We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Ranked #29 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Bordentown
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We traveled to Toronto from New Jersey for a Phillies road trip. The hotel location is perfect if you are taking in any event at the Rogers Centre. We stayed on the top floor (11th) with a decent view of the city side. Rooms overlooking the inside of the stadium are ridiculously expensive, especially if you have tickets to the game as well. We were pleased with the cleanliness of the room and the houskeeping staff maintained the room nicely daily. We were a little surprised that there was only one restaurant in the hotel, but after seeing all the fine dining establishments withing a couple blocks walk, it is not a problem. In fact, we never moved our vehicle from the garage during our entire stay. We did have breakfast in the hotel restaurant and were treated very well by our server, Teri. The concierge representative, Monica, was excellent in her dining recommendations. A very nice hotel if you should stay in downtown Toronto.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    674
    259
    90
    45
See reviews for
446
546
93
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

This is one of those hotels where you imagine the environment and amenities are really top notch but while nicely equipped, this hotel only leaves one feeling satisfied, not impressed. The front entrance staff is 'cold', the rooms are slightly above average and the pool area lacks a sauna or a steam room. To be honest the pool area is more akin to a decent into a gray dungeon with artificial light and limited seating.

The location remains this hotel's selling feature. A short walk to the waterfront or to Union Station is super convenient.

If you can get a deal (less than $100 a night) then by all means go for it. If you are forced to pay more then I would reconsider.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crashingcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night to drop my grandparents off at the Island Airport. I've stayed at the Residence Inn a block up many many times, but sadly, they just don't have the beds I needed and I didn't want to pay for a 2 bedroom for a couple hours. The 4 of us arrived very late, and the front desk happily upgraded us to a room with a sofabed and 2 doubles so I wouldn't have to sleep with my mom! The room was a very very good size, especially since I am more accustomed to the Residence.
We were immediately entranced by the view of the field, and this is probably the main reason to stay here. It is definitely time to renovate, as things are starting to look a little worn. It's a Marriott, so some things go without saying, staff are excellent and polite, everything is clean.
Internet is not included in the room, this is standard with full service hotels sadly. I don't understand why people complain here-complain to the hotel, but it's not like they don't inform you about it.
Another bonus-self parking is $20, $30 for valet. Cheaper than anyplace else nearby. If you're going to come in and out, do valet, as you only have to pay once.
Once they renovate, and I'm sure it's coming soon, the nearby Residence Inn and the brand new Ritz Carlton will have a fight on their hands for sure.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade...the worst they say is no.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KikiTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I stayed here a few months ago and the staff was excellent. The male, overnight manager (tall guy with dark hair) was VERY nice and went above and beyond to help make our stay satisfying. I recently visited the hotel again this past weekend, hoping to see the overnight manager again who was very helpful, but had to deal with the most rude, oblivious, "busy" staff I have ever seen. I waited over 10 minutes at the front desk to speak to an employee as she talked on the phone (which was definitely a personal phone call as i heard her gossiping about her weekend). The hotel was mediocre - nice if you are a Jays fan, but besides that has nothing else going for it. The stafff were AWFUL!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linds3y182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTO, Director of Room Operations at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you for your review on July 5th. I apologize that your arrival experience fell short of your expectations. That certainly was not our intention. Your feedback has been valuable to us. It is rare that service is the reason for our guests' frustrations, however, every now and again, we may just need a reminder such as this to ensure that we are delivering the most professional and courteous service to our visitors.
I hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to show you that we truly are capable of providing excellent service. If in the city again, please contact me directly at 416-341-5002. I would be delighted to take care of the details of your reservation.
Regards,
Andrea Copeland
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We came, as most people I suspect do, for a game at the attached Rogers Centre. As I checked in I noticed my brother, daughter and nephew had vanished around the corner, entranced by the view of the inside of the ballpark from the lounge and restaurant. We dropped the bags in the clean, average looking room and then ate lunch before the game as we watched batting practice. It was awesome and the food was very good, I had a delicious veggie wrap and my brother had curry chicken on rice. For those who want to do the same, the lounge seats fill by 4pm but are pretty empty at lunch time, until around 3:00. Batting practice was later but you could see the field being prepped and some pitching going on. Also, the pool was quite lovely but buried within the very nice (but unused by me) health club. My kids could not find there way there without help, which was probably the point. Also, free internet was available only in the lobby, and you needed your own computer to use it--if you used their business center you had to pay. We had a package with very good Blue Jays tickets included, along with breakfast (which was a meal credit for any meal, actually) and valet parking--with this price we paid (299) was reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaEight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Enjoyed the staff and accomations - quickly responded to every to every request. I have an I-Pad and would have loved wireless in the room instead of just the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb8963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for his birthday week last November. I must say, it is a good hotel and the location is the best if you have a business or shopping trip in the downtown Toronto area.

We came in on a Sunday for the Toronto Raptors game that evening. They were able to check us in early and in no time. The room is very spacious and clean. The bathroom is huge, spotless and pretty. The view wasnt as great as we had hoped for the field view but it's still ok.
The room service was prompt and fresh. All in all, it was a good stay.

I would like to talk about the hotel's location. It is attached to the Rogers Centre, so it would be perfect if you stay here when there's a game. You can watch it right from your room.

Also, i didn't realize it was right next to the CN Tower until we went there for a dinner for my husband's birthday. We walked to the tower and back in my heels. It was so close and the area was pretty secured and well lit. We didn't feel threatened at all.

This hotel is also about 30 minute walk or less or a 5-10 minute cab ride to anywhere downtown.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsfrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#30 of 132 in Toronto
2,207 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 132 in Toronto
2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Toronto
#21 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#29 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel. You set the pace at our Toronto downtown hotel's accommodations. We are a boutique hotel in Toronto that has 348 guest rooms and guest suites, with all of the amenities and services for excellence on a stay in Toronto - including a Lobby Lounge, Club Lounge, Starbucks Coffee, on-site restaurant, and indoor pool. We will follow your lead and meet your every need, whether you have come to out city to get work done or explore. Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel offers a fantastic destination in the heart of Toronto, close to Rogers Center, CN Tower, and Air Canada Center in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing