We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #39 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2009

If you're looking for a central location in downtown Toronto I would suggest looking elsewhere. For the $100 US that I paid the floor was dirty and the hot water in the shower literally took 10 minutes to kick in. The downstairs lobby was also not tidy. When I check out the attendant asked how my stay was and I said, "mixed"....well, he either didn't hear me or chose not to respond because there was no follow up. The good thing is that I did arrive hours early and the attendant at that time was kind enough to let me check my bags while I wondered around, and when I arrived back about a half hour before check in he let me check in early. The room was noise free with the exception of the occasional subway running nearby.

I guess I was also disappointed after searching around so much and spending the amount of money I did on a place that elsewhere would have gone for alot less.

Stayed: January 2009
Thank dwme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

918 - 924 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2009

I just spent two nights at the Hotel Victoria with a girlfriend. I can heartily recommend this hotel for a number of reasons: you cannot beat the location, as it is within walking distance of everything we wanted to do; the room was spotlessly clean, and the queen-size beds were super-comfortable, which made for a very good night's sleep. I found the hotel to be very reasonably priced and an excellent value for the money. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating, at one point spending a fair amount of time to look up something for us on the internet. When I return to Toronto for another visit, I will definitely stay at this little gem of a hotel. An added plus: it is just down the block from Richtree Market Restaurant; grab a 10% off coupon at the front desk of the hotel, and get ready for a beautiful dining experience!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

This is my second time at this little peice of paradise and I love it . It's close to everything and especially "Richtree" resturant. Maybe it is small to some but for me it does the trick. The people are friendly. Anywhere you want to go is in walking distance, head South and you can go to the Waterfront. Head North and you are on your way to a shopping experience. I will be making this my annual Christmas holiday stop.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahmali42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2008

This small hotel is in process of being redecorated and claims to be a boutique hotel, although it doesn't quite live up to that label yet. Its location is brilliant in downtown Toronto. It has no restaurant, but that doesn't matter as there is a wealth of them locally. The entrance and lobby are being done up, so at present it is rather faded, dusty and dull, but the room was good. Although compact, and with no view to speak of (that didn't matter either as we were out all day doing the tourist thing) it served our purposes well. The attempt to modernise it has not quite succeeded; whoever redesigned it or created the decor misfired slightly. Lovely state-of-the art bathroom fittings were poorly placed, with very little attention to practicality, so that there was virtually no place to put our stuff (although there was the room) and you couldn't help but splash water over the place! This is just not going to stand up to constant use! The decor was modern and pleasant, but the greyish wood laminate flooring wasn't able to match with anything else in the room! That said, it still had some ambiance and was certainly clean and comfortable. We did feel that in its present state of redecoration it was overpriced, especially compared to other hotels we had stayed in in the area (although they weren't right in the middle of town!)

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyoldtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2008

We stayed for two nights at the Victoria. The hotel has been renovated, the rooms are really clean but small. The value for money however is great. You certainly get more then you pay for. No complaints. The location is perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SydneySally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2008

Stayed here with my 10yo son on holiday in Toronto. I thought it superb value for the money - comfortable, friendly, great location.

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank apb0229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2008

The Hotel Victoria was very close to the downtown attractions. The check-in clerk was very rude and had a very bad attitude. The lobby was small and was in need of face lift. It was very dark and dingy. The rooms, although very clean and decorated very well, were extremely small, as was the bathroom. I felt like I had booked a closet to sleep in. We checked out extremely early because the room had no place to sit other than on the bed. I would never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Pilot7700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#57 of 138 in Toronto
1,679 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#47 of 138 in Toronto
2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#58 of 138 in Toronto
2,759 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#23 of 138 in Toronto
3,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: 56 Yonge St, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $129 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria is a Boutique Style Hotel in the heart of Downtown Toronto. Our historically modern guestrooms feature new beds with pillow top mattresses, hardwood floors, LCD TVs, and custom designed, modern furniture. The lobby features a mix of classic and contemporary furnishings. The hotel's ideal Yonge Street location is within walking distance of shopping, dining and major downtown attractions, and just steps away from the Subway and Ground Transit Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Toronto
Hotel Victoria Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing