We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay near Union Station” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #40 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place to stay near Union Station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel for our 2 night visit. We stayed in room 308, which was quite small, yet functional. I suspect other rooms are larger. The room was quiet as it is at the back of the hotel. Here was no view.

The best part of Hotel Victoria was the very helpful staff. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome, accommodated our luggage for the late departure on the Via Canada train to Vancouver, and were eager to assist without being intrusive.

I think we would opt to stay there again, but perhaps ask for a slightly larger room.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KODB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskin L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear KODB,

Thank you so very much for your great review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, at the Hotel Victoria we have five different room types from our standard rooms up to our much larger deluxe rooms that offer a view of Yonge Street. We will make sure to pass on your kind words to all of our staff who I am sure will be very pleased. We hope you will consider us again, and please contact us directly for your future bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    451
    156
    51
    29
See reviews for
124
454
95
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Victoria Hotel for my holidays and I was positively surprised.

The room was small and thats it in terms of cons.

Pros? Perfectly located hotel in the heart of Downtown Toronto, super clean bedroom, and friendly staff.

I would totally come back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ileana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskin L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Ileana B,

we really appreciate you taking the time to write such a positive review on your stay with us here at the Victoria. We are more than pleased that our location suited your needs.You are absolutely correct we are located within walking distance from most of the attractions in downtown Toronto including the Hockey Hall of Fame, the CN Tower, Rogers Centre and the brand new Ripley's Aquarium just to name a few. We will be sure to pass on your gracious words to all of our staff.
Thank you once again we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Having recently stayed at the Hotel Victoria, I would say that its primary advantage is its excellent location. It is within easy walking distance of many of Toronto's visitor attractions and is close to a number of good bars and restaurants, including the Marche`, which is practically on the doorstep, is open until late and offers a wide range of food and beverages. This is particularly useful, as the hotel itself does not offer food after 3pm and does not have a bar. The front of house staff were always helpful and obliging and my room was reasonably spacious and had a very comfortable bed. It was located on a higher floor, facing away from busy Yonge St and so was very quiet-I had no difficulties in getting a decent nights sleep. The wi-fi worked fine and there were tea and coffee making facilities, a hairdryer, ironing board, etc. in the room.

Downsides were that as the room was at the rear, facing another tall building, it was quite dark and I had to have the light on at all times, even throughout the day when the blinds were open. There was no main light, just two bed-side lights and as a woman attempting to apply make-up, this is not great! The hotel was less than generous in its provision of tea and coffee in the room-there was one tea bag and two sachets of coffee provided per day, and as I don't drink coffee, this meant that I was restricted to one cup of tea. The bathroom towels were often quite badly frayed around the edges which doesn't sound like a big deal, but creates the impression of a lack of polish and care, which is a shame as the room itself was clean and well-presented.

Overall, I would rate the Hotel Victoria as good. While the facilities on offer are fairly basic when compared to other three star hotels I have stayed in in Canada (i.e. there are no in-room movies, bar or evening restaurant), it was clean and friendly and as I was out and about most of the time, the hotel itself was not as important to me as the location, which was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskin L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Julie S,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Hotel Victoria. We absolutely take all of our guest comments seriously as we like to think of them as an opportunity to improve our guest services. We are glad you found our location was convenient for your stay as we are well located in the downtown Financial District within walking distance of most major attractions, shopping and restaurants. We will pass on your kind words to our front desk staff. For your next booking with us, please feel free to inquire about our Deluxe Rooms as they offer more space and a much better view as well as in room rooms via complimentary Netflix. We look forward to welcoming you back, please contact us directly next time you require accommodations in downtown Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Arrived tired after a long flight from England to find that our room had been cancelled and sold to some one else. They had informed me, I later found, by e-mail whilst I was on the plane. We were then given a small room with a double bed that I had to share with my sister before moving to our booked room the next day. We subsequently found out that there were 2 conferences on in Toronto that day so all hotels were full. The staff did not care, were not apologetic, never smiled the whole time we were there. We were offered a free buffet breakfast as compensation - wow!!!
Apart from that the beds are very comfortable and the hotel is in a good location in Downtown Toronto. Would not bother to eat in 'Over Easy', the Marche just a minute down the street is much better, cheaper and has a huge choice.
The staff in this hotel need to definitely go on a customer service course as they have a 'do not care, not my problem attitude' - not a good advert for visitors to Toronto.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Winnie004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskin L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Winnie004,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. I was disappointed to read that you had some issues while attempting to checkin at the front desk. I sincerely apologize on behalf of the management and staff of the Hotel Victoria. The only circumstances that I could imagine which would cause your reservation to be released would be an invalid credit used to hold the room. We do make every attempt to inform the guest before arrival that another form of payment is required. However, on occasion the guest may already be in transit. We are glad that you found our location convenient and the beds comfortable. I would like to take this opportunity to invite you back to the Hotel Victoria to experience our usual high level of customer service. Please feel free to contact me directly at roomsmanager@hotelvictoria.on.ca to book your next stay with us and we will ensure that it is a comfortable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

If you like being close to everything in the downtown core, this hotel is for you. Charming little hotel, with 'little' being the operative word. Very clean, friendly, helpful staff, extremely comfortable bed but the room itself was quite small. If you don't plan on spending alot of time in the room, this shouldn't be a problem.

Just be aware there is no hotel parking as such in this area of the city, so you have the option of walking several blocks for city parking, or using valet parking which will add to the overall cost of your stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors reduce the sounds of city traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calgarygallewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskin L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear calgarygallewis,

It is always welcome when a guest takes the time to write a review regarding their stay with us at the Victoria. We view this as an opportunity to keep improving our customer service. We are pleased that our location suited your needs. We are a small boutique hotel in the downtown core but we have five different room types ranging from our smaller standard rooms to our much larger deluxe rooms. We have recently added valet parking at a nominal cost we also can recommend to our guests city parking in the area. We look forward to having you stay with us again and thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We actually stayed in two seperate rooms at this hotel as we had a break in our visit to go to Niagara. Both rooms we stayed in were nice, and the second was particularly good. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds, tea and coffee making facilities, not much of a view out of the windows but the hotel is in a great location and within walking distance of all the major attractions. The service was good with no unexpected additional charges! The restaurant attached to the hotel served yummy breakfast with very good service. Overall a very pleasant stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethdeBroise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskin L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear ElizabethHolly,
Thank you for writing the review we appreciate all guest feedback. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our housekeeping. You are correct, we are centrally located in the heart of the Financial District within walking distance to many attractions, shops, and restaurants. We look forward when we are able to welcome you back to Hotel Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Having done some research on the Net and reading the reviews I had expected much more from this hotel. Yes, its centrally located and a historic hotel but that's it. The first room we were given was smaller than small, not renovated and had just a tiny window, so we ask for a differnt one. This one was renovated and bigger towards the inner court but noisy vents and thin hearthrough walls. Would not choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Munichbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#53 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#42 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#55 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,544 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Cosmopolitan
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: 56 Yonge St, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria is a Boutique Style Hotel in the heart of Downtown Toronto. Our historically modern guestrooms feature new beds with pillow top mattresses, hardwood floors, LCD TVs, and custom designed, modern furniture. The lobby features a mix of classic and contemporary furnishings. The hotel's ideal Yonge Street location is within walking distance of shopping, dining and major downtown attractions, and just steps away from the Subway and Ground Transit Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Toronto
Hotel Victoria Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing