We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value and superb location”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #40 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
1 review
“Outstanding value and superb location”
Reviewed November 9, 2009

I stayed over thr weekend and was VERY impressed with the quality of service(friendly staff) and the great room (really clean). I heard that they will be renovating in the near future and will make another reservation to see what the results are.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanVancouver09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    467
    163
    51
    30
See reviews for
131
470
99
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

Everything was great.
Good price, luggage room (SAFE!), friendly service.
Only one little disapointment: the window on the room could not be opened.
Next time in Toronto... Hotel Victoria!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helena_everywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverHotelGroup, Management at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, November 19, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We strive to provide our guests with great service, product and location, and our success is dependent on valuable feedback from our guests. I agree a little fresh air is always nice, unfortunately most downtown hotels are not designed with windows that open for safety and security reasons. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Stylish Hotel! Excellent staff and location!
We arrived from Montreal, by train and the train station is 5min walking distance from Hotel Victoria! At 5min walking distance, left-hand side, the big shopping centre "Eaton Centre". Located in the fascinating financial district, it is closed to all major attractions such as CN Tower, Water front Harbour and many many others!
Highly reccomanded the "Rich Tree" Market Restaurant ... 2min walking distance, right-hand side!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucrezia09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

My wife and I spent 6 nights in the Hotel Victoria on a trip to see the sights of Toronto and Niagara Falls. Having read the reviews, I opted for a Deluxe King room The room was on the 7th floor (next to the top floor), faced on Yonge Street, had a really comfortable bed, a minifridge, TV, free WiFi, and a huge, very comfortable bathroom. There was a nice desk and upholstered chair for it, as well as a nice lounge chair. The room was kept impeccably clean and was in top condition. The front desk was very helpful. The location could not be better. You can walk all over downtown and public transport goes right by the hotel. There are restaurants nearby, and the Eaton Centre is a short walk down Yonge. Yes, the hotel is a century old and a registered historic landmark, but is very well kept and has a brand new restaurant in the hotel itself serving breakfast and lunch. If you spring for the deluxe room, you will love this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbadjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

My mother and I stayed at this hotel for one night and had several disappointments during our visit. We arrived early and though we could not yet check in, the staff told us they could hold our bags for us. Our bags were placed in an unsecure hallway accessable to anyone who came in so we made sure to ask that our bags would indeed be locked in a room. We were told not to worry, the bags would be locked up. However, when we returned the bags were in the exact same place and the staff did not seem to care less about our concern over the security of our luggage.
Following our very unfriendly check in, we proceeded to our room which was absolutely disgusting. There were stains all over the carpet (I would not have taken my shoes off), dust accumulated all along the floorboards, some dirt on the bed sheets, marks on the walls and a very disgusting looking stain right in the centre of the armchair. The room had clearly been serviced but was still just absolutely filthy with stuck on dirt and stains and should not have been given out to any guest until major rennovations were done.
After complaining to the staff we were given another room. When we complained the staff was very uncaring and not very apologetic. The new room was much better and obviously in a rennovated section of the hotel. If you are staying at this hotel, I would definately recommend asking if the room has been recently rennovated as there was a huge difference in these two rooms. Or if you aren't satisfied with your room, be sure to let them know!
The hotel was is in a great location (though there are several other hotels in this area!) and at least we were given a new room which was nice and clean. However after seeing the first room and dealing with staff who do not seem to care about the fact that you are giving them business neither of us will be staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klpringleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

This is the letter we sent to them detailing our trip. We haven't gotten any reply or acknowledgement

To Whom It May Concern. . .

I wanted to write this email to you as soon as we returned home to inform you of the horrible experience that myself and my husband had at your hotel over the past three days. We arrived Thursday afternoon to a very rude man behind the reception desk. He didn't offer to help us with the bags, told us nothing about the amenities or services of the hotel. My husband unloaded the car about a block away and drove to find parking while I carried both of our bags and additional items about a block to the lobby. I tried to get the attention of the man at the reception desk, and when he didn't help me with the bags, I literally had to ask a stranger on the street to help me open the door and carry our things.

After packing everything into the elevator while my husband parked our car, I was very disappointed by the size of our room. It was so small and cheaply decorated it was insulting. We live in Rochester with in laws in Buffalo so we spend a lot of time traveling to Toronto for various events and wanted to try a more historic hotel. From your website and literature, I am significantly surprised by your lack of quality. The bed was only a few feet off of the ground and the headboard was scratched and looked like it was going to fall off of the wall. The chair that was at the desk had a broken back, one of the doors on the mirrored closet was off of the track and broken. These items, paired with a lovely view of an alleyway just made for a more insulting first experience.

You should also be aware of some additional problems with the room and the service that we experienced during our stay. The shower was broken in multiple places - the plumbing into the shower head wasn't tightened correctly so one stream of water actually shot out over the top of the shower door onto the floor of the bathroom and the second sprout of water sprayed up to the lighting fixture in the ceiling. My husband was able to redirect the one stream of water, but the other still sprayed over the top of the shower door. My husband used the bathroom and thought there was a problem with the toilet when the tank continued to run, so he removed the top of the toilet tank and we COULD NOT BELIEVE WHAT WE SAW. Inside the toilet tank we found unopened bottles of wine coolers being stored in the toilet tank. I have no idea how long they were there, but the caps were rusted shut and the water was totally brown. I don't have to tell you how disgusting this is.

We took pictures of the toilet tank, which I have attached. Throughout our stay there seemed to be a general disregard for guests by the staff. Friday night we were waiting for the elevator and two employees from the cleaning crew had large grey bins of towels and other laundry. They literally pushed past us to get into the elevator and said nothing. I HOPE i don't have to explain that this is not proper etiquette in a hotel setting or any setting.

I also noticed a lot of signs about not smoking in the hotel and we stayed on the fourth floor and I can tell you that the people staying on our floor were certainly smoking. The hotel smelled horrible. I informed someone working at the front desk, which seemed very disinterested. Over our stay we informed various people at the front desk about our issues and not ONCE did anyone offer to repair anything, compensate us in anyway and when we checked out we again told the man at the front desk about our experience and he said he would inform the manager. He then thanked us for not yelling at him like other guests have in the past. So, since we got no satisfaction or compensation, I felt that I would put this in writing and send it along to you.

We feel so insulted that this is the first thing that I have to do when returning from our weekend. As I said earlier, we travel to Toronto a lot and wanted to try a different hotel. We have stayed all over downtown and I promise you that:

1. We will NEVER stay at your hotel again
2. We WILL tell everyone who asks about our vacation exactly where we stayed and the experience that we had. I am also a corporate trainer who travels extensively and believe me, my employees and other trainers would love to know about this experience since they travel often.
3. Depending upon your response and your action thereafter, I will write a detailed online review which will articulate every single item that I discussed in this email as well as the pictures of the conditions.
4. I will also post this information on my blog as well as face book.

I look forward to your immediate action and response.

Room 403

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jaggerhoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Victoria for 14 nights while on holiday in Toronto. I'd thoroughly recommend it. It's in a fantastic location within walking distance of most of the main sights and loads of great bars and restaurants.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

Our room was small but clean with a good sized bathroom. It was located at the back of the hotel which meant it was very quiet. A room facing Yonge Street might have been more noisy. A flat screen TV with a good selection of channels was a bonus!

I'd recommend heading to the St Lawrence district (about 2 minutes away) to find cafes, bars and restaurants rather than heading up to more touristy places on Yonge Street.

We asked the hotel about tours to Niagara and were recommended to use Niagara VIP tours. Our guide was friendly and knowledgable but if you do choose this option please bear in mind that you will be travelling in a mini-bus/van rather than a coach, which was very cramped and not what I would class as VIP! We didn't realise until afterwards that there are loads of different tour companies out there offering a variety of packages, so shop around. You should also be aware that a 15% tip is 'expected', plus tax, which made the trip more expensive than we anticipated.

All in all we had a great time in Tornonto and we were very pleased we had chosen to stay at the Victoria.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#49 of 136 in Toronto
1,577 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#45 of 136 in Toronto
2,087 reviews
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#56 of 136 in Toronto
2,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: 56 Yonge St, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria is a Boutique Style Hotel in the heart of Downtown Toronto. Our historically modern guestrooms feature new beds with pillow top mattresses, hardwood floors, LCD TVs, and custom designed, modern furniture. The lobby features a mix of classic and contemporary furnishings. The hotel's ideal Yonge Street location is within walking distance of shopping, dining and major downtown attractions, and just steps away from the Subway and Ground Transit Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Toronto
Hotel Victoria Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing