodations. We are a boutique hotel in Toronto that has 348 guest rooms and guest suites, with all of the amenities and services for excellence on a stay in Toronto - including a Lobby Lounge, Club Lounge, Starbucks Coffee, on-site restaurant, and indoor pool. We will follow your lead and meet your every need, whether you have come to out city to get work done or explore. Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel offers a fantastic destination in the heart of Toronto, close to Rogers Center, CN Tower, and Air Canada Center in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing