We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Ranked #27 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed October 11, 2007

This review is biased by the absolutely best experience we have ever had, in years of traveling on business and for fun, with a front desk person at a hotel.
The young lady that checked us in went so far above and beyond standard practices to insure that the start of our stay was a great experience that it needs to be recognized.
This hotel chain advertises as having staff that cares about their quests - they over delivered - from the start, to the restaurant and club floor staff, everyone was friendly and helpful
The hotel property itself is fine, no complaints about the rooms or public areas.
Highly recomend and will stay here again if in downtown Toronto

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Etsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    709
    268
    93
    45
See reviews for
473
576
101
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

We were in town for pleasure and really enjoyed this hotel. The location is excellent, in easy walking distance of many of the downtown attractions. The room was decent sized and nicely furnished. We didn't have the luck that others did getting an upgrade -- the desk clerk said she couldn't do it when there was a football game going on, contrary to the experiences others have repotred -- but the staff was very nice and extremely helpful. Anyway, the restaurant and bar both offered excellent views of the field, had we been inclined to see a CFL game. The only complaint we had was the lack of soundproofing to the next room. We were treated to hearing the couple next store at a rather personal moment in the middle of the night!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank lgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island NY
Level 5 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for one night to watch the baseball game. We got to the hotel early at 1pm and they checked us in early and upgraded us to a better room. The room had two floors, first floor had a couch, two chairs, a desk and chair and a bathroom. and a large window that opened overlooking the baseball field. The second floor had a king size bed, a bathroom and a large glass window that over looked the Rogers Center Baseball field.
We had 5 people in the room to watch the game. Great view.
The hotel staff was very friendly and we didn't have any problems.
This room was very pricey but you get what you pay for. Very central for walking to tourist attractions.

  • Liked — The great view of the ballpark
  • Disliked — we would have liked a few more chairs in the room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JLLMB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2007

We only spent one night at this hotel, but I have to say that I would be very happy to stay here again. We stayed 6 nights at the Sheraton (See review I just posted) after staying here and we wished our whole stay was at this hotel. Here's why:

1) They upgraded us to a room overlooking the baseball diamond. The Jays game had just ended when we arrived but it was still amazing to look out over the diamond and watch them clean up the field. With the windows open it was noisey but with them closed it was quiet.
2) They do NOT add extraordinary fees to their room service. As a result room service is rather affordable and the quality was excellent.
3) Their restaurant, also overlooking the diamond, is very funky and the food was quite good for breakfast. It was a nice and bright atmosphere.
4) Location is good for taking in the downtown activities. And there are plenty of dining options in the nearby area.
5) The rooms were comfortable and quiet.

My one and only complaint about this hotel was the dry air in the room. I suspect the air doesn't get to circulate much being attached to the dome. We both woke up feeling like we were in the desert.

But, overall, it's a great option for a tourist, visitor or even a business traveller that wants to be close to Bay Street but in a more interesting part of downtown that you will find yourself staying at with King Edward, Royal York or One King West.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank RoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2007

This hotel is absolutly amazing!!!! Its connected to Rogers Centre, walking distance to GO Transit, CN Tower, Air Canada Centre, and Union Station. Better for buisness. Still, anyone would love it! Beautiful pool! The rooms are very large. We asked for a free upgrade on the room, and they gave us a suite-during a Blue Jays game when they were 'all booked'. If youre looking to go to Chinatowne, Kensington Market, or any other touristy district in Toronto, then you're probably better off with the subway-Gardiner Expressway=BAD TRAFFIC!!!!!!!!! Going to Niagara Falls from there at 1 in the afternoon is miserable traffic. 2 hours of speeding up to 60 kms an hour then to a stop. But subway is a really good choice!!!

  • Liked — The room was probably the best, but the entire hotel was astonishing!
  • Disliked — Traffic.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Dom0446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2007

I took my girlfriend to the Renaissance Marriot Hotel in Toronto. I had got the rooms off of priceline.com and it was well worth the money. I think the 340 room hotel was built in the early 1990's but is well kept up. It is located right in the Spadina Avenue area and near the street car service. You are practically right under the CN Tower and it is an impressive site. We checked in about 2pm in the afternoon on a Saturday with no wait.

We had a room on the 3rd floor with all the necessities including, coffee, tea, ironing board, iron, plenty of clean towels, desk and armchair. The bed was nice king-size with plenty of pillows that was comfortable. Our room had a view of the circle where the valet parking and main entrance is. I would have liked a personal safe but the room was clean and housekeeping did a great job.

We never got to check out the gym in the hotel but the Bistro bar has a great look over the stadium where the Blue Jay's play. The concierge and staff was most helpful when suggesting places to eat. One place to check out is Cora's on Wellington Ave and it is in walking distance. Otherwise they do have a continental breakfast but we never got to eat there as we were there for just two days. The hotel is far from Ontario Place and some other attractions but it was not a problem. We drove most of the time and parking is reasonably cheap in Toronto. One other bit of information for those who like to Salsa dance. Got to College Street to a place called El Rancho. There is a Salsa lesson/Dinner package for $24.99 a person. The food was great and it was a lot of fun.

Parking under the stadium is about 18 dollars (CAD) a day and 25 (CAD) a dollars a day with Valet service. It was confusing were to find the garage entrance but it is located across from gate 8 and you can come and go as you please by using a ticket to clock in and out. T

Bottom line a nice place to stay and well worth it.

  • Liked — Interesting place to have a hotel and courteus staff
  • Disliked — Location was not that close to downtown Toronto
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EmpireState39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2007

If you are a baseball fan, a visit here is a must. Originally we booked a room here for the great location, but we ended up watching part of a baseball game from our room. We reserved a city view room, but we were upgraded fo a junior suite with a view of the stadium. The room was very nice, but the view of the ballpark was a real novelty. The view is pretty good and you can watch after the game how they close the dome and repair the field. They were working on the pitcher's mound for at least an hour. It was a lot of fun.

  • Liked — View of the stadium
  • Disliked — The party next door
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aTraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#10 of 136 in Toronto
717 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 136 in Toronto
3,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Toronto
#19 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#29 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel. You set the pace at our Toronto downtown hotel's accommodations. We are a boutique hotel in Toronto that has 348 guest rooms and guest suites, with all of the amenities and services for excellence on a stay in Toronto - including a Lobby Lounge, Club Lounge, Starbucks Coffee, on-site restaurant, and indoor pool. We will follow your lead and meet your every need, whether you have come to out city to get work done or explore. Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel offers a fantastic destination in the heart of Toronto, close to Rogers Center, CN Tower, and Air Canada Center in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing